Faith ,foolishness and presumption.

Posted on Updated on

There will be so many stories under this topic, sometimes I don’t even know where to start. Talking is not all we can do to change people but it’s the first thing to do. I can’t tell you how many people have died ‘in faith’. Before I go further, I must tell you I am a woman of faith. I have walked with the lord for more than 20 years now and so I know what it feels like to be sick and prefer divine healing to nasty injections. I had my two children without any pain (I’ll tell you about that some other day). It got to the point while I was in ‘labour’, some staff of the hospital were trouping into my room to see for themselves how I was watching TV at that stage of labour. This story and many more, is to open the eyes of those who mistake faith for foolishness and presumption.

First of all, if it is faith, it will work. It will work before you die. Being ill, getting worse daily refusing to seek treatment is foolishness. What scripture are you standing on? Have you prayed for headache before and got healed that you want to be healed of pneumonia. As I always say, medicine is not perfect but, God is not against medicine. He works with doctors just ask Luke the apostle.

A lady came in with her daughter of not more than 5 years. They were out patients which means they didn’t think anything was seriously wrong. As I turned to get the history from her mother, I observed the child was very weak, pale, and shivering despite how hot it was.

“This child is very ill”, I said. I got up and felt her skin. She was burning with a high fever. “Let’s admit her and start treatment. We can talk while I treat her”

“I didn’t come for admission”,her mother informed me.

I felt she was worried about the cost so, I triedto convince her that the child was too ill to scrimp and so she should let us treat and worry about the bills later. She still refused, shaking her head stubbornly.

“Okay, what is wrong with her?” I asked.

She told me her daughter had had a fever for 5 days. Also, she had diarrhoea and vomitting.

“Where have you been? Did you buy drugs for her?”

“I’ve been in church. The prophet has been praying for her”

“For 5 days?” I screamed.

“Yes”,she replied. “Today, he asked us to collect some drugs from the hospital to stop the vomitting so he can continue the prayers”

I felt like slapping her face. Just being honest dear reader, some things you hear in the hospital can make you act like a tout.

“Call him on phone and tell him I said I’m not giving you oral medication. This girl is too weak toswallow. She needs infusions (drips) to even withstand antibiotic injections”

The lady would not budge. I got some nurses especially those who spoke her language to beg her. I was almost in tears, it was that bad. The more we argued, the more lethargic the girl became. When I saw the girl was getting worse, I wrote out some drugs for her and pleaded with her to inform the ‘Man of God’, that her child’s life was in his hands if he would not allow her to he admitted. I even offered to pay the admission deposit. Madam Faith or rather Madam ignorance, left with her daughter who was by then, breathing in a shallow manner.

All the staff of the hospital knew how unhappy I was. I hid in the call room and shed tears for that innocent life that I knew I could have saved. I may not know the cure for HIV, but diarrhoea? ?? How can my patient die of a curable illness? It’s still so painful even as I write this, though it happened 4 years ago.

Please give me some time to get myself together. I’ll complete the post another time.

6 thoughts on “Faith ,foolishness and presumption.

    imperfectlyperfect92 said:
    October 23, 2013 at 6:07 pm

    Funny,my friend and I were actually talking about this kind of “faith” on monday.I do hope d child didn’t die?

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 24, 2013 at 7:55 am

      Funny kind of faith, right?. No sneak peeks sorry.

    Sue said:
    October 23, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    That child is a Nigerian citizen. Is there no law that allows a medical practitioner to provide treatment especially to minors in spite of the opposition of their legal guardian? If there isn’t, that is one more thing to sort out in this wonderful country.

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 24, 2013 at 7:57 am

      Great question. I dont know of such a law. I will definitely find out. Thanks

    Femmetotale said:
    October 25, 2013 at 2:11 pm

    Absolutely ignorance…..not faith! In fact foolishness and wickedness! When that child dies they will say it was the Lord’s will. Mtcheeeeeew…..they don’t even know that some sins are sins of ommission too. As for legal backing, she’s just lucky we don’t have a functional social welfare system in the country. In some countries she could be jailed for refusing medical treatment for her child.

    sandy said:
    October 29, 2013 at 8:16 am

    She could actually be jailed if the child dies. According to section 301 of our crimal code. But u know people get away with a lot in nigeria. God help us

Leave a Reply

