Faith, foolishness, and presumption 1b.

Posted on

 

 

Here’s part 2 of my last post.

 

That day was a blur for me. I was so moody that I prayed for my day to end so I could go home and watch a movie. When I have a particularly sad day at work, I go home, pray about it, then, watch a movie or read some fiction to get my mind of it. (I happened to be living close to the hospital at the time). I was single and happy to take care of my few needs by myself. I remember it was about 6 pm, when I left home with my plastic can to get some gasoline (fuel) for my generator. (If you’re not Nigerian, due to irregular power supply here, most individuals own a power generating set).

The station was a short distance from the hospital. As I walked past, one of the nurses saw me and called me. I refused to answer her, telling her I was off duty and did not want to get involved in whatever was going on. She told me it was the girl who came in the morning, whose mother refused to let her be admitted. I ran as fast as my legs could carry me to the A&E. The doctor on duty was trying to obtain IV access. Dropping everything I was holding, I held her other arm to try to do the same. She was lying very still, barely conscious. An oxygen mask covered her pretty face, her bony little chest heaving with the painful effort of breathing. Her mother was on one side crying and rolling on the floor, calling her name and begging her not to die.

It was so difficult to find a vein, she was very dehydrated. My colleague had not even taken a history when he saw them because of how she was rushed in, so I filled him in while we worked. Suddenly, I turned and saw a young man stretching his hands over her and praying. He was standing behind me.

“Who are you? Are you her father?”I asked

. He said he was sent by the prophet to pray for the child.

“Where is the coward?” I screamed. He can’t even show his face? If you don’t get out of here with your prayer, I will call the security to throw you out! God will judge you if anything happens to this child”

“I’m not the pastor o! He just sent me to pray with them and make sure everything is okay” he defended

I ignored him and faced the girl. We had managed to obtain IV access, collected some blood for tests and started an infusion. Her pulse had become difficult to feel, her breathing was getting more shallow and laboured. The laboratory called to say she would require a blood transfusion as her hemoglobin level was very low. I asked her mother where her husband was. She replied that he was on his way from work. I told the ‘pastor assistant’ he should consider donating blood or getting his master to do so. He ignored me, praying loudly with his back turned to me

Suddenly, that girl gasped and died. All our efforts to resuscitate her failed. Her body had given up under the burden of the illness, dehydration and what not. I turned to her wailing mother and she didn’t need to be told anything. All this happened within the space of 30 minutes. I picked up my plastic can and left.

God gave us a mind in other to set us free from the manipulation of people. If someone is praying for you and you are getting worse, get some help please. Check his record; how many people do you know personally that he has healed?

Here’s how to know you have faith: You will have scriptures you read for yourself backing the promise you are believing for.

You will be bold, confident and fearless.

Your speech will be filled with assurrance of what you expect.

You will experience results; not that things will getworse and worse.

You cannot be standing on someone else’s faith. Did you read the story of David and Goliath? He said I have used this method to kill the lion and the bear so I know I can kill Goliath. Notice he ran to Goliath because he was not afraid. Also observe he did not endanger anyone else’s life but his? 1Samuel 17:26-54.

Live healthy, and take an interest in your family and friends’ health decisions. God bless you.

4 thoughts on “Faith, foolishness, and presumption 1b.

    Femmetotale said:
    October 25, 2013 at 2:16 pm

    WHAT!!! The girl died afterall! I’m speechless right now. In fact, will give my reply when I regain my composure.

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 28, 2013 at 8:48 am

      Now u know how I felt.sighs.

    Lizzieebunoluwa said:
    October 27, 2013 at 5:07 pm

    Aww shucks!!!…to say i’m gutted is an understatement..*sighs*

    imperfectlyperfect92 said:
    October 27, 2013 at 6:03 pm

    Awww! She died.kai! Too bad.
    I am short of words.thanks for this,I hope we all learn from it.

Leave a Reply

