Hospital Comedy

Posted on

African American woman lying in bed, covering face with hands.

 

I was working in a high brow part of town. The clinic was a children’s clinic and we had to battle daily with all sorts of spoilt brats who just made you feel like prescribing a spanking. Most of their parents were bored housewives who had been convinced to put aside their dreams to play ‘Trophy wife’. They often came in posh cars, chauffeur-driven, with nannies in tow. Designer bags, foreign accents, and high heels completed the look. Sometimes my boss would be so embarrassed by their revealing clothing, he would actually walk away.

This lady comes in with her son who has a fever. After examination, I make a diagnosis and prescibe anti-malarials.

“Let me call the gynaecologist who attended to me in London where he was born and the pediatrician who managed him” she quips, bringing out the latest smart phone. (This ‘baby’ is over 5 years old).

I smile indulgently. She calls someone and we chat.

“So are you sure he has malaria?” she asks.

I assure her that the laboratory tests could not be wrong.

“Give me the prescription; when next I travel abroad, I’ll get the drugs for him” she requests.

Dear reader, what should I tell her? Do you know anyone who goes to Russia or Dubai to buy anti-malarials?

10 thoughts on “Hospital Comedy

    soso said:
    November 7, 2013 at 1:56 pm

    She is just a buffoon. If only she was literate then she will kno the countries that have malaria. I can bet u there was nobody on the other end of d line. Twaaat!!!! Mtcheeew

      drnsmusings responded:
      November 8, 2013 at 11:30 am

      Why so angry? With my patient? Tongue in cheek. Lol

    Gaile Uka said:
    November 7, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    Nne, she can buy the drugs in Dubai. When her son gets worse, she will not blame you.

    Joy said:
    November 7, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    lol! well you never know she might have been leaving for Ghana that night : )

      drnsmusings responded:
      November 8, 2013 at 11:29 am

      Is Ghana abroad too? Lol

    Inthe... said:
    March 26, 2014 at 7:11 pm

    Hiss! I swear I don’t know how you kept a straight face.

    drnsmusings responded:
    March 26, 2014 at 8:18 pm

    Hahaha! I come here to vent and laugh

    Fey said:
    September 5, 2015 at 7:21 pm

    Chai Dr. N, you are so funny!

    But really, some women shaaaaa….trying to flex expensive muscles where her son’s health is concerned… sadly she just showed how ignorant she is.

    I always tell people to stick to what they know and not try to play over-sabi…when with a qualified tailor, mechanic, and especially professionals…abeg please let them do their job…

    I truly had a good laugh..
    ++

      drnsmusings responded:
      September 6, 2015 at 12:48 pm

      Expensive muscles indeed. Haha

Leave a Reply

