Hospital Comedy

Posted on

So this lady comes in and says her periods have been irregular and she doesn’t know why. She’s worried she has an infection that is causing the problem. After a number of questions I couldn’t get to the root of her complaints.

“Which is the problem?” I ask. “Do you believe you have an infection or it is your period you’re worried about?”

“My period is the issue but I think I have an infection so I need antibiotics” she replied.

I scratched my head in frustration. She was giving me evasive answers, expecting me to prescribe medication without a diagnosis. This is a ccommon problem Nigerian doctors face; patients who don’t know the difference between symptoms and diagnosis.

Glancing at her folder, I noticed her age was not recorded. All that was written was adult. I decided to tread carefully. This was obviously someone who was sensitive about her age.

“Roughly how old are you?” I asked, pretending to be looking at the folder.

“Em….. I’m not too sure” she murmurred. “Is it because of my period? My mother still saw hers at my age and my older sister is still menstruating”

“Do you have children?”

“Not yet. I’m believing God for children”

“Why didn’t you just say so when you came in, rather than going on and on about infections?”

“I believe that if you treat the infections I will conceive” she stated.

“So is it possible you are 35 years old?” I asked slyly.

She nodded.

“Could you be over 40?”

She nodded again.

“Do we just conclude that you are 50?”

“It’s not really about my age”, she argued.

“I’m not trying to embarrass you but you have not had a period for 3 years, you might be headed for menopause. That does not mean you cannot conceive but you have to admit the truth first”

The story is too long to relate here, but why would you lie to a doctor you expect to help you? I rest my case.

7 thoughts on “Hospital Comedy

    Nnanna said:
    November 14, 2013 at 5:29 pm

    She is lying. Her real age is 16….. Lol

    Femmetotale said:
    November 15, 2013 at 1:57 pm

    Ok, now that’s just pathetic. She expects to conceive at the age of 50 after menopause and her expectation is not even based on faith??? I know Sarah conceived in old age but we all know how that happened. Hmmm….abeg, treat her for the infection oh so that she won’t say that it was the doctor that stood in her way.

    Gaile said:
    November 22, 2013 at 4:08 pm

    Dr N, we should pray for the spirit of discernment. God will help you. !

      drnsmusings responded:
      November 22, 2013 at 9:57 pm

      Amen. He does help. I often sense when people are lying or if there’s more to their story

    Inthe... said:
    March 26, 2014 at 7:08 pm

    Oh my goodness! Pk tell my patients my office is a judgement free zone. I am here to help you and will do. Y best as long as you’re honest. Lol..on another note my momsie’s 55 Yr old-ish friend and her husband was “messing” about one sunny afternoon; 9 months later she got pregnant! Weirder things have happened.

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 26, 2014 at 8:17 pm

      Yeah! My aunt conceived at about 50 too. After 5 kids

Leave a Reply

