To have and to hold 4.

Posted on

Mid adult couple in bedroom

 

Chapter 3 .

Ikedi returned from work to find Nonye fast asleep. He had let himself in with his key.

“I suppose it’s the pregnancy that’s inducing sleep”, he thought. He wondered how he would get rid of her. As much as he loved her, he really needed his privacy. Besides, he had heard that pregnant women had low libido, and he did not need anyone to cramp his style. Dropping his bag by the mattress on the floor,he sat beside her to take off his shoes.

She stirred and turned to him with sleepy eyes. “Kedy m”, she yawned. “When did you get back?”

“Not long ago”, he replied. “Why did you travel this distance without my permission?”

“Is that the way you’ll receive your wife?”, she asked, sitting up.

“I’m not happy with you, you’re talking of reception”, he stormed out of the sitting room.

She followed him, pleading. “Kedy, consider my feelings in this matter. I needed to be with my husband. Living apart is not ideal for any marriage”

“This is not 1960! Everyone is trying to make it. So many couples are living apart. Besides, I felt you should be close to my mother, so you can keep an eye on her for me. You know she’s sickly”

Nonye felt remorseful. “I told my sisters to visit her often. Besides, your brother and his wife live in Enugu. I’m sorry. Do I get my things andreturn?”

Ikedi thought about it. Her parents would make a fuss if she returned unceremoniously. Even his mother would have questions. Best to tread carefully.

“No, since you just got here, you can stay”

“Thank you, my love”, she jumped for joy. “You are the best! I made your favourite okro soup. Come and have some”

“Did you use fresh fish? You know I hate beef?”

“Yes, I did. I went shopping before you got back”

“Fresh fish, not frozen fish……?” he was sitting at the small table they had turned into a dining table.

“Yes, I went to the river side to buy it from the fishermen as they docked this evening”, she smiled as she dished the food into his plate.

“Now you’re talking”, he rubbed his hands in anticipation. “That’s why I boast about you”

To be continued.

3 thoughts on “To have and to hold 4.

    imperfectlyperfect92 said:
    November 30, 2013 at 5:37 am

    Ghen ghen!sometin’s not right with this marriage.
    She for nor just marry Chukwudi so? Lemme wait 4d rest sha.

    Femmetotale said:
    November 30, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    hehehehehehe
    oya na…make we dey wait. Now I know suspense is not fair
    @imperfectlyperfect…I see u… :;

Leave a Reply

