The Report.

Posted on

Disappointed businessman

I used to work in a very busy hospital about 4 years ago. Often, I had to prove myself. Though my boss considered me as good as the others, those who met me for the first time had to decide within 2 minutes whether they wanted to take a chance, or ask to see someone who looked older. I sympathized with them, and schooled myself not to take offence. After all, a number of ladies insisted on seeing me. Who was I to begrudge my colleagues? It gave me more time to chill, anyways.

One day, a young man was ushered in. He looked uncomfortable. I tried to put him at ease, but he apologised. Telling me that he wanted to see the doctor who saw him previously. I directed him to his office but, he spent a few more minutes apologising; telling me it was not that he didn’t want to see me, but the guy told him to insist on seeing him. I assured him I was not offended. The hospital was usually busy, so I had no time to spare. Few hours later, he came back looking sheepish. I was surprised.

“Didn’t you see him? I called to confirm he was on seat” I asked.

“I saw him but, there’s something I want to discuss with you”

“Really? What would that be?”

“You know I told you that I didn’t insist on seeing the other guy because I doubt your capabilites. It was because he sent me for some tests and wanted to interpret them himself”

“Yeah, what is wrong with that?” I asked

“Please read the test results yourself”

I took the paper from him. The test was what we call ‘Seminalysis’; an analysis done on seminal fluid to determine its viability. There are 5 major criteria used to judge that sperms are viable.

. Number

. Motility (Are they showing signs of life)

. Morphology (no missing tail or head and so on).

. Swimming in a forward direction

. Volume.

There are normal ranges for all these, and I will not go into them. Also microbiological tests are done for infections.

“I’ve seen the result. What exactly is the problem?” I asked.

“He told me that my sperm count is low, and that I will not be able to impregnate a woman”

I tried to hide my surprise by looking down. “So what should you do?”

“I should come for several injections, which will solve the problem. The only thing that made me suspicious is he said I should bring the money for the treatment to him, and no one else”

“Well, my interest is not in what anyone said, let me interpret the result and you can decide what you want to do” I told him.

The count was borederline normal, the motility and morphology (normal forms) were average. Every other parameter was normal. I didn’t see why someone would have the heart to deliver such a depressing diagnosis, without getting his facts right. I am not sharing this story to pat myself at the back, or condemn anybody. Many of my colleagues are honest, bright, and godly. I want you to know that there are selfish people who will tell you anything to make a quick buck. It behoves you to get a 2nd opinion. Personally, I try to get God’s opinion 1st, then weigh all opinions against His.

Also, I want to deliver a number of men out there who are on medication, herbal and otherwise, trying to boost their libido, increase their sperm count, make their private part bigger, and so on. There is no drug or procedure that can increase the size of your member. The size is proportionate to your body, stop trying stuff that will harm you. One man took a concoction that gave him a permanent erection. He had to be operated on. Please disregard any advert in the papers, or on billboards, claiming that your last girlfriend left you for some silly reason. Maybe she left because she met a richer man, a more romantic man, a taller man, who cares? Stop trying to prove a point, nobody really cares.

This is a story I struggled with sharing, because of the issues it brought up but, I feel that knowledge is power. Power to say no to manipulation. Another note to brothers out there. The best tip to sexual health is abstinence. How many male virgins have you seen at the STD clinic? The number and quality of your sperm, declines with the infections you contract from multiple partners. I have seen men with almost 0 count. Yet, they look normal.

You can ensure your future fertility by some smart decisions. Do away with alcohol,tobacco, hard drugs, multiple sexual partners. Treat all diseases immediately and properly, don’t hide symptoms. Men should wear loose fitting, cotton underwear, and keep cell phones and so on away from their pockets. Riding on bikes should not be for long hours. Mothers, immunize sons properly, as Mumps can lead to infertility in men.

A final word, if you have a confirmed negative diagnosis, there is a word God gave Abraham in Genesis 15:5. Your seed will be as numerous as the stars in the sky. If you can count the stars, so will your seed be. You can hold on to that when you pray. There are some medication given to boost the count if it is very low, but the outcome is not predictable all the time. I feel the psychological impact is so damming that no one should have to go through that. As they say, prevention is better than cure.

Be blessed.

6 thoughts on “The Report.

    tenderonii said:
    December 23, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    Wow,,,you know what Dr. N, I give you salute. You are one in a million, and i’m not exaggerating. I’m a medical student, on the journey to be a Medical Doctor, not just professional but a woman sent from God, like Apostle John the divine, to my patients. You have just given me hope by knowing that you take time out to do these things for your patients. God bless you and God will keep using you to save lives and also their souls. I love you ooh, you are officially taking the place as my Uncle in the blogging family. Thank you for this information,…at-least the men will not perish for lack of knowledge as you are successfully passing this truths to them. Thank you for following my blog, that’s how I got to see this awesome blog. Have a Merry Christmas Uncle, lol.
    http://www.phroonesis,wordpress.com

      drnsmusings responded:
      December 24, 2013 at 2:12 pm

      Kisses, hugs, n more. Love ur blog too. Lol @ uncle

        tenderonii said:
        December 24, 2013 at 4:30 pm

        lol,…..twas totally funny when I realized you were female, I laughed soo hard at myself. Thank you for visiting the blog, I’m honored that you appreciate it. Many more to come in 2014. Have a great holiday ma. enjoy

    tenderonii said:
    December 23, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    Sorry,..I mistook you for a man, DR.N. you are my Aunty,..lol I didn’t read the about page before I commented. Sorry Aunty,..lol

      drnsmusings responded:
      December 24, 2013 at 2:13 pm

      Well u know in med we do d work of men. #winks.

        tenderonii said:
        December 24, 2013 at 4:28 pm

        Yes OOH,…we do and well done to the work you are doing. Merry Christmas to you and your family ma…..plenty hugs and kisses from me.

Leave a Reply

