Why we need faith

Posted on

Faith is being sure of an expected outcome based on a scriptural promise, without physical evidence to support it. That’s my paraphrase of Hebrews 11:1. Many of us are accomplished in our areas of strength. One of my friends is a lawyer, and I just think she’s so smart. Every word that leaves her mouth is measured, like she’s before the judge, and I think her training is responsible for that.

The temptation is to forget that situations will arise that our training, accomplishments, strengths, e.t.c, will have no effect on. I’m talking about the situations that defy logic. Someone once asked me, “Why is it that doctors don’t believe in God?”. I laughed and replied that that was the old generation. With more exposure, I got to realise that without God, we are no better than native doctors. We cannot guarantee life, healing, or any positive result.

A funny incident happened while I was in medical school. A consultant asked a group of about 6 male students who happened to be christians, what disease they were most likely to suffer at about 50 years of age. One by one, they answered that no such disease existed. He was very angry.

“Have you not heard of Benign Prostatic Hypertrophy (BPH)? That was a give away question! If this was an exam, you would have failed!” One of them answered,

“Sir, it’s not that we didn’t know the answer but, we don’t believe we are going to suffer it ourselves. You asked us what disease we are most likely going to suffer!”

“O, you guys are part of that group of fanatics, are you?”, he asked. “Just be glad I’m in a good mood. You would have heard my opinion of you”

In my post “Eat that frog”, I shared about my NYSC days in a remote village health centre where there were very sparse facilities. We had only 1 trained nurse. The others were community health workers. They are trained to a certain extent but, they do not have the restraint nurses do. Often, they dabble into areas where they have no expertise. You really have to supervise them closely to get the best out of them. That being said, they are a great asset because, they speak the language of the people, and are able to win them to your side.

It was about 5 am, when I was called to the labour room. Usually, I don’t run to answer such calls because it makes me frazzled. This time, I ran like Usain Bolt because, the ward maid told me a baby had just been delivered and wasn’t breathing. When I got there, the community health worker who I will call Bena (not real name), informed me that the delivery was difficult because the mother was uncooperative.

I was already putting on gloves to examine the baby. He was breathing in a very shallow manner, turning blue rapidly, getting cold

“Doc, can I leave now? I’m really hungry and tired”, Bena asked.

I could not believe my ears. You botch a delivery, then run off?

“Why didn’t you call me when she presented? How can someone be in labour and I won’t even know?”

“I didn’t want to disturb you. A young lady needs her sleep”

This was not true. They often treated patients behind my back in order to pocket the money they made, since I insisted such monies be remitted to the hospital account. She remains a friend, we talk on phone till today. However, she was no use to me at that point. She was so obese that she could not walk 10 footsteps without stopping to sit on a stool that her daughter carried behind her. Skipping her breakfast was going to leave me with a 2nd emergency and I was not ready for that.

To be continued.

3 thoughts on “Why we need faith

    imperfectlyperfect92 said:
    January 17, 2014 at 9:28 pm

    Ah, Dr N, part 2 oooooo.

    niki said:
    January 17, 2014 at 11:17 pm

    Anticipating part 2! You have an interesting way of tying events together.

    tenderonii said:
    January 18, 2014 at 1:04 am

    Part 2 ooh pleassseeeeee..lol Thanks ma’am

Leave a Reply

