Demons in the Hospital

Posted on Updated on

1960s WOMAN RED DEVIL COSTUME WITH HORNS ARMS UP IN AIR LOOKING SEDUCTIVELY AT CAMERA

At work today, 1 of my favourite nurses kept praying loudly, shouting “Amen” to the declarations of a popular pastor on tv. I was amused at the fact that she believed the louder her voice was, the more speedy her answers. Luckily, there was a lull, so she wasn’t disturbing anyone.

This reminds me of a neighbour in my 1st year in university, who believed every rat and cockroach was sent by her “enemies”. She would yell loudly at the sight of a rat (and we had a few; seems they loved her antics). Then whip out a broom and give chase chanting “Blood of Jesus! Holy ghost fire! Back to sender!” Even after killing the vermin, she would devote some hours to loud prayers and songs, disturbing our peace n quiet. I found her amusing. She lived an amoral life, and didn’t attempt any exam without smuggling in small strips of paper with answers on them (popularly called mgbo), despite how easy I felt whatever course she was studying should be. Lol.

So my post today raises the question of how much demonic activity really interfers with our lives. Is everything evil caused by dark spirits? When things go wrong, who is to blame? Is all illness satan-induced? I will welcome answers as I really want to hear your opinions.

A few years ago, I got to work to find a lady in labour. Most doctors pray that the doctor who did the previous shift would have handled such cases, so they get a bit of downtime. I found her in the ward in pain. When I asked why she was not in the delivery room, I was told she was offered a Ceasarian section because there was a cephalo-pelvic disproportion. That simpy means the baby’s head was too big to pass through her pelvis. There had actually been a failed attempt to deliver the baby. No further attempt was made so as not to endanger his life.( Remember that the blame will still go to the “over-zealous” doctor).
Said lady and husband refused to give their consent. They remained in the ward, begging us to attempt a vaginal delivery. I was a bit more experienced at the time (it was my 4th year of practice), so I was bold enough to refuse. We made her comfortable, gave her analgesics, while waiting for her to change her mind. She remained there till the next day. In the morning, I went over to say hello.

“Doctor, good morning”, she said.

“How was your night?” I asked.

“I didn’t sleep. We are leaving today”

“Why? Did I do something wrong?”

“No, you are one of the few people I trust. The truth is that I have discovered the root of my problem”, the lady informed me.

“Really? ”

“Yes, it is spiritual”

“Okay, why not invite your pastor, while we go ahead with our care?”

That is not the issue, the problem is in this hospital. If we don’t leave, something will happen to this baby!”

“Did you have some kind of dream or what?”

“No, it was revealed to me. That your matron is a witch! ”

I was flabbergasted! Glancing backwards to be sure no one could hear, I leaned closer.

“Why would you say that? I’ve known her for a few weeks. Though she’s new, no one has ever complained about this. I have never gotten a negative vibe from her either”

“Forget that! She’s a senior witch! Her type eats children! You are not spiritually mature, else you would have noticed”, the lady dismissed.

“I have warned her not to come close to us till I settle the bills. Should anything happen to my wife and baby, I’ll hold that witch responsible! She keeps peeping at us from the window, talking rubbish” her husband fumed.

I decided to interview the matron. She was new and was having some difficulty adjusting to the town, its cultures, and the work.

“Did you have any problem with that couple?”

“Don’t mind them o! Just because I told them that they should stop wasting time and accept the surgery, they started accusing me of witchcraft”, she defended.

“How, exactly, did you say it?”

“I was passing by the ward, when I looked in through the window and jokingly said ‘You people should stop wasting time. Let’s do the operation and bring out the baby'”.

I understood that she had been too casual with a life-threatening matter. After advising her on tact, I asked the couple to sign that they were seeking discharge against medical advice. I was very eager to let them go cause it was impossible to win. Either the baby died in the womb and they still found a way to blame me, or they turned to accuseme of being a sorceress.

Let me have your opinions. Do demons abound in hospitals? Should we stay awake with devils praying loudly? Where do we get the right to accuse people of being demon-possessed?

I leave you with one of my favourite scriptures. “Surely there is no enchantment against Dr. N, neither is there any divination against her!” Numbers 23:23. Cheers.

8 thoughts on “Demons in the Hospital

    Oyinkansola Yusuf said:
    February 6, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    Lmao!!! Devil has suffered ooo. Even jesus must be shoutin from heaven that the blood is finished. Yes, there are demons bt even d bible talks about time and unforeseen occurence in ecc 9:11. Ignorance is a major issue too. But as Nigerians, everything is witch from village. Just a pity.
    talkwedding.wordpress.com

      drnsmusings responded:
      February 6, 2014 at 4:53 pm

      Haha dear. Ok, noted. Ignorance, unforseen circumstances

      jacewilliambryant@gmail.com said:
      March 25, 2014 at 10:50 pm

      Demons are very real. And they affect every culture. Even Muslims have exorcists. You need to pray and study hard on this. And your head nurse just might be a witch. You need to YouTube Hollywood and satan and start watching videos on the subjectit will lead you to the point of understanding that Satan has taken over America and now he has existed throughout history in different forms and different variations

        drnsmusings responded:
        March 26, 2014 at 8:48 pm

        He exists, yes. I will not magnify him. Jesus is LORD. Thanks for using such “mild” language

    Femmetotale said:
    February 6, 2014 at 2:58 pm

    I’ve learned not to discourage some ppl in their folly. I just wonder how God manages to bear our stiff-necked ways. This may sound harsh but I often think that ppl deserved what they get. How can someone know the solution to her problem and still insist it is spiritual? Every little headache, cough and body pain that can be cured by simple drugs must have come from the devil himself. This overspiritualizing things sef dey tire me! So even if true true the matron was a witch, how does leaving the hospital save them from her or have dey forgotten that there is no long jrny in the spirit…lool. Yesterday I tried discussing about something about spirituality with a woman and she treated me as if I was just ignorant and there was no need wasting her time telling me. It was then it dawned on me that some ppl don’t need to be corrected. You can only pray for the Holy Spirit to intervene in their lives.

      drnsmusings responded:
      February 6, 2014 at 4:55 pm

      Aha, no long journey in the spirit. U don go before? #teasing. Lol . So we shd leave them to their fate

    Fola Daniel Adelesi said:
    February 6, 2014 at 8:47 pm

    You know the Bible says my people are destroyed for lack of knowledge! While faith does not depend on your wisdom, the application of faith still requires guided wisdom from the real, not misinterpreted, word of God! If they had done a pelvimentory test earlier, it would have been okay to be praying that the pelvis becomes supernaturally larger before the EDD. At the time of the EDD if nothing changes, it will be foolishness to keep a baby that is ready to come out! It is disappointing to see how so many Christians isolate wisdom completely from their faith!

      drnsmusings responded:
      February 7, 2014 at 7:57 am

      Na! Such ppl do not pray that kind of prayer. Too deep for them. I have a friend whose son was breech. He was offered a surgery. He told the doctor to give him 30 mins. While they prepared, he went outside and prayed for the baby to turn. He did. The surgery was cancelled. That is wisdom.

Leave a Reply

