Why I use a Pseudo-name

Posted on Updated on

A number of people have wondered what my name is and why I don’t use it. I hope this answers the question. Apart from friends and family who are my biggest support base, I may keep my name secret for a while longer.

Years ago, a young man came in for a check up. He complained of burning sensation when urinating and other symptoms I can’t remember. I sent him for some tests and they confirmed that he had a sexually transmitted infection. I can’t remember exactly which one. He was wearing a wedding ring, so I slyly asked if he was married.

“Yes, I’m married”

“Does she have similar complaints as you do?”, I asked.

He said he had not told her of his symptoms, and believed her to be in perfect health.

“Is there a nice young lady on the side, who takes care of you?” I was looking away, as though theanswer did not matter.

“Well…..”

“The reason I am asking, is not to embarrass you. I have to trace your sexual contacts, so they can get treated. Not only is there the danger of them spreading this disease, you will be re-infected if you go back to them” After a long hesitation, he volunteered that he had a girlfriend.

Ethicallyy, I could have just asked him to go and advice his contacts to come for treatment but,the Spirit of God constrains me. I struggle to let such opportunities slip by me. Though I am nervous sometimes, I grit my teeth and say my mind.

“Sir, I don’t mean to be rude, but do you think your wife is unfaithful? ”

He replied that he doubted she was.

“That nice girl you are keeping outside, isn’t she more likely the source of this infection? ” By now, he was squirming. I knew he wished he could shut me up. Alas, he could not. “You probably believed her too ‘neat’ and ‘classy’ to require you using protection. Now, it is likely your innocent wife is infected. Who knows for how long or with what consequences”

“Doc, is it incurable, or what? Why are you talking like this?”

“It is curable, but you should know better. What do you need a mistress for?”

“You’re a woman. You won’t understand. Bodi no be firewood. Sometimes you need variety”

“Variety of diseases???”

I did not let him go till I had made my point. No woman (or man for that matter), owes you loyalty till you marry them. Men who expect mistresses to be faithful, are deluded. They will tell you you are a stud, great in the sack, handsomer than Denzel Washington! When you leave, they will yawn and shake their head at your flabby stomach, and puny biceps. Handsome, my foot!

The bible says that a man who commits adultery is foolish, like a man who pours gasoline on himself! Let me stop there. Are you wondering if he came back with his wife? Maybe in my absence, for I never saw him again. That dear muse, is why I keep my name secret for now. In these days of social media, I know it is easy to dig up information. Hopefully, people will not start avoiding me. Lol. By the time I have to use my name, I hope I would have inspired a crop of soldiers. They will go on to tell the truth even when it hurts.

The market place is populated by Christians who are hiding their light. The children of this world are flaunting their debauchery. What would Jesus do? Dear reader, in school, at work, wherever you find yourself, be ready to give a godly opinion. Cheers

11 thoughts on “Why I use a Pseudo-name

    tenderonii said:
    March 7, 2014 at 11:56 am

    Infact the word ‘Godly” is key. Some of us end up giving our own opinions as relates issues as important as this. This is why I think that the message hidden behind the message you’ve just passed is that we must desire and nurture our desire to know God’s word, because God’s word is His opinion and His take on every issue, everything is in His word, so that at every given point we must dish out his words to individuals where ever we find ourselves. We never know, we might just be saving a life, a soul, which is God’s number one passion and business.
    Thanks Dr. N never mind, we have your name in our hearts already, as far as we are getting all this awesomeness from you at times like this.. I particularly don’t mind. I love your blog and I love you too.
    Keep Illuminating ma, God bless you

    jcsgrl said:
    March 7, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    Soo true. Recently I was inspired by a well known motivational speaker who opened her seminar with prayer amongst non Christians with no apologies. Infact she said, if you are offended this seminar is not for you and you can leave and get reimbursed. I mean boldness! I learnt a great deal from her to speak what I believe whether you like me or not

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 7, 2014 at 9:14 pm

      May I have such liver o!

    pynk said:
    March 7, 2014 at 9:25 pm

    Please don’t reveal your identity Because you won’t be able to write as freely as you do. God bless your healing hands and keep up the good work of God

    nik said:
    March 10, 2014 at 9:19 pm

    Funny that I have been thinking about this. when to or when not to share a conviction in a professional setting. I’m with pynk on this. Please don’t reveal your identity. You will be more free this way to write things without being attacked, feeling guilty or people thinking you are writing about them even when you are not. God sees your efforts.

    naijawife said:
    March 26, 2014 at 4:28 pm

    From one anonymous wife to another, we completely understand you! Continue what you’re doing please! And THANK YOU for giving that man the truth. God bless you indeed for your courage

    E' said:
    July 28, 2015 at 10:06 am

    Variety of diseases???

    Lol Dr. N, hahahahaha

    Pls stay very very anonymous oooo

Leave a Reply

