Faith, foolishness, and presumption.

Posted on

© Copyright 2014 CorbisCorporation

I know my previous posts on this topic seemed to slam the subjects of the story. That is why I decided to share this. Faith is an unshakable conviction of the reality of a fact that is actually unseen. In other words, I so much believe in something that it becomes real. Hope is an expectation that something will happen. Faith wonders why you are still waiting. Afterall, it has already happened.

One of my uncles was like that. His word was like money in the bank. We went ahead to spend “mentally”, any money he promised us because, he never needed to be reminded to pay up. As children, his little gifts of N200 naira or even less, were enough to make us millionaires. I spent mine on novels (to my parents’ delight). My siblings bought biscuits and candy, which we shared. I ended up telling them the stories in the novels, so they didn’t mind.

Triplets are a rarity anywhere in the world. Few doctors have ever witnessed the delivery of a set, not to speak of carrying out the delivery. Routinely, multiple births are handled by the most senior medical doctor on the team and this case was no exception. I was in my 5th year in medical school. This is the year we are expected to observe and conduct as many deliveries as possible. Having a baby in a teaching hospital is nasty business. Medical students examining you with their inexperienced fingers, multiple staff watching you in agony, numerous mothers in labour at once; Not just a nice picture. I am painting this picture so you can get a feel of the mood most of the patients are in. They even loved the students cause were were eager to help. The overworked midwives were not very easy to get a hold of. Most times, they just left you to your fate till you had the bearing down urge.

This lady probably 27 to 32 years old, was in labour. She was having triplets! As soon as the hospital heard, everyone gathered to witness the birth. What a teaching opportunity! I can’t claim she got the best of care. We were too busy “learning”. I had the privilege of arriving early, so I earned the privilege of rubbing her back, clearing her waste and other duties that will have you wretching, sorry. The nurses were relegated, we didn’t need them to block our view. For once, we did the menial work gladly. Any other lady would have been angry, embarrassed, impatient, or something. Not Mama triplets. She kept prophesying.

“It is well with every doctor and nurse here in Jesus name! God bless you. Your hands are blessed. God will give you your own miracle. Just as you are helping me, in the day you need help, people will rush to rescue you. This child will come forth smoothly. I shall not die but live. This hospital is blessed!”

On and on she went. We could not believe it! If you so much as touched her, she would shout, ” Those hands that just touched me are blessed! ” If the obstetrician asked you to give her medication or adjust her infusion (drip), she’ld shout, ” That person giving me injection, you are favoured! ”

I have never seen such a thing! And she was in some degree of pain, though you would doubt it. We kept waiting for something to go wrong so we could rush her in for a surgery, as is common with triplets, but this was not the case. The woman was in control. She went through delivering 3 babies with about 10 minutes intervals between them. Her delivery was so smooth, she didn’t even have any tear! Many women cannot have 1 child without a tear in their vaginal wall. Also, all the babies were just the right weight and very healthy. She already had a son. That day, she had 2 girls and a boy. Talk about perfect. I have never forgotten that woman. We all had tears in our eyes (at least the females did), because of her behaviour. No one was untouched by her remarkable delivery. Talk about faith!

When you compare her to people who shout “It is well”, when it is not well. Or “I am healed!”, only to die in the sickness because they refused medication….. What conclusion do we draw? As a doctor, I am willing to work with your faith. If you tell me to delay a procedure so your faith can work, I will. However, if the atmosphere is not the same as the one this woman created, I know you are walking in presumption. I will simply tell the nurses to prepare for the worst, cause we don’t want to be taken unawares.

Do you want to walk in faith? Start with obedience. Move out of that man’s house and stop sleeping with him. You cannot disobey God in faith. Then, buy 2 inspirational books on faith. Try books by Kenneth Hagin and Creflo Dollar. Listen to CD messages on faith. Next, study every bible verse on faith and memorise them, one a day. Quote them to yourself as you go about your daily activities to tattoo them in your spirit. That way, you are building a fortress against the day of adversity. Start using your faith for small things. Example, to stop the rain when you need to go out, or to find a good tailor, e.t.c. Pay attention in church and stop daydreaming about prince or princess charming. Soon, you will wonder where the devil ran to! More tips will come from Frances and Tenderonii, I’m sure. They know more than me O! See you at the top!

25 thoughts on “Faith, foolishness, and presumption.

    Fola Daniel Adelesi said:
    March 11, 2014 at 6:17 pm

    Interestingly, one of my already scheduled post is on this topic! Well, wait till it comes. Well done sis.

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 11, 2014 at 8:36 pm

      Waiting eagerly, thanks

        Fola Daniel Adelesi said:
        March 16, 2014 at 10:54 am

        Expect the post later today. It was scheduled for this afternoon.

    tenderonii said:
    March 11, 2014 at 9:53 pm

    lol, @Dr. N,..ur just the best….wow this post actually made me shed a tear. I was so touched , I kept saying wow, wow, wow….I must visit you when I get to lagos ooh, because I must get ful hand of all these glorious testimonies and lessons you learn and teach us everyday..
    Faith is indeed the response of the human spirit to the word of God, calling those things that be not as though they were.
    lmao, @your tips to use our faith.
    Great post as always, I ove you ma

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 12, 2014 at 9:11 am

      I shed tears too. Hi tho. Hope your exams are going well. Hugs

    Mz Poise said:
    March 11, 2014 at 10:11 pm

    *seriously sighing**
    God help me to be full of faith…

    Mz Poise said:
    March 11, 2014 at 10:13 pm

    *seriously sighing**
    God help me to be full of faith…i really need to share this on Facebook but dunno how.great job u r doing Dr N….hv a great nite

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 12, 2014 at 5:14 pm

      Click on facebook, under the caption share

    Sue said:
    March 11, 2014 at 10:37 pm

    ‘Loved this part especially, “Start using your faith for small things. Example, to stop the rain when you need to go out, or to find a good tailor, e.t.c”, and the bit about obedience because they are so true. You must trust God enough for example, to tithe when your salary is N20,000 and believe that God is big enough to stretch N18k to cover your needs, otherwise you will never be able to tithe N20,000 if/when you get there. The faith walk is progressive until we get to heaven.

    ‘Always so inspiring, keep writing Dr N.

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 12, 2014 at 9:13 am

      I like the tithing tip. Thanks. How are ya?

    Chuks Onugha said:
    March 12, 2014 at 1:14 pm

    great piece Dr. N.thanks.

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 12, 2014 at 4:18 pm

      Uwc, Brevis. Thanks for shopping by

    Preshigwe said:
    March 13, 2014 at 11:41 am

    That woman’s story/faith sent chills down my spine….i’m working on my faith o o o ,it gats to grow m..Well done Dr N

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 13, 2014 at 4:56 pm

      Chilly right? I agree..Thanks

    D'Dream said:
    March 13, 2014 at 12:23 pm

    waow! gracious me!

    This is an exceptional testimonies. Having and declaring your faith when all that could go wrong is going wrong .

    i admire this woman.
    thanks for sharing ma

    imperfectlyperfect92 said:
    March 13, 2014 at 5:22 pm

    Dr N, I couldn’t help but burst out in laughter at the “move out of his house and stop sleeping with him”..
    funny but so true, move out from the live in lover things and stay pure, faith it and trust God that He will bring the man for you.
    indeed, faith is lived not just thought of.
    and ah, me and Hannah sabi more tips? we are only just learning and growing in Christ as we should o and you are one of the big people I look up to sef..
    thanks ma’am for this, may God’s words in you never run dry.

    Femmetotale said:
    March 14, 2014 at 5:51 pm

    Faith…hmmm ..one inexhaustible topic.
    I loved this story.

    naijawife said:
    March 26, 2014 at 6:20 pm

    amazing. a vaginal birth of triplets! i need to observe myself and keep this post bookmarked. Never even occured to me that one could treat labor so peacefully

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 26, 2014 at 6:34 pm

      Aha! Please buy “Supernatural Childbirth” by Jackie Mackenzie. I had 2 kids with no pain

    Inthe... said:
    March 26, 2014 at 7:24 pm

    I love love love love the expression of this woman’s faith!! Any one snickering in that room that day would have been silenced by her testimony. Love it !!!

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 26, 2014 at 8:20 pm

      U guessed right. There were initial snickers. She laughed last

Leave a Reply

