Radio Signals

Posted on Updated on

A typical day’s conversation between me and the Holy Ghost.

Dr. N: “Good morning Holy Ghost”

HG:”Morning darling. Did you sleep well?”

Dr. N: “I did. Though I would have slept better if baby did not wake me up at 3 am, crying for a drink of water”

HG: (Chuckles). “But aren’t you happy hubby got up to get it for her?”

Dr. N: “Yeah, he tried. Still, my precious sleep was interrupted”

HG: “So what are you wearing today?”

Dr. N: “I thought of wearing the red skirt. What do you think?”

HG: “Mmmmmmmm”

Dr. N: “With the black top? Or not? ” Suddenly I notice a blue gown hanging beside the red skirt.

HG : “Put on the blue gown. It is ironed and you are running late”

Dr. N : “Gee! Thanks. Flat shoes or heels? What do you think?”

HG: “Flats. Today might be busy”

Dr. N : “I love you. You mean the world to me”

HG: “I love you too. Have a great day”

I write this because, I have noticed that many Christians are trying to live the christian life, by their own power. It is like driving a car without gas. You can pray, sing, speak in tongues, but, if you don’t know the author of the tongues, you will continue to struggle. In all humility, I submit, that the reason we find it so hard is that we do not know HIM.

He is the Holy Spirit. He has a voice, a personality, a behaviour, a laugh, a smile, a presence. No,he is not a wind, fire, or goose pimples. He manifests in different ways but, he is a real person. Imagine talking to a person you met on twitter or facebook. If he put up a cartoon character as his avatar, you get to knowhim not by his face, but through conversation. He was sent to teach us how to live in this fallen world. We do not talk to him. Rather, we ask him to fire our enemies! He wants more.

He wants a relationship, and that involves conversation. Does that mean you go about talking to thin air? No. You maintain a dialogue with him mentally. This is while you cook, drive, work, read, gist with friends, and so on. He longs to be a part of your day, so much that he keeps nudging you. Yes, that tug at your conscience is not to condemn but convict you. Conviction drives you to prayer, condemnation drives you into more sin. I gave you my typical conversation with Him. Let me give you a non-typical example.

I work for a pediatrician in a private hospital where the patient is king. My boss is highly experienced. One difficult procedure in pediatrics, is accessing an infant’s vein. The veins are tiny, the mother is anxious, the child is sickly, so many factors areagainst you. He, however, has a 90% success rate, and often, at 1st attempt. I wish I was that good.

So this cantankerous couple come in with their less than 1 week old son, in his absence. Already, they have terrorized the receptionist, nurse,e.t.c. The nurse comes in and gives me “the look”. The look is a warning signal for “Get ready for trouble” They come in and I notice the baby is jaundiced.

“Let’s take a blood sample, shall we?”, I offer pleasantly.

“Ah! Isn’t he too young?”, the mother protests.

I explain that we take from 1 day olds.

“The air conditioner is on…”

I turn it off, despite the humidity at 2pm in Nigeria.

“You are undressing him? Won’t he get pneumonia?”

I asssure her that he is not likely to and I want to do a full examination.

“Be careful! The way you are holding his arm, it will break!”

“Madam, I have 2 children of my own and you have met them. I have delivered premature babies. It is unlikely I will break your baby’s hand!” I nearly lost my cool. She then shrugged and sat quietly to let me work.

Now, with that piercing gaze on me, could I afford to prick that hand twice? O, no! Dial, Holy Spirit.

Dr. N: “Urgent help needed. Holy Spirit, make my hand steady as ever. I don’t want to do it 2x”

HG: “Relax, I’ve got this”

Dr. N: ” Like seriously, this couple will start crying blue murder…”

HG: “Have I ever failed you?”

Dr. N: “No but, today is not a day to ‘teach me a lesson in patience'”

HG:( laughs) .

All this time, I am swabbing the hand, tying the tourniquet, and arranging everything I need. The nurse is trying to reassure them that we handle much sicker babies. Bam! At 1st attempt, I get a vein! I smile like it was a piece of cake. The lady heaves a sigh of relief and starts thanking me. The nurse makes a face behind them. I hold back a laugh.

This story may sound simple but here is why I shared. You need to learn to walk with God in the mundane, so when a real issue comes up, his voice will be familiar. Many ask how to know who to marry, what job to take, if masturbation is wrong, if smoking or alcohol is sinful. There are so many things not spelt out in the bible. The Spirit of God was given to explain further. (Asking for advice is cool, but it should be confirmed by Him).

I hope, today, you will ask Jesus into your heart if you haven’t. If you have, then ask to be filled with the Holy Spirit and start talking to him. When tough times come (real tough times, not like my little story), you will have an anchor.

Radio Him today.

25 thoughts on “Radio Signals

    doctorzii said:
    April 11, 2014 at 6:09 pm

    thanks…
    I needed that.
    hit a rough patch n hvnt radioed him…
    been tryin to handle it on ma own.

    this is a blessed reminder dt he’s ever present n ready to help.
    Bless u Dr. N.

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 11, 2014 at 6:17 pm

      Bless u too darling. Thanks

    Sparkles said:
    April 11, 2014 at 7:01 pm

    Thanks for this awesome reminder. For it is not by might, nor by power but by the Spirit. He is indeed a vital personality in the life of a Christian… God bless you dear….

    Sue said:
    April 11, 2014 at 8:05 pm

    Luv u sis. Thanks for this……real Christianity!

    uche said:
    April 11, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    Dr N’ a reminder of d’role of Holyspirit in our lives as ChristiAns. Thank u dear

    Feyi's Dairy said:
    April 11, 2014 at 10:36 pm

    I really enjoyed reading this Dr N.

    maryj01 said:
    April 11, 2014 at 10:42 pm

    Thanks for sharing Dr N…

    Charles Williams said:
    April 12, 2014 at 5:11 am

    Hey Doc, I just returned from wonders and miracles night where Pastor Matthew Ashimolowo led us into an awesome encounter with God…This comes as an icing on the cake. So, help me God!

    niki said:
    April 12, 2014 at 7:11 am

    With the hustle and bustle of life, we need this relationship with him. i used to have conversations with him. I dont know why it stopped. I need to get that relationship back.

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 12, 2014 at 10:02 am

      I don’t know why I do occ. He always longs for us

    anwuli said:
    April 12, 2014 at 11:31 am

    Thank you for is write up. Indeed, a word in season. I have, over the last few days, been reading Kenneth Hagin’s book – “Understanding the Anointing” – and it’s really about understanding more of whom the Holy Spirit is, His presence in our lives at new birth, which every Christian receives (like you pointed out, that tug in your conscience that convicts), and secondly, His presence in our lives when we get baptised in the Holy Spirit (this serves the purpose of you being used as a vessel to others). A word in season, Dr N… Blessings

    Ngozi Ulonnam said:
    April 15, 2014 at 11:13 am

    I just love this article.
    Its sooo on point
    God bless u

    adaeze said:
    September 21, 2014 at 9:46 am

    wow. I really need such a relationship with the Holy Spirit. It’ll be wonderful to have Him present even in the mundane things of life. God help me.

      drnsmusings responded:
      September 21, 2014 at 12:11 pm

      Start talking to Him

    Anonymous Chick said:
    July 20, 2015 at 8:00 am

    Just read this again. Amazing post!

    The Holy Spirit is truly what we need to walk on this earth.

    Thanks doc.

      drnsmusings responded:
      July 20, 2015 at 11:40 am

      Esp in these days when our values r under attack. This is d time to build spiritual strength. And I have discovered that if I wake up every morning and say “Good morning Holy Spirt” That’s enough to set d tone of d day

    Fey said:
    August 19, 2015 at 12:27 pm

    I just read this Dr. N and I feel truly blessed by your writing. The Christian family and individuals are under serious attack through various channels…
    So many people today profess to be Christians but lack a deep enriching rewarding life long relationship with the Holy Trinity. Many are like the ‘Bisi’ character in your wonderful fiction ‘the attraction’.

    I love the way you ended this post; very wise counsel Dr. N.

    GOD bless ++

Leave a Reply

