The Attraction 26 (prose).

Posted on Updated on

The next day, Bisi, Stella, and Uche discussed the matter at hand.

“Do you mean that he denied sleeping with that girl?”, Bisi wondered.

“Yes, he did”

“Hmm, I’m surprised”

“Me too”, Stella added.

“Is it not possible? ”

“You need to see the yellow paw paw, boobs everywhere, face like a mermaid!”, Bisi described.

“Bisi!”, Uche exclaimed.

“kilode? (What is it?)”

Stella added thoughtfully,” It will be nearly impossible to find out the truth. That kind of girl will never admit to not getting a man she wants. The other day, she was boasting that he planned to buy her a car

“What!”, Uche screamed.

“I think you need to give him the benefit of the doubt. Let him break up with her”, Stella advised

“If he does, you can take him back”, Bisi advised.

Uche nodded as she turned to pick the book she had dropped when they came in. She had much to think about.

For 2 weeks, August called and sent messages asking for forgiveness. Though she was no longer angry with him, she felt she should give him time and space. Bisi confirmed that Veronica had taken down his picture and no longer seemed excited to talk about him. She didn’t know if there was a break up, as she did not categorically say so. Asking her, would make her suspicious.

After she had spent time in prayers, Uche decided to consult her Pastor’s wife. She was a wise and gentle lady, who Uche looked up to. She booked an appointment on a Tuesday morning, and took permission from work to see her. The office was spacious and cool. The creamy furnishing gave it a welcoming air. Pastor Nkechi was a fair,plump, middle-aged lady. She was dressed in a green skirt suit. She rose to greet Uche with a hug.

“Good morning, ma”, she greeted.

“Morning, darling”, Pastor Nkechi greeted.

Uche went on to fill her in about the two men, how she met them, her relationship with both,and the recent revelation.

“Uche, my first question is, who do you love?”

She was silent for a while. “I think I love Dan”, she said finally.

“Are you sure? Or is it because of August’s affair?”

“In truth, I knew I loved Dan but, I wanted to be sure I wasn’t missing out on a better man”

“You were wrong to date both men at a time”, she stated palinly.

“Pastor, how would I have let 1 go, when I didn’t know who was the right guy?”

“You should have told Dan that you were taking time to know August since you met him 1st. He had waited for some time. I’m sure he wouldn’t have minded. That would have given you more time to observe this August. Dating 2 men, is a lot of work”, she expounded.

“If I may ask, ma, is it possible for a man to abstain?”

“Yes, darling. My husband had abstained for 5 years before we met. We dated for 3 years, and never had sex. I was not a virgin either but, when I made a commitment to serve God, that part was not left out”

“Why is it so hard these days?”

“It has always been hard. What people have is a form of godliness that denies the power thereof. They want the grace without the price. They want to serve God on their own terms. They bring heathen customs into Christianity. Even in the olden days, you did not make a vow to an idol lightly. Now, we believe God is merciful. He must accept any goat or heifer we offer him, lame, blind, or scarred”

Uche sighed. Tears had come to her eyes.

“This emphasis on men, don’t women have a sexual urge? How do you handle yours?”, Pastor Nkechi asked.

Uche blushed. “I’m a virgin, ma”

“So? Don’t you long for a man to wrap you in his embrace?”

“Pastor! “, Uche hid her face.

“You are of age. I will be raw”, she folded her arms across her chest.

“Pastor, I pray, or listen to gospel music, or chat with my friend Laura. Anything to keep me busy”, she replied shyly and laughed.

“Why are you expecting less of your man?”

Uche mulled it over in her mind.

“Do you know that women are now cheating on men? I have so many cases of adultery that I am handling right now. Women go seeking lovers to revenge on their philandering husbands”

“What! “, Uche exclaimed.

“Darling, I know you have served God for long. When you lead worship, I feel the depth of your passion for Jesus. Don’t settle”

“Will I ever find the right man?”

“Yes, because, no good thing will he withhold from those who are upright in heart. Let us pray that God will give you discernment. As for the Lagos guy…”

“Dan”

“When next you see him, ask him how he handles his business. He must live up to the standards you abide by. Remember that you may need to be out of town, to fast, or be heavily pregnant. How will your husband cope? ”

“That’s true, ma”

They held hands and Pastor Nkechi led a prayer for wisdom, patience, discernment, and grace.

“Thank you very much, ma. I have truly benefitted from your wisdom”

“Uche, you’re welcome. Remember, if you ask God for fish, he will not give you a snake”

“Yes, ma”

“Take care. Call me whenever you need to”

“Yes, ma” , Uche rose.

“God bless you”.

“Bless you too, ma. Thank you”.

(Watch out for the conclusion. If you would like to leave a comment, click on the title)

10 thoughts on “The Attraction 26 (prose).

    Feyi's Dairy said:
    April 15, 2014 at 5:30 pm

    Thank God for Godly counsel. Yaaay !! she’ll choose Dan. I can’t wait for the conclusion. Well done Dr N.

    Sue said:
    April 15, 2014 at 7:11 pm

    Good stuff!

    Charles Williams said:
    April 15, 2014 at 8:18 pm

    Finally coming to an end, when I thought we just started…This episode is so [read soul] fully full and I was blessed!

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 15, 2014 at 8:23 pm

      I know. Every beginning has an end. Thanks

    imperfectlyperfect92 said:
    April 15, 2014 at 9:15 pm

    end????? what????? why na?? i caught myself thinking of Ikenna’s matter in class today.lol
    judge me not, class was dull

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 15, 2014 at 9:25 pm

      Chai! It’s well. Hahaha

    uche said:
    April 16, 2014 at 12:39 am

    No Conclusion, dont tell me Laura n’Ikenna didnt make it to d’altar. Make it up to Episode 30 pls!

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 16, 2014 at 10:14 am

      Haha! Even episode 50! Lol

Leave a Reply

