The Attraction 27 (conclusion)

Posted on Updated on

Chapter 25.

Dan was in Abuja to pay Uche a visit. He took a taxi to her house and alighted with the package he was carrying. He had already dropped his bag at a friend’s house. Uche ushered him in after a brief hug. He settled in the chair she offered. The apartment was a one room apartment. She had a small kitchenette and bathroom attached. A queen size bed, two chairs and a stool, comprised her furniture. Though simple, she managed to give it a feminine touch with flowers and pictures. Bisi and Stella had made themselves scarce.

He smiled at her. “Baby, I’ve missed you”

“I missed you too”

“Really? That’s the 1st time I’ve heard that”

Uche smiled. “Would you like a drink?”

“Sure”, he leaned back.

“I baked a cake, would you like a slice? ”

“I see Laura has influenced you”

“Yes, she has. It’s not as good as hers but…”

“I’ll have some, thanks. How is she anyway?”

“She’s doing great. Two weeks ago, she visited for 1 week”

“Awesome! Still no hope for Ik?”

“No. I don’t even bring it up again. Maybe, it wasn’t meant to be”, she mused.

“Maybe. Though that guy is nice. I hope she won’t end up with some oaf”

“Ha! God forbid! ” She got up to get the refreshments. When she served them, he thanked her.

“It tastes great, Uche”

“Thanks. Are you sure?”

“Yeah”

She chuckled in delight when he winked at her.

“How is Bobby?”

“Great. He met this awesome girl who owns an advertising agency”

“Wow!”

“Yes O! So, if you need a job, I have several options for you. You know I need you back in Lagos, right?”

Uche laughed. “Is that a bribe?”

“Whatever it takes to free you from Abuja’s clutches”

“I have ended things with that guy”, Uche announced.

“Praise the Lord! “, Dan exclaimed, hands raised.

Uche laughed.

“I was afraid you were marking time with me”

“No, Dan, I actually like you very much”, she murmured.

“How do we change that to love?”, he teased.

“I leave you to figure it out”

Dan laughed and requested hug. She obliged, feeling safe in his arms.

“You are the only woman I will ever love”, he declared.

She pushed him away gently. “I noticed you didn’t say I am the only woman you have ever loved”

“Well, I have been in love before”

“Really? You never told me”

“Her name is Susan. She was my girlfriend in Secondary school. We fooled around but never went all the way. When I got born again, I told her we had to end the physical side of our relationship. She agreed”

“So?”

“Before I gained admission into the university, she also became a believer. We were both in the choir.She sang, while i played the guitar”, he paused for breath.

Uche leaned closer.

“One day, she came to my house to inform me she was admitted into a different university than I was. We were very sad. She burst into tears”

“Hmm”

“I held her to comfort her, she started to unbutton my shirt. I tried to stop her, she insisted that I prove my love for her. She accused me of planning to dump her”

“Wow”

“We were getting busy, when my phone rang”

“Yes”

“My ring tone was a recording of my pastor’s voice, reciting Psalm 23. The sound of his voice was like cold water on me. I broke down in tears”

“Really?”

“I could not believe I had put her before my God”

“What did she do?”

“She was embarrassed. She got up and left”

“Wow”

“I knelt down and vowed to God to keep myself for my wife. I also asked him to bless me with a wife who feels the same way”

Uche burst into tears.

“What’s wrong?”, Dan rose to hold her.

She cried some more .

“What’s the matter, baby? Did I say something wrong?”

Uche was sniffing loudly.

“She’s no more in my life. In fact, she got married 3 years ago. We broke up after that day”

Uche found some tissue by her bed and wiped her eyes.

“What is wrong? “, he persisted, holding her face in both hands and gazing at her worriedly.

“I made a similar vow when I was 16. I promised God and my dad to wait till my wedding night”

“Wow! That’s awesome! ”

“I was beginning to think there are no faithful men left”

“Uche”, he knelt before her and took her hands in his.

“You will never be responsible for me being faithful. It is my duty before God and I take it very seriously. No woman will ever come between us. I love you, Uche. With every fibre in my being”, he said solemnly.

With tears in her eyes, Uche murmured “I love you, Dan. I always have and I always will”

THE END.

Prologue

I hope you enjoyed the story. For the Christian, the “Attraction” must be the mutuality of beliefs, values, and principles. All other attractions like, sexual chemistry, pedigree, good looks, educational qualifications, financial and economic status, family and ethnic considerations, will fade away. In fact, they will leave a sour taste in your mouth, down the road, if the vital force is missing.

Did you get it? The Attraction, is the Holy Spirit. Jer.42 talks about the futility of trying to get results the way others do.

Thanks for reading. Do click on the title to tell me what you think. I especially want to hear from my silent readers. You can comment anonymously or send an email to drnsmusings@yahoo.com. What did you think about Uche, Eddy, Laura, Dan, August and even Pastor Nkechi? Is it unreasonable for God to expect us to obey him? What is your personal experience?

38 thoughts on “The Attraction 27 (conclusion)

    Lizzieebunoluwa said:
    April 16, 2014 at 4:56 pm

    Wowzer!Thank you Dr N! Lord knows i’m grateful for this exciting, remarkable series. Even when my exams were ongoing, I made sure i read every episode. Lol.. Like some fix.
    Thank you for sharing the lessons you did. Here’s hoping it resonates in hearts and lives beyond your imagination.

    Please don’t stop writing. Keep ’em coming!
    Cheers!!!

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 16, 2014 at 5:54 pm

      Thank u so much for hanging out with me. All d best in your exams

    uche said:
    April 16, 2014 at 6:49 pm

    Dr N. Will i say, writing is ur vocation or calling! I am gonna miss this story line. Kai u made my evenings. God bless. U reminded me of keeping vows we make with God and believing God totally for every bit of our lives. Thank you. Please start another one. What happened to Laura?

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 16, 2014 at 6:57 pm

      I am still wondering what happened to Laura. Maybe a sequel. Thanks for always commenting. I enjoyed seeing the characters thru your eyes

    Reformed silent reader said:
    April 16, 2014 at 7:20 pm

    *standing ovation* well done, Dr N!! It was brillant writing all the way and there were so many life lessons too. I plan to print out the chapters and bind them into a little book… I promise not to infringe your copyright though. πŸ˜€ So… I’m one of your biggest fans, Doc! I’ve been following your blog silently for some months now but since you called us out today, I decided to make an appearance. Well done once again, I’m looking forward to even more captivating and insightful stories from you. *in your voice* -cheers! (oh and God bless you doc! And your family… And all the lovely readers of your blog. If the comments are anything to go by, they are awesome people!) ok bye. πŸ˜€

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 16, 2014 at 8:13 pm

      Ha! Reformed indeed! We’ll talk copyright later. And u know my voice # cheers. Lol

    dnddyon said:
    April 16, 2014 at 8:12 pm

    Why did this story have to end biko?
    Oh Please, just start another one ASAP please…
    I look forward to a lot more interesting stories

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 16, 2014 at 8:25 pm

      It was great riding with u, thanks

    Charles Williams said:
    April 16, 2014 at 8:46 pm

    I don’t know what else to say… this for me has been an accidental discovery of God’s word. You know what, this statement: ‘being faithful is my duty before God and I take it very seriously’ will go with me from here and I intend to keep it for a long time.
    Thanks Doc!!!

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 16, 2014 at 9:34 pm

      Great! So happy to hear that

    Sue said:
    April 16, 2014 at 9:34 pm

    Thanks for this, sis. I’ll honestly miss anticipating the next installment of The Attraction everyday! It was an ‘entertaining blessing’ with solid lessons and reminders all the way. ‘Looking forward to whatever next is coming….

    drnsmusings responded:
    April 16, 2014 at 9:36 pm

    Thanks, Sue. Hugs

    lu-lu said:
    April 16, 2014 at 10:45 pm

    wow.. thanks for this great story.. A lot of life lessons
    If you can start another story.. finished exams today and have nothing much to do with my time πŸ˜€

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 17, 2014 at 7:49 am

      Lol. Please send me a story, o!

    Fola Daniel Adelesi said:
    April 17, 2014 at 6:31 am

    This cannot be the end o! Haba, you have to write a sequel or part two of the book if not we will fight! What happen to Laura? How did August end up? Is IK not getting married? Abegi, am waiting for part two, if not…

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 17, 2014 at 7:50 am

      If not, you write d sequel….lol. I’ll think of something

    Feyi's Dairy said:
    April 17, 2014 at 8:03 am

    ‘For the Christian, the β€œAttraction” must be the mutuality of beliefs, values, and principles’- That says it all.

    Awwwwwww I’m so happy for Uche and Dan. What happened to Laura and Ikenna???

    Great job Dr N πŸ™‚

    haryour said:
    April 17, 2014 at 8:25 am

    woaw…. Wherez my laura naw, and wat abt my darling ik???
    Will miss d suspense sha oooo
    thanks doc
    PS: pls we nid a sequel

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 17, 2014 at 11:11 am

      All vote for a sequel!

    Anonymous Chick said:
    April 17, 2014 at 9:56 am

    Absolutely loved this story… Found your blog through an insightful comment you left at bella naija’s blog some weeks back.
    I have read through all of your posts and have found this story series really interesting. Yeap, I’ve been a silent reader just showing up πŸ™‚ But, I’ve sha tried to comment before but couldn’t. Loved your post on the Holy Spirit being our constant helper and soulmate some posts back.

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 17, 2014 at 11:11 am

      Great to meet u. Thanks

    Femmetotale said:
    April 17, 2014 at 6:55 pm

    Awwwww….
    I think Awwww best sums up my comments.
    I love the bits of wisdom hidden between the lines in your story.
    I love the fact that Uche is the 21st century christian young woman I can relate to.
    She faced the challenge so many young women face today, trying to tell who is the right one or who is just pretending. In the end,
    Some things aren’t so difficult to know once we submit to the guidance of the Holy Spirit.
    Like you said, the attraction has to do with similarity of values and beliefs,
    and not merely the word “attraction”.
    Thanks for this beautiful story.
    I can’t imagine it was easy to write with those “rambunctious” kids jumping around!

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 17, 2014 at 7:19 pm

      No, it wasn’t but the reception kept my ink flowing. Thank you so much

    jcsgrl said:
    April 18, 2014 at 12:25 pm

    Dr N…gosh I learnt soo many lessons from this series. I wished you would continue. Uche thought she was righteous in her ways but she was selfish and using the two guys. Women often miss the most important things to look for in a man but instead go after the transient. They forgo the 80% (character) that makes a man and goes for the 20%. I’m glad she sought godly counsel and made a wise decision. That saying, our annointing is not for pigs hit me like a ton of bricks. That was how I felt when God revealed to me his future plans for my life. I could not settle for just anybody. The person had to be able to recognize and preserve my annointing. Thank God for blessing me with the right person. I could go on and on. Well done and more ink to your pen

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 18, 2014 at 12:26 pm

      Please go on n in. I was loving it. Thanks

    busywriter said:
    April 19, 2014 at 8:16 pm

    Great Blog Dr N. Thanks for following. God bless.

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 20, 2014 at 12:37 pm

      You’re welcome. Bless umtoo

    Ezinne Ajoku said:
    April 22, 2014 at 4:32 am

    Yea, you left so much unsaid, doc. But that notwithstanding, this i like: “The attraction is the Holy Spirit” Mmmmmm. It is, indeed

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 22, 2014 at 1:25 pm

      Where have u been? Welcome back

    Lily said:
    April 22, 2014 at 11:26 pm

    DrN, you’ve kept me awake ’til now! Stopped @ Chapter 9, a few weeks ago & had to read it all this evening. Love love love this! More ink to your pen! More grace to your life!
    I loved the conversation btw Ik & Segun in pidgin – “kasala burst & the girl just dey shout like who market woman owe change”! β„“β˜Ίβ„“!!! Laughed so hard there, laughing now as I type this. I’m suscribing now! Can’t be missing such goodness for too long.
    Just read the 1st part of the sequel & also lol’ed at the guy anointing his Last’s Anatomy & bones, & planning a midnight dance!!! Kai!

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 22, 2014 at 11:47 pm

      Thanks. Sorry for keeping u up, lol. But d stories keep me awake too. #midnite writing. Enjoy.

    Sparkles said:
    April 23, 2014 at 3:46 pm

    Good job! Good insight! Great lessons learnt! Your writing is indeed inspirational… Keep the ink flowing while allowing God use you to bless lives.. Cheers!!!!

    BSC said:
    June 6, 2014 at 1:44 pm

    I really had to wait till the end to comment!!! This was great and refreshing!! I kept stealing words of wisdom and inspiration it was like taking notes during a lecture!! Well done doc! And from the comments I see you have a family, a job and yet you have the time to do what you love! I am truly encouraged! God Bless….

    kaycee said:
    March 6, 2015 at 11:46 pm

    Immensely blessed. Again, I have to comment on an old post…. Learnt vital lessons I’m going to hold on to. Thanks ma
    P.s: I’ll like to meet you in person

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 7, 2015 at 6:57 am

      Do me an email n ur wish may be granted. Lol

    Fey said:
    August 19, 2015 at 3:57 pm

    Wow Dr. N…this your blog that I’m falling in love with…keeping me busy night and day when I have spare time that is…
    I started reading all your posts from.2013 after reading ADIRE from Eziaha’s referral.

    Absolutely brilliant prose writing and it’s wholesome with loads of Christian lessons and easy to relate to.
    I remember thinking as I was reading the chapters that I recognise myself in some of the characters and people in general in some other characters.

    May GOD continually bless your writing and healing ministries, Amen

    ++

Leave a Reply

