Cords of love 3 (prose)

Posted on Updated on

This is a sequel to ‘The Attraction’

Chapter 3.

Laura was on phone with her cousin Ekene. He called to inform her that he had been anointed the Assistant Pastor of Gospel of Grace Fellowship.

“Praise the Lord, Ekene! I’m so happy they recognised the call on your life”

“Amen. The anointing service was awesome! You should have been there”

“I couldn’t make it, dear. With my meagre allowance, I could not afford to travel east”

“How is work?”

“Things are winding down of course. It will soon end, so I’ll be back to port Harcourt”

“Great. Do you have any job opportunities waiting?”

“None, my brother. I will enter the job market like my mates”

“I actually called for that reason”

“Really? Does your dad have a job for me?”

“You want to work in that his company that owes for several months before paying up?” Laura laughed.

“God gave me a word for you”, Ekene said solemnly.

“Yeah?”

“He says that the rod in your hand, is what He will use to part the red sea. You must not despise what you have”

“Rod in my hand?”

“Your baking skills. You are actually very good, I don’t know if you believe it”

“Ekene, do you know how many people are baking cakes? Every Tom, Dick, and Harry! It’s not easy to break into the market”, she lamented.

“Put all your savings into buying the equipment you need. Then prove God. If I am a false prophet, the business will not thrive”, Ekene declared.

“Hmm”

“Can you take God at his word?”

“Ekene, I will think, sorry, pray about it”

“Alright. Meanwhile send me airtime. You are still my big cousin”, Ekene whined.

“Haha! Pastor Ekene! Collecting offering, eh?”

“No, O! You know everything! ”

“Alright, I’ll send what I can”

“Okay, take care”

“Bye”

***************************************************

Uche was getting dressed for work. Bisi was lounging in bed as she had no need to go to work that day. She turned a magazine idly.

“Are they going to retain you at work?”, she asked Uche.

“No, I plan to go to Lagos. Someone promised me a job”

“Who? Dan? That one who came here empty-handed?”

“Empty-handed? He took us out for lunch!”

“That was why you left August?”

“Bisi!”

“Spirikoko! You left a correct guy for someone who is feeding his family on a small salary and has no car!”

“How much do cars cost? He will soon buy one”, Uche was applying her make-up in the mirror.

Bisi laughed mockingly. “When they advise you people, you will refuse to listen. Look at the kind of money August has. He broke up with Veronica and has been begging you for months”

“It’s not that. I love Dan. Why should I continue with August?”

“Because he is born again, richer, more handsome, and crazy about you!”

“Did he pay you or what?”

“No, O!”, Bisi protested.

“Are you sure? Because he offered Laura N500,000 if she convinces me to dump Dan for him!”, Uche turned to face her

“What! And he promised me only N300, 000!”, Bisi blurted.

“Bisi!”, Uche exclaimed.

Bisi realized her slip and clapped her hands over her mouth. “Oops! Sorry, but, I actually think he’s a great guy”

“This is the last time you will mention him to me. Is that clear? “, Uche warned.

“Abeg, sorry O! My lips are sealed. Go and marry that one. Instead of your wedding to feature on Bella Naija, we will be donating money for you”, she mocked.

“Bisi! I will not warn you again!”

“Sorry”, she muttered and got up to leave the room.

Uche made a hissing sound and turned to snap her make up case shut. “Greedy thing!”, she muttered. “Dreaming of N300, 000”

Chapter 4

Ekene was reading in the library. He had ananatomy test the next day. Sunday service had been awesome the day before, as he was given an opportunity to preach. It was his 1st time, and the reception was mind blowing. Many were prostrate, getting slain in the spirit, receiving healings, repenting and just worshipping with no restraint.

After the meeting at 8.00pm, he stayed behind to attend a meeting with Pastor Excel. They were mapping out strategies for the expansion of the fellowship. Also, there was the issue of the anniversary coming up the next month. They needed to choose a guest minister and a theme. The meeting ended at 11pm. He headed to his room and after a shower, set off for class with his bones, books, and torch. Many others were headed the same way, for an all nighter.

He stopped on the way to buy fried yams, potatoes and Coca Cola. The hawker had no change to give him his balance, so he stood there waiting for her to ask around for change.At midnight, he got to the classroom. He saw Sherry seated at the back and made his way to join her. Beside her were James and another classmate.

“Good evening, Pastor Ekene”, she greeted.

“Good evening. Course repo! I’m loyal! “, he set down his package on the table and sat down.

“It’s a pity what Dr. Ikponwusa did to you”, she commiserated.

“Don’t mind that man”, he smiled and turned to shake hands with James.

“That guy can be mean. I don’t understand why he didn’t let you in. Afterall, you were only 15 minutes late and it was a surprise quiz”, James added.

“I hope he won’t make use of it for our continuous assessment? “, Ekene asked.

“I pray not. I didn’t answer the question on Elbow joint well. When I checked my text later, I saw that I had written rubbish”, James mourned.

“Guys, please, let’s lower our voices. Some people are reading!”, complained the other classmate.

The three apologized. Ekene brought out his food and offered some to everyone. They all thanked him and rejected it, except for James. Both of them munched away, as Ekene turned to open his book. It was almost 1am.

“Ekene, Ekene, wake up! “, Sherry shook him 1 hour later.

“Hmm”, he rubbed his eyes.

“You’ve been sleeping for long”

“Mmmmm. I really needed that nap”, he wiped off the saliva that had dribbled on his book. Turning, he saw that James was also asleep.

“That one will not wake up today! I have been trying to wake him”, Sherry said.

“It’s well. Let me take a walk to clear my head”, Ekene rose up to step outside.

Outside, he began to sing and walk up and down the corridor. His voice was low, in order not to disturb those reading. Soon, he broke into prayers.He had a burden to pray for his test, as he could feel a heaviness in his spirit concerning it. After 1 hour of prayers, he returned to the classroom. James was still asleep.

(To be continued. Please click on the title to leave a comment)

*Spirikoko: Someone who is overly spiritual.
*Abeg: Pidgin English for I beg.
*Bella Naija: Lifestyle Website.

22 thoughts on “Cords of love 3 (prose)

    Z.A said:
    April 24, 2014 at 5:21 pm

    I’m so glad there’s a continuation to Attraction. Please keep it coming…Thanks!

    Btw, I’m sure God will see Ekene through

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 24, 2014 at 6:00 pm

      Amen O! Nice to meet you.

    uche said:
    April 24, 2014 at 6:43 pm

    Ekene, Ekene Ekene! How many times did i call u? Go n’read n’bal every aspect of ur life

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 24, 2014 at 8:07 pm

      3x, ma. I’m reading, ma

    Cheta Ethel said:
    April 24, 2014 at 9:10 pm

    Lol @wedding feature on Bella Naija

    dnddyon said:
    April 24, 2014 at 10:46 pm

    Uche is ‘da bum’!

    Bella Naija ko Bella Yankee ni… Bisi and August shoul g’aan sitdan joor -_-

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 25, 2014 at 4:12 pm

      Sticks tongue out n runs away! Lol

    Fola Daniel Adelesi said:
    April 24, 2014 at 11:38 pm

    OK, there are not too many blogs that keep me this glued to my tab and also becoming expectant on the series. Not even the famous ones!

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 25, 2014 at 4:13 pm

      High praise! Dancing azonto!

    Fola Daniel Adelesi said:
    April 24, 2014 at 11:43 pm

    Let me also be a little naughty! Ekene’s calling is already obvious regardless of what class get finishes with. What will he do with the certificate apart from what he has already started doing now? Biko, leave Bishop Ekene alone o! Oginni?

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 25, 2014 at 4:13 pm

      I agree. Perhaps he shd withdraw?. Lol

    praisegeorge said:
    April 25, 2014 at 8:22 am

    Hi Doc. Please send me your email. I want us to talk about your stories and more.
    Blessings.

    Ezinne Ajoku said:
    April 25, 2014 at 9:39 am

    Ekene needs a rude awakening!

    Feyi's Dairy said:
    April 27, 2014 at 7:43 pm

    Pastor Ekene pls this your spirikoko is too much abeg, better read your books.

      drnsmusings responded:
      April 27, 2014 at 8:52 pm

      Why yab my pastor, na?

        Feyi's Dairy said:
        April 27, 2014 at 9:02 pm

        His own is too much na

    ememesiette said:
    May 13, 2014 at 9:54 pm

    Beht this biy sef. Goan read nau. This series reminds me a lot about school and university ministry. Well written.

      drnsmusings responded:
      May 13, 2014 at 10:00 pm

      He is reading na! Didn’t you see him?

        ememesiette said:
        May 13, 2014 at 10:07 pm

        hmmm. Anatomy abi? When you have to cram Keith Moore. haha. its not like this o.

Leave a Reply

