Oliver Twist

Posted on

© Copyright 2010 CorbisCorporation

This happened just recently. Sometimes, I sit in the waiting room at work to get a first hand view of patients. Often, I detect emergencies and cut short the red tape. At other times, I’m there to be entertained.

Speaking of entertainment, one of my sisters is an undergraduate. She loves to follow me to work when she visits. This is because of the drama of patients. She takes a vantage position in order to download all the ‘reality shows’ we take for granted. I find that so amusing.

Back to my story. It was almost closing time for me. A nice SUV parked and a lady alighted. We greeted her warmly.

“Please, I need you to give my children injections”, was the next thing she said.

I laughed. “Have they been naughty? Are you trying to scare them?”

“I want you to give them injections, so I can collect money from their father”

“What?”

She repeated herself. The staff in the room stared at her. Her older son of about 5 or 6 years came in.

“See that one? He talks a lot. It is he who will inform his dad that he got an injection. That is how money will come out”

This one takes the cake. We are used to getting requests from patients to inflate the bills on their receipts but for treatment already received. (Another day, I will tell you of a man who caught his wife in this act and came to the hospital to verify.)

We asked her if they had outstanding immunisations. They didn’t.

“What of Vitamin A ? Is it not injectable?” she asked.

When we said No, she asked us to give injection water. By then the nurse was itching to throw her out.You needed to see how robust she looked. Her son was overweight. Their car was pricey. I didn’t see any sign that she lived in penury.

When she left in disappointment, the janitor had to carry out her fat son. He had thrown himself on the floor because he wanted to stay and play with the nurse’s phone. I wished he was my nephew so I could teach him what my dad taught me. ‘Never throw a tantrum in public!’

Lol What do you think? How stingy can a man be to justify such behaviour? Till I hear from you, Cheers.

Please remember to keep praying for peace in our nation. #Bringbackourgirls #IamNigeria

22 thoughts on “Oliver Twist

    dnddyon said:
    May 25, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    No child of my mother throws tantrums in the house, not to talk of in public: that would be the end of whatever you’re ‘crying to get’ + accompanied spanking

    BTW, is injecting water appropriate?

      drnsmusings responded:
      May 25, 2014 at 10:48 pm

      There’s a special water meant to be used to mix drugs for injection. Unscrupulous ppl can use it alone.
      Ha! My mom only needed to give u d look

    adefunke62 said:
    May 26, 2014 at 5:06 am

    Ha, ds is nt funny at al, som men can b stingy sha. Pls gist me on how 2 deal wit such child

      drnsmusings responded:
      May 26, 2014 at 8:03 am

      If it’s my own child, I ignore him till he learns not to whine. An I start early so he will not try it publicly. Spanking is also in order. My janitor actually spanked him while d mom wasn’t looking, lol. A boy of 6 or 7. Mtcheww!

    Anonymous Chick said:
    May 26, 2014 at 6:10 am

    ‘You needed to see how robust she looked. Her son was overweight. Their car was pricey. I didn’t see any sign that she lived in penury.’

    Na wa oh! If the man is stingy, his stinginess does not reach the level of feeding his family from the sound of things. One can never say sha. It could be that the man is really tight handed or that the woman needed extra cash for her own desires.

      drnsmusings responded:
      May 26, 2014 at 8:06 am

      I think she needed it for something he did not approve of. Think aso ebi, gold, or trips

    pynk said:
    May 26, 2014 at 2:44 pm

    Sounds like the woman was being dodgy. Why endanger your children for chicken change. There are all sorts of crazy people roaming around.

      drnsmusings responded:
      May 26, 2014 at 5:08 pm

      Hehehe! U call it chicken change

    niki said:
    May 26, 2014 at 10:14 pm

    U have come again. This is real reality show. How do doctors control their response in these cases. Cause me i would have just laughed. But tru talk, have u ever gotten in trouble for reacting unprofessional or are you always on point? Lol

      drnsmusings responded:
      May 27, 2014 at 8:09 am

      My sis, I have gotten into trouble severally. I care not to share. Ha! One woman once reported me for diagnosing her son with a chest infection. She felt since he and 2 other of her kids were asthmatic, she was an authority.

        niki said:
        May 27, 2014 at 11:40 am

        Aww bless. I wish i could have a personal doctor like you.

    Fola Daniel Adelesi said:
    May 27, 2014 at 12:20 pm

    Reading through comments and wondering why some would say ‘some men can be funny.’ I thought it was a woman who’s trying to play smart on her husband! Anyway, like the prayer I recently shared via BBM, all the men reading this should say, ‘Father, please make me an unfailing ATM for my wife.’ Prayer!!!

    imperfectlyperfect92 said:
    May 28, 2014 at 8:26 am

    Ah Dr N, the child being fat means that they are well to do shey? I know that look, the aje butter one ba?
    Anyways, the fact that a mom can use her son like dat cuz of cash bothers me a lot. Ah. Women, we gats change some things.

    Tito Tobi said:
    June 3, 2014 at 10:00 am

    It’s a women’s thing never to have enough but to resort to the extreme measures described above? Something is wrong in the family.

    ememesiette said:
    June 3, 2014 at 9:03 pm

    How is the man’s character the one on trial? She drives a high-end vehicle, looks high class, with the accompanying overweight kid. obviously, the man is dropping. Question is, what sort of woman will make that kind of request? beats me.

      drnsmusings responded:
      June 3, 2014 at 10:58 pm

      Emm, wha if she is d one paying for all that just wanted to force his hand? Tho I agree she went too far

        ememesiette said:
        June 8, 2014 at 6:46 am

        plausible. Although I don’t see how a woman who has been providing so much would suddenly want to inject the kids with water in order to bring money out of his pocket. All the same, plausible.

    livelytwist said:
    August 13, 2014 at 6:08 pm

    Desperate situations = desperate measures 🙂
    Reality show indeed!

Leave a Reply

