Return to Sender

Posted on

A reader made a comment that reminded me of this story. I had been contemplating sharing it but, I was unsure of how it would pan out. She shared how she rejected the temptation to get depressed over an issue simply by saying No! Well, let me share my own story.

While serving as an NYSC doctor (Read my post ‘Eat that frog’), I lived in the village I worked in. My house was a 2 bedroom apartment with a sitting room, dining room and kitchen. The matron lived in the adjoining apartment. Patients came at odd hours to knock on my door. Though I tried to restrict them to clinic hours, they would plead that farm work or trading determined when they came.
© Copyright 2010 CorbisCorporation

At this time, my mother held a political office in another state. I did not let anyone know. Rather, I maintained a low profile. The villagers saw no difference between the other corp members and I. Save for the fact that my house was bigger and I worked longer hours, of course. The village head had assured me of my safety and the people were generally hospitable.

One day, I got a text from an unknown person. It said that he had a revelation that there was a plot to kidnap me because of my mother’s position. He asked me to be careful and vigilant as only this would ensure that the dream or prophecy was averted. He signed off as a pastor. My spirit was so angry. I felt like throwing something. I replied him that there was no such plot and I did not accept that imagination. Also, I warned him never to send such messages to me again. He said it was good that I had faith but I should be prayerful. I cut him off. After that, I told my mother not to give my number to any prayer merchant . However, I did not tell her why.

Shortly after this, a corp member was rushed in late at night. He was said to have been drugged by some unknown men in a bus conveying him back to the village. The people who brought him said some villagers found him unconscious. Probably, he had been thrown out of the bus. He had no visible injuries and his vital signs were stable. I tried to resuscitate him but, he remained unconscious for about 2 hours. The hour was too late to refer him, though some corp members were trying to find a car to convey him.

I prayed and God told me he was in shock and that I should not do anything more. So, I confidently told the panicking friends gathered that he would wake up when he was ready. They could not understand why I was so calm. Well, daddy said it was gonna be okay, why should both of us be awake at the same time? When he was good and ready, he woke up and was barely able to narrate what happened. As far as I could tell, he suffered no untoward effects. I asked him to spend the night and leave in the morning. His friends had refused to inform his parents on phone. He was an only child and they feared his mother would pass out.

The next day, he left after I told him we would bill the NYSC for his treatment. The drugs had been released to me on trust as I stood surety for him. Getting that money was like squeezing water from a rock. I will tell that story another day. However, through the years since then, I have wondered about that incident. There was no other such case till I left. Was that plot actually designed for me? Is it that the prophet was right and I didn’t regard his words? Was the guy a substitute for me? Should I accept negative revelations like that in future? I couldn’t answer these questions until my pastor preached one day on prophecy.

He said prophecy should edify. If it does not, then I have the right to shut it down. Even when it is negative, there is always a clear instruction to avert it. Also, I don’t have to receive such from a stranger. Only a man of God whose call and integrity I can vouch for, should speak into my life. Remember the story of King Uzziah. The prophet was sent to tell him to put his house in order and prepare to die. He turned to the wall and marshaled out his stong arguments. God sent the prophet back to tell him he would not die.

From all these, I concluded that what I bind on earth, is bound in heaven. Whether the man was right or not is inconsequential. I decided not to receive it, and like any package in the mail, I simply sent it back to the sender. Who the sender is, doesn’t matter.

Today, we live in troubled times. Let not your heart be troubled. Do not permit anyone to steal your peace. Those dream interpreters (Joseph dreamed of food and did not die), the people who read meanings into nail scratches on your skin and so on. Stop taking their calls, don’t listen to them.

The peace of God will set up a garrison around your heart, stabilizing your blood pressure and keeping your skin supple. Cheers

16 thoughts on “Return to Sender

    ABC days of being a mom said:
    May 27, 2014 at 10:40 pm

    Amen!
    I also refuse unedifying, panicky, fear ridden so called prophecies.

    God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in times like this…. This is one word God so impressed on my heart today. He is our refuge, just as my daughter runs in between my legs to take cover from someone chasing her, is the way we must always know God is our safety we can hide in him. This is no theology, its TRUTH. Thanks for sharing

    uche said:
    May 28, 2014 at 6:19 am

    God is not an author of Confusion, we should learn unto Him for understanding

    dnddyon said:
    May 28, 2014 at 7:22 am

    God bless you Dr N!
    Simple and straight forward!

    phransea said:
    May 28, 2014 at 8:27 am

    Few months into my pregnancy, my sister called me to tell me that our tenant who did not even know I was pregnant came to her with a message from her ‘prophetess’ that d enemies are fighting against my pregnancy bcos I’m carrying a gr8 child, how I should be careful and all what not. I would not lie I panicked, couldn’t sleep, kept having dreams about miscarriages etc. And then I paused and asked myself some questions, the prophet called my name yh, but am I the only person bearing such name who’s pregnant? Why am I holding on to such negative proclamation? Why am I allowing the devil torment me without even trying? That was when I told my husband y I had been so troubled, we prayed and cancelled and returned back to sender, I felt peace and banished the fear. I’m almost due now, iv had the easiest pregancy so far, it didn’t even slow me down, all my vitals are on point, just waiting for my bundle of joy to come forth. People can fight doesn’t mean I have to concern myself with their fights when it has nothing to do with me.

      drnsmusings responded:
      May 28, 2014 at 5:13 pm

      Particularly in pregnancy, it is important to shut such voices down. Someone called my sis in UK wt such prophecy n asked her for “western union”

        Cate said:
        May 28, 2014 at 7:54 pm

        I got all sorts of dreams and visions during my pregnancy. Someone even dreamt and saw a concrete coffin being made for me. I laughed when I was told and replied that I don’t know when and how I will die but I will NOT die with this pregnancy. I kept praying and praising and declaring that I was coming forth with a healthy baby. Thank God for my son and I m still alive.
        Dr N I totally enjoy ur blog. 1st day I discovered I could not stop reading. I like the way you share your faith and experiences in your practice. More grace to you. Cheers

        drnsmusings responded:
        May 28, 2014 at 7:55 pm

        Thank u dear. Hugs. Thank God we are many O. I felt guilty for ignoring d prophet

    Anonymous Chick said:
    May 29, 2014 at 9:27 am

    Absolutely loved this post.

    So on point. My dear I’ve learnt so much from reading your blog and we indeed have the right to reject and disallow what we don’t want. God Bless you dearie.

      drnsmusings responded:
      May 29, 2014 at 9:25 pm

      Thank u very much for those kind thoughts. I learn from u all

    niki said:
    June 1, 2014 at 7:25 am

    One has to be very careful as the mind is a powerful thing. I think one should not just ignore this ‘prophecy’ but pray for God’s revelation cause you never know. I don’t believe God has to send someone you know to prophecy to you but he will confirm or disconfirm the prophecy. He also communicates with people differently according to their openness and perception.

      drnsmusings responded:
      June 1, 2014 at 12:06 pm

      I like d aspect of asking for revelation. However, fear is of d devil, not God

    tenderonii said:
    June 9, 2014 at 9:56 pm

    WOW,…Oh how I love this post. The church of God have to be aware about thier AUTHORITY IN CHRIST. Thanks so much ma. I’m in love with you,…*winks*,.

Leave a Reply

