Adire 11

Posted on Updated on

Ijeoma was doing the laundry. Magnus was watching a football match while trying to mind the kids. It was a Saturday.

“Honey”, Ij called. “Could you pass me the laundry basket in Jonah’s room, please?”

“O, no, Ij! This is not the right time. 15 minutes more and I’m all yours” he moaned distractedly.

“It is never the right time. Since this premiership started, you have forgotten I exist”, she snapped.

He ignored her. Jonah was trying to act grown up, watching with him. Kevin was drawing on the wall. Ijeoma came out of the bathroom where she was washing, and into the living room.

“What!” she exclaimed. “Kevin! Look what you’ve done”

He had drawn pictures all over the wall. Impressed with his work, he smiled at his mom.

“Magnus, didn’t you see him?” she asked, arms akimbo.

“Huh?”

Ijeoma fumed.

“Mummy, can I have juice?” Jonah asked

“Nkita ta kwa gi ebe ahu!”, she cursed.

He burst into tears and Kevin went over to him to put his arms around him

“Magnus!”, she called again .

“Ijeoma, leave me alone. Just leave me alone”he replied without turning.

“Okay, absentee father. The snake will not fail to deliver a long offspring. You are following your father’s example who abandoned your mother with 3 kids and ran off with another woman” she accused.

“Jonah, please shut it. Daddy is watching a match, okay?”, Magnus spoke to his son with his eyes still on the screen.

Ij made a hissing noise and turned to exit the living room, when there was a power outage. A groan resounded throughout the neighbourhood. Obviously, everyone was watching the match.Magnus sprang up.

“If you are thinking of putting on the generator, there is no fuel in it” she mocked.

“What does that mean? I gave you money to buy some” he asked.

“Yes, but, kevin needed diapers, wipes, and cereal”

He picked his keys from the table and pulled a shirt that had been lying over a dining chair, over his head.

“Where are you going?”

“To watch it elsewhere”he replied

“Really? ”

He left without a word, banging the door behind him. Ijeoma crumpled to the floor, bursting into tears. Kevin and Jonah came to hug her.

“Why are you crying, mummy? ” Jonah asked. “Is Daddy being naughty?”

“Naughty!, naughty!” echoed Kevin.

“Hush. Come to the kitchen and take juice”, she got up and wiped her tears.They whooped for joy and followed her. While they were busy with their drinks, she sat on the couch and sulked.

“Stingy man! I asked for N30000. He made sure he gave me only N10000 and still asked me to fuel the generator from there”, she made a hissing noise as she complained.

Power was restored suddenly, and the children shouted excitedly “Nepa!”

“Do you want to watch cartoons?” she asked

“Yes, Mummy!”

She turned on the set and changed the channel to a kiddie station.

“Come and watch football”, she muttered under her breath. “Onye ara!”

****************************************************

Chike was standing by Ijeoma’s desk at work. She came in and he smiled.

“Good morning, nwanyi di nma”, he greeted

“Good morning, Sir”, she put her bag on the desk and pulled out her chair.

“I came to invite you to a party this weekend”, he extended a card.

She took it, opening it before speaking “Whose birthday is it? I don’t know this person”

“My best friend’s wife. I want you to be my plus 1”

“What! Are you listening to yourself?”

“Onwe ihe di ya? (Anything wrong with that?”, he asked innocently.

“I doubt you are serious. Or are you inviting Magnus and I?”

“That fool doesn’t deserve you. Why would I invite him?”, he dismissed.

“Just leave. I had a rough weekend. Don’t let me take it out on you”

“Take it out on me, please. If that will make you feel better. Ij, I don’t like the way you look these days. You are losing weight. That man is not worthy of you and you know it”

Benita walked in and slapped some files onIjeoma’s desk .

“Good morning, Mr. Chike”, she sneered.

“Hi, Benita. How are you?” he smiled

“Fine. Mrs. Ijeoma, good morning”, her voice dripped with sarcasm.

“Morning, Benita”

Chike waited for her to return to her seat.

“Please think about my request. I really want you to go out, let down your hair, have a good time”

“I’ll think about it. Just go”, she muttered under her breath.

Chike took the hint and left.

“What’s the harm?” Ijeoma thought. “Can’t I go out for once with a man who finds me attractive? I can leave the children with Ndidi. But what do I tell Magnus?”

****************************************************

Ekene and Miriam were in Miriam’s car. Her driver was going to drop Ekene off as her car was undergoing repairs. They were coming from the Wednesday service at Gateway Church of Christ. Both Miriam and Regina were ushers while Ekene was in the decoration team.

“I met a guy on facebook”, Ekene began

“Really? Me, I’m not into the whole social media dating thing”

“It’s funny, he looks like Okenta. You remember Okenta who was in Chemistry department? The one who used to play the keyboard in school? That is why I accepted him as a friend”

“What’s his name? ”

“Frederick”

“And how does Frederick sound like Okenta?”

“I thought it was his English name or something”

Miriam made a hissing noise and turned away

“What? ” asked Ekene

“These small boys on facebook, looking for who to con. He’ll soon start asking you for money”

“Skeptic! Won’t you even ask what he does for a living? ”

“Probably lies. How do you verify his details?”

“I’ll keep the gist for Regina, since you are not interested”

“Keep it for her. You should be asking me about my Lebanese bobo”

“And why would I?”

“He says he wants to marry me”

“I thought he has a wife and 3 children back home?”

“Eh….He’s going to divorce her”

“For your sake?”

“No, O! They were already having problems. Why do you think he fell for me? If their marriage was intact, would he be in my arms every night?”

“Miriam, you need to repent. How did you get to this point? You who used to be so…..”

“So……”

“I mean….”, Ekene gestured with her hands worriedly

“Say that thing you want to say. Say it!”

“Sorry, O!”

“Sorry for yourself! Because I am open. Regina wey carry belle, nobody know till she comot am, nko?”

“That girl is coded sha!” Ekene shrugged.

“Aha!” Miriam threw up her hands.

“That does not change God’s word. We all will give account individually, of our actions”

“Eh, God understands. I make sure I confess my sins every night, in case rapture occurs. I don’t want to be left behind”

“What if Jesus returns while you are in bed with that man?”

“God forbid! It’s not my portion!”

“Seriously? ”

“I am a giver and my seed will speak for me”

“Yeah, your seed will tell Jesus to return at your convenience” Ekene snorted.

“Don’t underestimate the power of giving”

“I am also a giver. That doesn’t mean I can live in disobedience. Even obedience is a seed”

“Holy sister! It is easy for you to say” Miriam mocked

“Why, exactly? ”

“Can we just change the topic already? Regina should have taken you home. I don’t know why I put up with you”

“Probably because we have been friends for too long for me to be afraid of you”

Miriam brought out her smart phone to signal her unwillingness to continue the conversation. Ekene shook her head and leaned back. Silently, she sent up a prayer for her friends that they would find the peace she had found in being single and faithful. Ekene was plump and dark. Her pretty round face gave her an endearing appearance. She was of average height and soft spoken but not in any way timid.

Though 1 year younger than Regina and Miriam, they had all been roommates for years in the university and attended the same fellowship. A friendship was forged that lasted after they graduated, though Regina and Miriam were closer to each other than to her. Ekene had lost several opportunities to be married because she would not compromise. One time, the man involved mocked her that she was no virgin and had no right to be unbending. She replied that she was a new creature and that Christ considered her a virgin.

Of the 3 friends, she was the one who was so unyielding. Miriam did whatever she had to do to get what she wanted. Regina would compromise if the right man came along but so far, he hadn’t. Sometimes, she felt like an outsider because, she took things so seriously.

“And why, Lord, have you not blessed me? They would take my counsel if you had given me my own man. Don’t you think I have waited long enough? ” she thought in the frigid silence as Miriam’s driver navigated the quiet streets that led to her house.

TO BE CONTINUED

Nkita takwa gi ebe ahu : Curse; May you be bitten by a dog.
Nepa : Public power supply company
Onye ara: mad man
Nwanyi di nma: Fine woman
Regina wey carry belle, nobody know till she comot am : How about Regina who hid her pregnancy from us till she aborted it
Coded : secretive.

18 thoughts on “Adire 11

    jcsgrl said:
    July 8, 2014 at 9:05 pm

    Hmnn…interesting facts on Sis Regina. Na wa for our christian sister this days o. Thank God I am not God to judge all these things bcos the matter get K-leg. BTW, I think you meant Ijeoma in your 1st line and not Regina was doing Laundry.
    I have also responded to your post on The Mentor

    brytnex said:
    July 8, 2014 at 10:08 pm

    thanks for the update. Just wish you could put a smile on Ekene’s face

    Anonymous Chick said:
    July 9, 2014 at 10:41 am

    Ijeoma should pls not give in to that Mr. Chike; the guy is too sly.

    Lol @ nepa. That has got to be one of the worst thing about living in Nig. *sigh*. I am still very pissed at nepa for making me miss out on the very electrifying end of a programme I was watching when I visited some months back, and there was no repeat on the prog and so never saw it again Will never forgive nepa for that lol

    Ok doc, next chapter pls…. Thank you šŸ™‚

      drnsmusings responded:
      July 9, 2014 at 4:36 pm

      Errrm, they have rebranded to phcn so feel free to forgive

    ABC days of being a mom said:
    July 9, 2014 at 11:56 am

    Interesting…loving it

    Tii said:
    July 11, 2014 at 5:30 am

    This has been an amazing story so far. I really hope Magnus and Ijeoma get their acts together and their lives back on track. Chike should please go away. He’s only out to use Ij and ultimately ruin her marriage.
    Thumbs up, Dr.

      drnsmusings responded:
      July 11, 2014 at 6:11 am

      Thank u for that. God bless

    niki said:
    July 11, 2014 at 8:45 pm

    I also want a storyline for Ekene. Lol

    Feyi's Dairy said:
    July 15, 2014 at 4:21 am

    Ijeoma is such an angry woman, she should take it easy abeg. Mariam, your miracle is round the corner.

      Feyi's Dairy said:
      July 15, 2014 at 4:23 am

      &Ekene

        Feyi's Dairy said:
        July 15, 2014 at 4:24 am

        Sorry, I meant Ekene and not Mariam. God rewards obedience

      drnsmusings responded:
      July 15, 2014 at 6:48 am

      Singing…There is a miracle on d way….

    Ezinne Ajoku said:
    August 5, 2014 at 10:05 pm

    Lol at I am a giver, my seed will speak for me.

      drnsmusings responded:
      August 5, 2014 at 10:53 pm

      I tells u. Where hast thou been?

Leave a Reply

