Adire 18

Posted on Updated on

Justin and Magnus were hanging out for drinks after work at ked’s bar. Magnus was hungrily downing some pepper soup with his wine. Justin was regaling him with details of his most recent case.

“So we asked our client why he wanted to divorce his wife. Guess what he said”

“What?” Magnus asked.

“She has refused to give me a male child. I have 6 daughters and they are all as ugly as their mother”

Both men laughed heartily.

“‘She was ugly, yet you married her or she became ugly while married to you?’ My principal asked. He said he married her out of pity because she was very industrious as a single girl. She used to fry akara in addition to running a tailoring business” Justin went on

“Lazy man! Probably, her income has dwindled. He wants to find another cash cow”, Magnus speared some of his fish.

“Well, our client wants a divorce, so he gets it”

“How can he afford your firm?”

“It seems his elder sister who never liked the wife, is paying”

“O, I see”

“So how are Ij and the Kids?”

“The kids are fine. Ijeoma and I are living like strangers in the same house”

“What! When did things get that bad?”

“Since she has refused to do what a good wife should, I have hardened my heart. I can’t take her abusive tongue anymore”

“I didn’t see it coming, guy”

“Neither did I. For now, I am building my relationship with Regina. We are taking it one day at a time. I want to get it right this time”

“Wow”

“Wow indeed”

“Regina is a nice girl, sha. I can’t forget the soup we ate in her house last weekend”

“Meanwhile Ij has been starving me. That if I don’t increase housekeeping allowance, she will not cook for me. In my presence, she fed the children and ate, without offering me food”

“Hei!”Justin suympathized.

“I’ve had enough. The amount I give her she has been managing it, O! Just because she knows my salary was increased, she got greedy. She knows I have been planning to change Chibuike’s therapist and relocate them to a better neighbourhood. Momsie has no one to take care of her. That woman suffered to raise us, all 3 of us, after my father left. I cannot allow her lack anything to please any woman” Magnus banged his palm on the table.

“Take it easy man. I know where you are coming from” Justin patted his shoulder.

“She wants to control me. Look at Regina. She’s so understanding. If I have to see her and I don’t make it, she doesn’t make a fuss. Very patient, very caring, that girl is wife material” he asserted.

Justin nodded. ” I know but, divorce is not……”

“So I should continue suffering and smiling?”

“No. Guy, you know I always have your back. Plus I like Regina. Just that….women are unpredictable. They change overnight”, Justin warned.

Magnus snorted. “She can’t be worse than Ij. I deserve some happiness, abeg. Even God knows. Because of my faith, I have not touched the girl. Heaven knows the temptation has been great”

“Guy, you strong O! That girl wey fresh like butter?” Justin exclaimed, pushing Magnus in disbelief.

Magnus shrugged. “I have prayed about it and I believe that God is giving me the go ahead. Even my mother’s pastor confirmed it. She took Regina’s picture to him for prayers and he said that she is the real bone of my bones. That I made a mistake marrying Ijeoma”

“Really? ”

“I’m telling you. So many people are living with the wrong spouse. These things should be confirmed by men of God before we jump in. They see in the spirit”

“What do I know? You’re the one who has always carried this church thing on your head. God of Gateway did this, God of Gateway did that” Justin shook his head.

“You need to repent, man. How long will you refuse to come to church? ”

“I will. The day Pastors stop fleecing people, I will”

“You and money! “Magnus teased

“Money makes the world go round, guy. Money answereth all things”

“Heretic!”

“Let it be!”

****************************************************

Ekene was at Fred’s parents’ house. They had dated for 4 months and he insisted on her meeting them. Of course they were anxious to meet her. It had taken them over 6 years to convince him to take a chance on love. That he not only met someone but, believed her good enough to replace Daramola, his late wife, was music to their ears. As he held the door of his car for her to alight, Ekene calmed the butterflies in her stomach.She was wearing a wrap dress made of pink ankara. It made her look young yet mature and that was how she wanted to be perceived.

Fred’s aunt came to the car to receive them. His father was not far behind. She observed that they must have been sitting outside, as there were chairs arranged around a table with drinks and 2 glasses in a shaded area of the lawn. The house was a 6 bedroom duplex in Ikoyi. Fred’s father was a retired high court judge, while his aunt was a retired pharmacist. He had 2 other sisters who were married and living in the UK. His little sister, Debby, was so much younger because she came as a surprise when their mother had become peri-menopausal.

“Hello, my daughter, Ekene”, his aunt reached for a hug.

Ekene curtsied shyly. “Good afternoon ma”

“You are a very lovely girl. Fred, this girl amaka”, his aunt exclaimed, spinning her around slowly.

“Nwando, let me take her in before you embarrass her”, his dad came to the rescue. “How are you, dear?”

“Fine, Sir. Good afternoon” Ekene mumbled bemused.

Fred’s aunt was still eyeing her form unabashed. “Nne, you have such a lovely figure. Lekwa ukwu!”, she whistled.

Ekene blushed. “Ma?”

Fred stood by proud as a peacock.

“Nna, I na-eme ofuma”, his aunt shook his hand.

“Trust me, now” he smirked.

Ekene eyed him unseen.

“Shall we?”, his dad ushered them in.

The afternoon was passed pleasantly. Ekene was made to feel very welcome and accepted. She kept comparing them to the family of Ibe, her ex. The difference was like night and day. She could not help sending up a prayer of thanks to God for such a reception.

“Darling, I heard you own Pink Crayon?” Fred’s aunt enquired

“Yes, ma”

“He only told me yesterday because he didn’t want me to track you down all this while. I would have got to meet you earlier” she went on.

“Of course I wanted to keep you away from her. Before you spoil things for me”, Fred teased.

“Spoil things? This udara a na-apiwa onu? Impossible! ” his aunt responded.

“I hope my son has made a good impression, O! His father was never a slacker” his dad asked

“Daddy! ” Fred warned.

“What? Let me be sure ”

“Darling, don’t mind these men. Please help me take the plates to the kitchen” Fred’s aunt rose.

“Eh, eh! Why are you sneaking to the kitchen? You want to interrogate her?” Fred asked.

“Biko, Nne, let’s go” she put an arm around Ekene as they left for the kitchen.

When they were out of earshot, she shut the kitchen door.

“Darling, how has it been? Hope he has been good to you? Does he call you often? Does he buy you gifts? Does he take you out?” question after question tumbled out.

Ekene mumbled something to the effect that he was making a favorable impression.

“My daughter, don’t be nervous, okay. You are in good hands. We have prayed for this day for years. Please, let your heart be at rest. We have accepted you like a daughter”

“Thank you mummy”

“Let me call his sisters to speak to you”, she had Ekene’s two hands in hers all the while, carressing them as she spoke.

Ekene began to suspect that it was from her that Fred got his tendency to be physical. From the time they met, his aunt was either rubbing her hands, or stroking her hair, or patting her cheeks, or winking at her. At first, she was uncomfortable but, she soon warmed to her. She was a plump and pretty woman in her 50s. Fred’s aunt dialled on her phone.

“Njide, speak to Ekene, Fred’s wife” , she said before handing her the phone.

Ekene quelled the nervousness she felt as she took the phone from her. She was as pleasant as her aunt, reassuring her of how welcome she was to the family. She also got to speak to the 2nd sister, Nkoli, who was even more effusive. That one got details of her shoe and dress sizes, promising to send her a package as soon as possible. Shortly after, Fred came to reclaim her. They had spent the entire day with his parents and it was getting late.

“Aunty, we have to go. She’ll call you tomorrow”, he cajoled.

“Why not tonight? ”

“It’s 9pm! When will she get home?” He protested.

Turning to Ekene, she instructed, “Call me, darling, when you get home. I don’t care what time it is. You have made my day”

“Thank you ma”

“It shall be well with you. You are blessed. The lines have fallen to you in pleasant places. The light of God is shining on you. Doors are open to you. In Jesus name!” She laid a hand on her shoulder as she prayed.

Ekene said Amen, holding back tears. Fred’s dad walked over and squeezed a bundle of money into her hands.

“Buy yourself something nice, dear daughter” he whispered.

“Daddy, you didn’t have to”, She protested.

He brushed her protests off as Fred took her hand.

“We’ll be leaving. Goodnight Aunty, dad”

“Goodnight dear”, they chorused.

****************************************************

Regina woke up in a cold sweat. She had had the nightmare about Pastor Dennis and her aborted fetus again. This time, the bloody, hideous creature was crying and calling her name. She woke up screaming. Her 1st thought was to call Magnus. It didn’t even occur to her to check the time.

“Hello”, he answered groggily.

“Magnus”, She was breathless.

“What is it? Are you okay?”, he sat up, alert.

“I am afraid. I can’t sleep. My baby….. My baby….”, She moaned.

Magnus got up and took the phone to the sitting room. He looked at the clock. It was 3am.

“It’s well. Calm down. It’s just a dream. Take a deep breath”, he tried to soothe her.

“He was calling my name……”, She panted, chest heaving.

“It’s a nightmare” he reassured.

“Why can’t it stop? Almost every night? Am I the worst of sinners? Am I?”

“I’m coming over right away. I don’t think you should be alone right now”, he was pulling on his clothes which he had gone back to the bedroom to pick, as he spoke.

“You’re coming over?”

“Yes”

“Thank you”, she sighed.

He picked up his car keys and opened the front door. It didn’t even occur to him to wake Ijeoma up to tell her he was going out.

*******************************************************************************************************************************************************

TO BE CONTINUED.

* Fred this girl amaka : Fred this girl is so lovely

* Lekwa ukwu : Check out her hips

* Nna I na – eme ofuma : Son, you have an eye for good things

* This udara a na-apiwa onu : This comely girl

* Biko : Please

19 thoughts on “Adire 18

    Tii said:
    July 28, 2014 at 10:39 am

    And so Magnus heads over…
    Now questions plague my mind. What ifs???
    The marriage is headed for d rocks and they would both make grave mistakes if they don’t iron out their issues

      drnsmusings responded:
      July 28, 2014 at 10:43 am

      Magnus d knight in shining……

        Tii said:
        July 28, 2014 at 10:44 am

        …definitely not an armour here.
        His armour should be for his family, not the outsider.

    namesake said:
    July 28, 2014 at 11:10 am

    Magnus is just being foolish. I would rather focus on Ekene. Her story in this episode kept me smiling. Well done, Dr N!

      drnsmusings responded:
      July 28, 2014 at 11:12 am

      Hahaha. Who is foolish? Ij or Magnus? Aren’t u biased? Lol. # runs away#

      E' said:
      July 27, 2015 at 1:17 pm

      Exactly. Awwww. I could see this in pictures. Sooooo beautiful. My!!! What a welcome. Wow!!! I should take notes for the future if Jesus tarries

        drnsmusings responded:
        July 27, 2015 at 6:34 pm

        E I think u would behave exactly like Fred’s aunt u know. Lol. Def similar personalities

    Tohmee said:
    July 28, 2014 at 11:22 am

    I see TROUBLE brewing. The marriage covenant is being broken…How did things get to this point? Dr N yaff come again o. Nne my heart is in my mouth o.

      drnsmusings responded:
      July 28, 2014 at 12:06 pm

      How did things get to this point? That’s d moral of d story.

    adefunke62 said:
    July 28, 2014 at 12:41 pm

    Jst imagine, leaving ur wife at dt tym without any prior info

    ABC days of being a mom said:
    July 28, 2014 at 2:02 pm

    Hmm married man going to a single woman at 3am to comfort? Abi na comforter or Holy spirit? well… I am watching

    Anonymous Chick said:
    July 28, 2014 at 3:23 pm

    “Even my mother’s pastor confirmed it” – huh?! @ Magnus. But some pastors sha smh.

    So happy for Ekene. Good things come indeed to those who wait on The Lord.

    Magnus would have been perfect for Regina if only he was single. Once agin it shows how easy it is for married people to slip and get into affairs. ,arrange is indeed a long and ongoing walk and one has to intentionally and purposefully determine that their marriage will work.

    Thanks doc. Next please 🙂

      drnsmusings responded:
      July 28, 2014 at 4:32 pm

      Lol @next pls. Let me catch my breath

    dnddyon said:
    July 28, 2014 at 5:20 pm

    Let me happily rejoice with Ekene jo… It is a good thing indeed to be truly accepted and welcome into your in-laws’ home!
    *I am excited jo*

    Erm, please what is wrong with Magnus?! ‘Tiz well oh!

    Alright, Dr N, hope you’re also happy for Ekene? Lol

    Well done!

      drnsmusings responded:
      July 28, 2014 at 7:39 pm

      Sure I’m happy for her

    itstamie said:
    January 26, 2015 at 8:39 am

    Please no comma should arise about Fred…am very happy for ekene.

    As for dede magnus…no words.

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 26, 2015 at 4:18 pm

      No comma, I promise. Lol

Leave a Reply

