Adire 23

Posted on

Hi everyone, the story continues from the conversation Ekene and Ndidi(Ijeoma’s sister) were having. Enjoy.

*******************************************************************************************************************************************************

“But I hope you have set aside all qualms about him being a widower? At least he doesn’t have a child”

“My sister” Ekene let out a sigh

“Get over yourself. You want a 40 year old virgin?”

“But…..”

“Forget it. This guy who loves you so much, you know that you know that you know!”

Ekene laughed.

“Don’t people tell you? He can’t keep his eyes off you and he lets any woman in the room know he is taken. That’s husband material, girl!” She reached across and hi-fived Ekene.

“How is your sister? ” Ekene asked.

“Please keep praying for her. She is having issues in her marriage. Let God make it possible for she and her husband to lay their pride aside and work things out”

“I will keep praying”

“Thanks. I know God has heard us”

They got up to leave as Ekene was meeting Fred for a birthday party being thrown for one of his uncles.

****************************************************

Regina was at work. Her secretary called to say she had a visitor.

“Who?”

“He says his name is Osas, from Gavin Decor”

“Osas? I don’t remember him. Well, let him in. Maybe Gavin sent him”

Osas walked in shortly after. He was of average height and build, dark and homely.

“Good morning” he greeted, coming forward to shake hands.

“Morning. I don’t remember any appointment……”

“No, I just stopped to say hello. I actually came to deliver some documents from my MD”

“O. I’m sorry but, have we met?” She inclined her head thoughtfully.

“At Chief Benson’s house? Few weeks ago?”

“Really? Okay, I didn’t remember”

“That’s fine. May I sit down? ” he pointed at the chair.

“O, I assumed you were in a hurry”She raised a brow

“I am not. Actually, it’s lunch time and I thought we could get a bite to eat”

“Huh?”

“Lunch? Me and you?” he smiled.

She inspected him, in his green plaid shirt, black trousers, brown loafers, and unremarkable face. What exactly would be the point of this lunch? She would have to smile and pretend to be amused by him, when she actually wished he could get lost!

“I’m sorry but, I’m busy” She refused.

“Ouch! I was so looking forward to this”

“O”

“Or is there someone who would be offended? A boyfriend perhaps? ”

“Isn’t that rather personal? I try to keep my private life private” She snapped.

“I apologise. I was just taken with you that day we met, your work ethic and your pretty face. I guess I was hoping we could be friends”

“Osas, right?”

“Yes, mam”

“Maybe I should get back to work. I really have so much to do” she was tapping a pencil on her desk.

“That’s fine. It was nice to see you again. Have a good day”, he threw a playful salute and left.

She sighed as he shut the door. “Hmm, the agony of being single!” she thought. “How much is this one earning now that he wants to take Regina out? Someone they just employed. He won’t send the money to his parents in the village. It is to buy rice and chicken for Regina. Tomorrow he’ll start asking me for money!”

She closed her laptop with a snap and got up to use the bathroom. As far as she was concerned, he was small fry.

****************************************************

Regina and friends were chatting after service at Gateway. They were at the back of the church, munching on pastry they had bought and having a laugh. Miriam was telling them about a funny incident at work.

“Hello, ladies!”, Magnus greeted.

“Hello!” they responded. “I see you are enjoying yourselves”

“Yeah. Join us?” Regina offered.

“No, I just came to say hello”

“Madam didn’t come to church?”, Miriam asked.

“She did. She’s picking the kids from their classes”

“Okay”

“So how was the weekend?”

“Great and yours?” Miriam replied.

“Awesome. Regina, could I speak to you for a minute?” he asked.

She rose and stepped away from them to converse with him. Ijeoma showed up 10minutes later.

“Good afternoon” Regina greeted her. She replied cordially. Regina stooped and began to chat with Jonah and Kevin. Magnus and Ijeoma stood by, wearing fake smiles.

“We’ll be on our way. Good to see you again”, Ijeoma waved.

Magnus lifted Kevin in his arms and took his bag in the other. “Alright. Have a good day” he called.

Regina waved.

Miriam and Ekene were watching the entire exchange.

“Is that Magnus’ wife?” Ekene asked.

“Yep!”

“I can’t believe it! She doesn’t suspect a thing”

“Uh huh”

“And she’s so pretty. Look at that bone structure, her slim hips, after 2 children!”

“Yep!”

“Why is Magnus looking outside?”

“The lure of the unknown”

“I thought they had cooled things off” Ekene asked.

“They did for a while. Magnus borrowed N1m from her and lost the money. She’s probably using it to buy his attention” Miriam stated.

“What! N1m! Why would she give him such an amount of money? ”

“To keep him as her lap dog”

Regina joined them at this point. “So where are we having lunch, ladies? Did you cook, Ekene?” she asked.

“Regina, hapu m” Ekene frowned.

“Any problem?”

“Seeing you with that man churns my stomach. I can’t bear it” she folded her arms across her chest.

“Judgemental much? ” Regina raised a brow, then turned to Miriam. “Mimi, biko, what is there in your house?”

“I’m following Ekene home. There is a CV she’s supposed to give me”

“CV?” both Ekene and Regina asked.

“Yeah. The one you told me a pastor taught on”

“O, that” Ekene remembered.

“I’m lost here” Regina spoke up.

“It’s not for you. You have already found your own man. It is for people like us who are single and searching” Miriam mocked.

“Take your time” Regina scolded.

“Why? Look at what you are doing to that family? Why should I ‘take my time’?”She mimicked her voice.

Regina rose and picked up her bag. “I don’t have time for haters”

“Faithful are the wounds of a friend” Ekene warned.

“Get out!” Regina snapped.

“The wise love correction” Ekene pulled at her ear.

“Mtchewww!” Regina hissed and pushing the chairs out of her way, stalked out.

“Let her go. I am tired of that her drama. Now I know how you girls felt when I kept mooning about Amil.

It must have been disgusting” Miriam shook her head sadly.

“I prayed night and day for it to scatter” Ekene laughed.

“My eyes have cleared. It was like I was under a spell”

“Was it his blue eyes, do you think?” Ekene teased.

“I can’t even understand why I was crazy about him. Really, he was even unremarkable in bed”

“Miriam!” Ekene exclaimed, clamping her hand over her mouth.

“And uncircumcised! ”

“What! I’ve heard enough. Please, don’t corrupt the anointing I received from the service today” Ekene was waving her hands before her face as though to dispel the information.

Miriam laughed.

“Sis. Monica, my counsellor, was wearing this lovely adire dress today. It reminded me of something she always says. We Christians are always looking for good things outside the kingdom. Just like Nigerians prefer imported stuff to locally made goods, like the adire. Meanwhile, God has given us all things that are necessary for life and godliness” Miriam sermonized.

“That’s deep” Ekene held her chin thoughtfully.

“God is all we need to have all our needs met. All, that is, financial, sexual, emotional, name it”

“Wow!”

“I have really seen that the kingdom has provision for me, so I will wait for God to take care of me” Miriam had tears in her eyes.

Ekene reached across and hugged her. No words were needed.

*******************************************************************************************************************************************************

Hapu m : Leave me alone

Adire : A locally made tie/dye fabric

Thanks for reading and do leave a comment by clicking on the title. I will update weekly and if I don’t, thank u for understanding.
PS: Do send me an email via drnsmusings@yahoo.com about myths and old wives’ tales in health care and pregnancy. I will do a post to debunk the false myths.

Cheers
Dr. N

26 thoughts on “Adire 23

    dnddyon said:
    August 29, 2014 at 5:39 pm

    You did this while in Omugwo? God bless you *hugs*
    How are you recuperating?
    And how is your son?

    Nice story by the way!

      drnsmusings responded:
      August 29, 2014 at 5:45 pm

      Thanks. Omugwo is enjoyment O! U put up your feet n everyone serves u. Lol. Thanks

    Tii said:
    August 29, 2014 at 5:50 pm

    i lack words. wish i could set Regina and Magnus up with Ijeoma

    hrh7 said:
    August 29, 2014 at 6:25 pm

    “GOD has given us all things that we need for life and godliness”. Most soul catching line in the story

    exceptionalstar said:
    August 29, 2014 at 7:00 pm

    When will Regina eyes open?

    ABC days of being a mom said:
    August 30, 2014 at 5:45 pm

    Too many things to comment on but I’d just say I like the way its going 🙂 😉

    Feyi's Dairy said:
    August 30, 2014 at 10:19 pm

    Interesting episode…so I was right about the meaning of Adire!
    How are you Dr N and your baby?

      drnsmusings responded:
      August 30, 2014 at 10:26 pm

      We’re fantastic! Cheers

    temmy said:
    September 1, 2014 at 9:40 am

    God bless u 4 dis piece….love to baby

    Reformed silent reader said:
    September 1, 2014 at 11:00 am

    Yay!! my CV is on its way!!
    The nuggets of wisdom in this post were a word in season for me, thank you.
    Have a fantastic week Dr N, and all the lovely readers. May God bless you and your families. 🙂

      drnsmusings responded:
      September 1, 2014 at 5:49 pm

      Thanks. Have a sweet september 2

    anwuli said:
    September 2, 2014 at 12:19 pm

    Dr N, a big congrats on your little one, may God be with you both, and you entire household.

    Please take as much time as you need off. A post a week seems quite often, please take all the time you need, we will be patient 🙂

      drnsmusings responded:
      September 2, 2014 at 4:46 pm

      Thanks for that. I’m actually bored. Not easy doing housewife tins. Lol.

    LYNDALICIOUS said:
    September 2, 2014 at 6:29 pm

    Hi Dr, reading ur blog has been so inspiring, and am so hooked. Just love Ekene and hope Regina shine her eyes well well. First time commenting, i even read some other old prose so interesting. You are such an amazing writer. Keep it up and take care of you and the baby.

      drnsmusings responded:
      September 2, 2014 at 9:07 pm

      Thanks Lynda. Great to hear from you. Cheers

        adaeze said:
        September 3, 2014 at 1:06 pm

        hi Doc, i really am enjoying this story. there is so much that today’s christian ladies can learn from it. in these days when the world and even some church-goers are saying something totally different from what the spirit is saying. more grace to your pen and more inspiration to your mind.

        drnsmusings responded:
        September 3, 2014 at 4:48 pm

        Thanks Ada! God bless

    niki said:
    September 6, 2014 at 1:40 am

    Love where this is going. Im happy for miriam. Seems like she is really going to ‘surulere’

      drnsmusings responded:
      September 6, 2014 at 9:43 am

      All Dr. Sid on us yeah? Lol

    Ezinne Ajoku said:
    September 18, 2014 at 1:44 pm

    Lolll @unremarkable face. Many a woman miss their way in marriage because they are utterly consumed with the face. God help us.

      drnsmusings responded:
      September 18, 2014 at 4:54 pm

      Fine boy, no character

Leave a Reply

