Adire 31

Posted on

Justin and Magnus were checking out a house for rent. Justin and his family were considering moving and both friends used the opportunity to catch up. The agent showing them the house, Tuoyo, was an old acquaintance.

“Guy, na so them carry my matter reach pastor ear O! You can’t believe it”, Magnus was narrating.

“Seriously? Women are complex, man. I don’t know why God created them”, Justin scratched his head.

“Ehe, the world should have only been populated with guys. How would you have been born?”, Tuoyo scoffed.

“God would have come up with something. Better still, he should have made them act like us. I mean, sometimes they just drive you nuts”, Justin insisted.

“Look at Ijeoma, telling Pastor that I’m stingy, and inconsiderate. Can you imagine that?”, Magnus asked, stepping over some unused tiles.

“Be careful, guy, there are so many sharp objects on the floor”, Tuoyo warned.

“Women dream of controlling our money. I think they wish we would work and surrender our pay check to them, so they can squander it on fashion”, Justin laughed.

The three men laughed.

“My wife has no idea how much I earn, man. I don’t intend to tell her, too. Not my bank details, investments, or other financial information”, Justin continued.

“I give Ijeoma everything I can afford. Those I can’t, I expect her to pay for by herself. After all, what a man can do…….”, Magnus said.

“T, how much is the rent here”, Justin asked.

“N2.5 million”

“It’s just 2 bedrooms”, Justin remarked, opening the wardrobes in the master bedroom to inspect.

“The area is high brow”, Tuoyo defended.

“Guy, wetin you need pool, gym, and tennis court for? Let’s go and inspect houses within your budget”, Magnus suggested.

“What does Regina have to say about all this?”, Justin asked

“She’s strong, men. We’re in this together”, he replied.

“You, sha, na wa. I mean, I’ve had a few affairs but, I don’t get emotionally involved. The drama is just too much. At the end of the day, the devil you know is better”, Justin shrugged.

“My wife is not a devil O!”, Tuoyo said.

“See you. She hasn’t showed her true colours”, Magnus mocked.

“He’s a learner, now. Is it not 2 years ago that you got married?”, Justin asked, slapping his shoulder.

“I’m not a saint man but I don’t do that ‘ish'”,he shrugged, locking the door as they exited the flat.

“We have heard”, Justin scoffed.

They were making their way down the stairs to Tuoyo’s car. Since they rejected the flat, he was going to take them to another.

“My brother in law infected my only sister with HPV”, Tuoyo explained.

“What’s that?”, Magnus asked.

“Human papilloma virus. It’s sexually transmitted. She had been putting up with his unfaithfulness for years, never complaining. He used to bribe her with cars and other luxurious gifts whenever she caught him red handed”

“You see? No disrespect to your sis but, women can be fish brained sha”, Justin laughed.

“She died of Cervical cancer 4 years ago”, Tuoyo stated sadly.

They paused in the parking lot, suddenly sober.

“I’m sorry, man”, Magnus placed a hand on his shoulder.

“I’m sorry. That was low of me”, Justin apologized.

“That day I got the phone call, I wanted to skin her husband alive”, his eyes were misty with tears as he stared into space. “My mom reminded me of her 4 children, who needed at least 1 parent alive. It’s so painful that he is alive while my sister is dead”

“So sad”, Magnus shook his head.

“I swore never to cheat on my wife. No woman deserves to go through what my sister did. I don’t care if she’s a bitch or a shrew, I ain’t putting her through that”, he concluded.

Magnus and Justin were silent, deep in thought, while he began to pat his pockets for his keys.

Chapter 17

Ndidi was conversing with Ekene on phone.

“I realize you find it difficult to believe me but, I am truly sorry about everything”, Ekene pleaded.

“You know how much I was pained by my sister’s marital issues. I even asked you to pray with me. Yet, you and your friend were the thorn in our sides, all the while”, she accused.

“I tried to convince her to walk away. There’s nothing I didn’t do. At a time, I threatened to expose her”

“Ehe, and what was the result?”

“Please, let this not come between us. Even if we can’t be friends, let’s part on peaceful terms”

“I’m not sure I can forgive you, Ekene. You stabbed me in the back”

“What can I do to make it right?”

“Nothing. I only called to tell you how I feel. We are not friends, you hear me? You don’t know me. We don’t talk to each other!” Ndidi ended the call angrily.

****************************************************

Magnus was summoned by the principal partners at his law firm. All week, there had been a review of the performance of all the solicitors in the firm. Subomi Olajide, Ikechi Echejile, and Layefa Spike, were seated around the conference table. Also present were their personal assistants, and Secretaries.

8 of the solicitors had been promoted to become partners over the years. This was the position Magnus had worked and prayed for for years. Though he had been promoted twice, he was still junior to at least 3 of those employed at the same time as he was. After the review, 1 person had been let go and 2 promoted. He desperately believed he would be among those promoted. Already, he had done a 3 day fast. He had also met Pastor Ekpiken to pray for him and sowed a seed by faith.

Ijeoma and he were undergoing the counselling sessions, weekly. Regina was also being counselled. He believed that with the promotion, he only had to complete the 3 months, then he could divorce Ijeoma and marry Regina. The pastors had informed them that after 3 months, if they were still adamant, they would release them to get a divorce. Presently, he and Ijeoma were co-tenants, not lovers. The children were couriers when he needed to pass a message to her. He noticed that they adjusted to the change, probably seeing it as a game. Besides, it was better than arguing before them. He knew they would love Regina. She was good with children and would be far more patient with them than Ijeoma who was fond of snapping at them for no reason.

“They’ll see you now”, the secretary announced.

He rose, buttoned his jacket and made for the conference room. Greeting each person with a handshake, he smiled confidently. Magnus knew he had this in the bag.

****************************************************

Ekene and Fred were supposed to meet at his hospital cafeteria for lunch. It had been a hectic week for him and he asked her to meet him there. Rather than let the week go without seeing her, he pleaded with her to join him. They ordered a healthy meal. Rather than criticize Ekene who was overweight when they met, Fred adopted the method of ordering nutritious low calorie meals when they ate together. He went jogging with her every morning he could spare and they enrolled in the same gym.

By praising her appearance constantly, he gave her the courage to work towards her target weight. Whenever she complained that she was too fat, he would highlight her best features. If she compared herself to Regina who was slim, he would pretend to be angry, until she said something flattering about herself. He taught her to speak well of her body and be grateful. Soon, excercising and eating healthy became a norm for her, rather than a burden.

Her clothes became loose, her double chin disappeared, her arms toned, and her abdomen trimmer. She was far from skinny but she was glowing with good health. Even Regina and Miriam were in awe.

“Kene m, I missed you all week”, Fred said, as they dug into their meal.

“I missed you too”, she sighed.

“They’re riding me hard. I can’t wait to become a consultant. It’s getting too much”, he complained.

“After your exam next month….”

“Yes, O! I can’t wait”, he rubbed his hands eagerly.

“Neither can I. I need more time with my man”, she purred.

“Ke udi dangerous voice di ihe a?(What kind of dangerous voice is that? “, he joked. “You want to put me in trouble? ”

“No O!”, she protested in false innocence. “That’s how I talk normally”

“Biko, don’t set me up” “Ha ha ha”, she laughed.

Reaching for her hand across the table, he narrowed his eyes, “Sometimes, I get tired of waiting. I wish I could rush you to the courthouse and into my bed”

“Am I not worth the wait?”, she teased.

“Very much so, darling. Very much so”, he caressed the hand he was holding.

“My mom can’t stop planning how to speed up things. Since she met you, her question is, what is holding things up. In her words, “O gini ji nkita onwu?” Ekene said.

They both laughed.

“I told her we are to start marriage counselling soon and it will last 4 months. Only then can we set a date”, Ekene continued.

“She must have screamed”, he interjected.

“You know her well. ‘Do you know you are heading to 35?’, she screamed. Either she forgets my age, or she just likes to exaggerate”

“Moms! They worry so much! ”

“On a serious note, what if we have issues with fertility? “, she asked, suddenly sober.

“I’m a doctor, honey. We will cross that bridge when we get to it. If it requires IVF, surrogacy, adoption, whatever, we are in it together. You already know how my folks feel about you. Don’t worry about it”, he squeezed her hand.

“I love you so much”, she smiled.

“I love you too, babe. You’re my sunshine”, he blew her a kiss and she giggled.

****************************************************

Ekene and Miriam had given account of their role in the matter the Pastors were handling. Pastor Ekpiken had called them for a second meeting, during which he and Adio advised them that they should have let the Director of Ushering know what was going on. They defended themselves that Regina initially gave the impression that it was a platonic relationship and they did not see it progressing to an affair. Having ascertained that they did not encourage their friend, they were let off the hook.

Miriam was therefore, very surprised, when she got a call from the church office, summoning her to Adio’s office. She arrived during her lunch break and was ushered into his office.

“Good day, Pastor Adio”, she greeted.

“Good day, Miriam. Thank you for coming”, he rose and gave her a hug.

She placed her bag on the floor and took the seat he offered her.

“I hope all is well? Pastor Ekpiken told me that we were off the hook”

“It’s not about Bro. Magnus and his wife”, Adio reassured her.

She let out a sigh of relief. It had been 2 months and she was honestly tired of the matter. She noticed that he was fidgety and anxious. Perhaps he needed a loan from her bank. She had had to arrange such for some of the pastors when they needed to finance major personal projects.

“I know this may come as a surprise to you” he began.

She smiled.

“I have not been able to get you off my mind since the last time we had a meeting with you”, he let out.

***************************************************************************************************************************************

TO BE CONTINUED.

Do leave your thoughts by clicking on the title. I know y’all noticed how long this post is? Lol. Cheers, Dr. N

48 thoughts on “Adire 31

    Silent reader said:
    October 25, 2014 at 6:30 pm

    Ahhhhh! Miriam’s time has come *bbm dancing smiley* At last! And with a Pastor too….!

    The fear of getting infections from a husband is the beginning of wisdom. It makes you ignore the proposals of the handsome bobo with the sweet tongue who’s already showing signs that he’ll be unfaithful, for the quiet brother in church who has eyes for you only! When you see women who say they got diseases from their husbands in clinic, it almost breaks your heart.

    As for Magnus, Dr N, thank you for the suspense oh! *side eye*. I can’t wait to see if you’re gonna give him African Magic Yoruba – kinda justice or you’ll let him off nicely.

    Fred’s love for Ekene sha…..that’s Agape + Eros + Phileo combined. Can’t remember the 4th one.

    Thanks for the long post Ma. Going back to my books which I abandoned for this. Love love your writing.

    Silent reader said:
    October 25, 2014 at 6:33 pm

    Ahhhhh! Miriam’s time has come *bbm dancing smiley* At last! And with a Pastor too….!

    The fear of getting infections from a husband is the beginning of wisdom. It makes you ignore the proposals of the handsome bobo with the sweet tongue who’s already showing signs that he’ll be unfaithful, for the quiet brother in church who has eyes for you only! When you see women who say they got diseases from their husbands in clinic, it almost breaks your heart.

    As for Magnus, Dr N, thank you for the suspense oh! *side eye*. I can’t wait to see if you’re gonna give him African Magic Yoruba – kinda justice or you’ll let him off nicely.

    Fred’s love for Ekene sha…..that’s Agape + Eros + Phileo combined. Can’t remember the 4th one.

    Thanks for the long post Ma. Going back to my books which I abandoned for this. Love love your writing.

    P.S – Another post before the end of October pls. As a birthday present to all October babies in the house.

    P.P.S – Kisses to your baby.

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 25, 2014 at 6:49 pm

      You do know Oct ends soon, rt? Your comment made me smile. Cheers

    dnddyon said:
    October 25, 2014 at 7:07 pm

    it keeps getting interesting

    Fola said:
    October 25, 2014 at 7:33 pm

    I didn’t notice the post is long o. I can’t wait for more.
    I wonder why we allow small issues degenerate badly and get out of control.
    I love the message Ekene’s character portrays: those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength. Same can also be said of Miriam (she didn’t ‘die’ in her sins; instead, she dusted herself and went back to God).
    Ijeoma! I won’t ask that a wpman shouldn’t divorce. After all, she’s the one wearing the shoes and only she knows where it pinches. However, she should place the well being of her kids above her personal preferences/desires.
    I have no words for Regina.

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 25, 2014 at 8:03 pm

      E no long reashhhh? *side eye*. Lol

    Lizzieebunoluwa said:
    October 25, 2014 at 7:46 pm

    Hmm…fingers crossed….

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 25, 2014 at 8:04 pm

      Crossed for who? *Evil grin*

    Frances Okoro said:
    October 25, 2014 at 9:30 pm

    Funny how e nor long to me oh…
    I got to the end and was looking for more.searching the blog as if one corner dey wey I never see.
    *sigh* yes I am an oliver twist.

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 25, 2014 at 10:45 pm

      *sticks tongue out* Ntorr!

    adaeze said:
    October 25, 2014 at 10:32 pm

    Ekene and Fred’s love is tripping me jorr, cant wait for their wedding. Love should make one become the best of themselves there is.
    Pls pretty pls let Miriam and the good Pastor u know… hehehe. As for Magnus and Regina, I pray they separate before its too late. Tuoyo is right, no woman or man deserves to be cheated on. if every partner thought this way, we wont have any marital infidelity issues.
    *arms crossed waiting for the next episode*

      adaeze said:
      October 25, 2014 at 10:40 pm

      btw, Fred encouraging Ekene is an awesome thing. A close friend lost 35kg largely through her fiance’s encouragement. she never knew she had so much courage and determination but he could see that in her. mehn, the babe is glowing like Ekene :))

        drnsmusings responded:
        October 25, 2014 at 10:48 pm

        Yes, ladies who are overweight do not need to be reminded of d parts that jiggle n wiggle. Better to celebrate their eyes, glossy hair, long legs, etc. Wt d boost in esteem comes motivation to diet n exercise

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 25, 2014 at 10:45 pm

      I agree eith Tuoyo. Strongly

    nikeaduke said:
    October 26, 2014 at 7:12 am

    Yaayyy! Finally, God wants to compensate Miriam. God doesn’t forget anyone and has good plans for everyone. We only need to surrender our all to Him and acknowledge that we can’t do anything without Him. I like what’s going on between Fred and Ekene. Well done, Dr. N.

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 26, 2014 at 11:51 am

      Yay with u, dear. Thanks

    LYNDA said:
    October 26, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    Magnus should look at the bright side, this issue they have i pray will bring them together. No man or woman deserve to be cheated on and the love between Ekene and fred is really the kind that you get when go into a relationship putting God first. Finally love came calling to mariam don’t you just love, love can’t wait for my olowoori to come my way. Stay bless Dr N.

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 26, 2014 at 6:57 pm

      Indeed, can’t wait for my IV too. Thanks

    Lanre said:
    October 27, 2014 at 1:00 am

    Dear Dr Sis Mrs N..

    u sure write well u know? really like the flow of and the castings of the characters.it gives the “everyday people effect” to the story

    very happy for Miriam nd dose love-birds. Na Regina I pity pass. Magnus will always find a way of crawling back to his wife nd family Co’s I have a feeling he’s @ the Bema seat already … where Reggie go con go *smh*.

    And also let it be known to you that you are doing a great job here. God bless your mind and ur pen.

    Sincerely Yours
    Lanre

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 27, 2014 at 5:58 pm

      1 question. Are u a man? Thanks for d kind comments.God bless u

        Lanre said:
        October 27, 2014 at 9:25 pm

        Answer to the 1 question….. YES!!!

    niki said:
    October 27, 2014 at 1:34 am

    Haha.. was i the only one that though pst Adio was married. I thought he wanted an affair. Lol. Great job as usual doc. I need more!

    Anonymous Chick said:
    October 27, 2014 at 6:19 am

    Noticed the post was long but it sha felt short as you’re really good at keeping us in suspense 🙂

    I have a feeling that Magnus will not come out of that meeting smiling; and yay for Miriam and pastor Adio – I so see the two of them hitting it off nicely. As for Regina, if she insists on being rebellious and stubborn, she might miss God’s best for her.

    Thanks Doc.

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 27, 2014 at 4:32 pm

      Beta person! Long post like that. *side eye for some ppl*

    exceptionalstar said:
    October 27, 2014 at 8:13 am

    I’m so happy for Miriam. I bet she’ll get all weepy after leaving the office.

    Tansi said:
    October 27, 2014 at 6:28 pm

    I always look forward to Adire. Thank you Dr N, for being such an amazing writer. I stumbled on your blog and stayed up late reading your previous stories and I’ve been hooked since. Unfortunately I’ve been one of those silent readers but had to leave a comment today. I love how ekene and Fred’s relationship brings out the best in both of them. I pray for something like that. Yay for Miriam, God surely works at his own time. As for Magnus, Regina and ijeoma love triangle, I think Magnus losing his job will be the beginning of the end of that affair. Thank you so much for being such an amazing writer, God bless you.
    P.s It was definitely a long post though it actually felt short as the suspence was too much.

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 27, 2014 at 8:40 pm

      Hi, Tansi. Thanks for breaking the silence. I appreciate you reading. God bless

    funmi said:
    October 28, 2014 at 8:42 am

    dr N ohhhhh…this post was not lonnnnggg ohhhh
    please naaa….I agree with the person who said another post before October runs out ohh
    and yes we know end of the month is round the corner…see it as bonanza…loooool
    but chai! they that wait on the Lord ehn…this post has caused me to reflect and think…the Lord is my muscle…
    my love to the family

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 28, 2014 at 4:55 pm

      Bonanza? Kikikiki, laughs in Spanish. Lukatew!

    Bellaoma said:
    October 29, 2014 at 2:30 pm

    Dr. N, Ehn kwa!!! The post was not long o! As i was just tightening my seat belt to enjoy the ride na im I see bus stop!!! *crying* eez not fair o!! But you do well sha…*shines teeth*
    Every time I read a part about Magnus and Ij I keep asking myself if that marriage will ever get better? Is it even worth saving? Will there ever be complete forgiveness on both parts? There seems to be no drop of love left on both sides!!! I am always so mad at both of them!!! *sighs* Only God can do it sha…….
    P.S my comment is longer than the post sef *tongue out* *runs off*

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 29, 2014 at 4:32 pm

      Nne, d comment long no be small. Lol. *shinesteeth*
      I hope God’s live is enough for healing

    kaycee said:
    October 29, 2014 at 5:23 pm

    Wow! Long post Dr N but I too was hoping it wouldn’t end more so I was reading it in traffic! Confession: I’m beginning to get irritated with Ijeoma already. And Regina and Magnus too. Hmmn. They(Magnus and Ijeoma) both cheated on each other each as grieve some as the other. But Regina needs some true true love that will make her know her past matters no more… I’m waiting patiently. Great job ma

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 29, 2014 at 5:42 pm

      Thanks for d patience. Lol

    Kunbi said:
    October 30, 2014 at 3:49 pm

    Awwww Miriam!!! Waiting “impatiently” for the next installment!!!

    Hardethaewoh said:
    October 31, 2014 at 10:46 pm

    I so much like the Tuoyo character…even in the midst of corrupt friends he speaks out & stays true to his decision of fidelity! (maybe affected by a bad experience sha) but I still like what you’ve done there!

    Concerning Magnus & Regina? – I comment my reserve!

    Fred & Ekene’s love na good specimen! Shows how guys should handle and encourage their “gifted” spouses! May they reach their permanent site.

    & when I read that pastor Adio called our sister… I was like ghen-ghen! E don happen!

    …In short- So many things for Godly singles to enjoy & learn dey for here o! Dr N keep it up! God bless you!

      drnsmusings responded:
      November 2, 2014 at 6:00 am

      Thank u for stopping by. Lol @ d analysis. Refreshing

    anwuli said:
    November 1, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    Hi dr n, I’m really enjoying this. I’ve spent some time today catching up from where I stopped. I like how you weave valuable christian lessons into the story.
    Just some constructive feedback on Tuoyo’s language. I know he’s not presented as being born again, but I thought words like “ish” and “bitch” could have been left out in line with Ephesians 4:29.
    Please keep up the good work. God is using you.

      drnsmusings responded:
      November 2, 2014 at 5:59 am

      I painfully used those words cos he is a stark unbeliever.

    Feyi's Dairy said:
    November 9, 2014 at 9:43 am

    Tuoyo’s story was soo sad, if only Magnus would listen. I can’t believe they couldn’t work things out and are heading for a divorce, too bad.
    As for Ekene and Fred, love nwantiti.

    smilinggurl said:
    March 12, 2016 at 11:09 am

    Dr N! I didn’t see that coming… “God of Miracle of Miracle, Na My Papa oooo…” Hahaha.

    mzquinn92 said:
    June 17, 2016 at 8:44 am

    I can’t do anything if I don’t finish this story.
    please can u sell it as a book someone can buy because its very educative. am not married yet but what am reading is teaching me what I need to know and I guess many people out there needs it too.
    God bless the works of your hand.
    muah.
    I got to finish this

      drnsmusings responded:
      June 17, 2016 at 11:42 am

      I plan to edit it for sale

        mzquinn92 said:
        June 17, 2016 at 12:07 pm

        thank you.
        when you are through let me know. i”ll surely get some for those who needs it if thats what i can for them

Leave a Reply

