Adire 32

Posted on Updated on

The story continues from Adio and Miriam’s conversation in his office. Enjoy

“I know this may come as a surprise to you” he began.

She smiled.

“I have not been able to get you off my mind since the last time we had a meeting with you”, he let out.

She gaped, mouth open. He looked down shyly.

“You may wonder why I never said anything earlier since I have known you for years. I can’t explain either. Just believe me when I say that it was like the wool was taken off my eyes. You are the woman of my dreams”, he said solemnly.
She
She burst into laughter.

“Why are you laughing? “, he was embarrassed.

“Pastor, who put you up to this? Is it Yetunde or Ekene? I’m sure today is not April fool’s day”, she held her chest, still shaking with mirth.

He held her gaze wordlessly, till she realized he was serious.

“Huh?”, she asked.

“I am not joking”, he replied.

“Really? I’m sorry, then”, she attempted to control herself.

“Miriam, I love you and I want us to get to know each other. By God’s grace, it is about time I got married and I believe you are the one for me”, he stated seriously.

She was dumbfounded.

“I see I surprised you”

“You can say that again”

“Let’s discuss this some other time. I’ll call you”, he seemed flustered, suddenly rising to arrange the papers on his desk.

She saw that she had hurt him.

“I’m sorry, sir. Please don’t take it badly”, she rose.

“It’s fine”, he avoided her gaze.

She stood for some minutes in awkward silence.

“Really, It’s fine”, he glanced at her and went back to what he was doing.

She left without another word.

****************************************************

Ijeoma noticed that Magnus was home before her for 2 weeks. She concluded that he never left the house as she could see no evidence of him having left. They usually drove in silence to the counselling sessions, sat tersely through it and returned determined not to change. She pitied the prayer team who was wasting its time praying for them. Even the counselling team headed by a lovely couple who had been married for 25 years, felt like giving up on the stubborn couple. Neither of them would accept the responsibility of changing. They kept playing the blame game.

Ijeoma was sort of upset that Chike had moved on. He seemed to forget that she existed. Rumor had it he was getting married. She hoped she had not lost out on a potential 2nd chance just because she didn’t want to cheat. Kevin and Jonah were spending 2 weeks with Ndidi’s family. School was out and Ndidi had her sister in law to help out with chores. Ijeoma missed them, particularly as she and Magnus were keeping malice.

She got home from work and found him in the clothes he wore to bed the night before, playing with his play station. There was a bag of potato chips on the floor and empty soda bottles all over.

“Magnus, didn’t you leave this house today? “, she blurted.

He turned to look at her, then looked at the mess he had made.

“You haven’t had a bath, have you? “, she asked.

He looked down at his clothes.

“What’s wrong?” she asked.

He dropped the controller and placed his hands on his head.

“Magnus?”

“I lost my job!”, he burst into tears.

She didn’t hesitate. She knelt by his side and took his head and placed it on her chest.

“I’m so sorry”, she murmured.

“I failed. Ij, I failed”, he wept like a child.

“It’s okay”, she murmured.

“It’s not okay. What will I do? Losing my job at this age? Where do I start from? How do I manage?”, he mourned.

“We’ll think of something”

“Can you imagine me applying for work at this age? I’m so ashamed”

“It’s not the end of the world”, she rose to get some tissue for him to blow his nose.

He blew it noisily and sat on the floor, leaning on the bed frame. “This is just so unfair”

“Maybe, God is giving you a sign. You should start your own firm”, she sat beside him, leaning her elbow on the bed.

“I hadn’t thought of that”, he turned.

“Yeah. You can find a partner or go solo till others beg to join you. Who’s to say you won’t make it?”

He took her hands in his soberly. “Ij, I’m very sorry for everything. Please forgive me”

“I’m sorry too. For being impatient, critical, bad-mouthed, and more, I apologise”

“Why did we not just settle our issues by talking about them?”

“I guess it’s easier to pass the buck though”

“Can we give it a second chance?”, he held her gaze.

“I don’t know. Maybe it’s too late? Too many things to consider”

“Like?”, he raised a brow.

“Your fiancée”

“Huh?”

“You proposed to someone else while still married to me”, Ijeoma burst into tears.

“Me, who you promised to love till death do us part. After all we’ve been through, the children I bore you, the years I stood by you”

He took her in his arms and rubbed her back till she was calm.

“What did you even see in her? Is she prettier than me?”, she raised her head.

He kept mum.

“We lived in Iyana ipaja for 2 years, I had to fetch water for domestic use, and share the kitchen with Mama Debo and Segun’s mom. Even when you got this job, I ……..”

He knelt before her, cupping her mouth to silence her. “How do I make it right?”, he pleaded.

She removed his hand so she could reply. “I don’t know. Regina is planning your wedding. Probably ordered her gown already”, she sniffed.

“I don’t know what to do. Tell me what to do?”,he cried.

“I don’t know either. I don’t know”

She rose, picked her bag and went over to the wardrobe to stash it. Magnus watched her, regretting the friction that they had allowed in their marriage, wondering how to turn back the hands of time, hoping it wasn’t too late.

****************************************************

“Good evening, Pastor Adio”, Ekene propped the phone to her ear with her shoulder while stirring her stew pot.

“I don’t know if your friend has called you?”, he asked.

“Which of them?”

“Miriam?”

“Miriam? Okay. I saw a missed call but when I called back she was probably too busy to answer”, she was reaching for some spices.

“I asked her out”, he blurted.

“Really?”, she stopped, hand mid air.

“Yeah. This afternoon, in my office” he replied. “Wow!”, Ekene squealed. “That’s quite a surprise! What did she say?”

“She didn’t seem happy”, he stated flatly.

“Well……”

“I want you to talk to her for me. Please, I want her to give me a chance”, he pleaded.

“I have to ask. Why her? Why now? You’ve known her for years. I don’t think you’ve ever shown any interest”, Ekene had put off her cooker and plunged into a chair.

“I wasn’t ready to be married, so there was no need looking. That would be tantamount to setting myself up. When I decided I was ready, I started praying about it. She’s just been the one on my mind”, he explained.

“You think she’ll fit into your lifestyle as a pastor?”

“As a matter of fact, I see that potential as a mentor to young women, in her. She may not see it, but, I do”

“Hmmm. I will do all in my power to convince her. Just give her a while to come around” she promised.

“Thank you. Ekene, I promise you, I will make her very happy”, he promised solemnly.

“You had better, else, you’ll have me to contend with”, she warned playfully.

“Haha”, he laughed and ended the call.

**************

TO BE CONTINUED.

37 thoughts on “Adire 32

    only girl said:
    October 31, 2014 at 8:20 am

    Too short!!!! *hot yoruba tears* Ahan nao! The pastor guy sounds so cute and adorable. So it took magnus loosing his job for them to comme around abi?
    Good work Dr N. You such a fabulous writer

    nikeaduke said:
    October 31, 2014 at 8:48 am

    Dr. N, why is this one short like this? :(. Awww for Ijeoma and Magnus. It will work if they are ready to give it another chance. I’m happy for Miriam.

    drnsmusings responded:
    October 31, 2014 at 8:55 am

    Pardon the editing. I will take it down soon

    Lizzieebunoluwa said:
    October 31, 2014 at 9:00 am

    There’s something called hot yoruba tears? Lol.

    I’m loving the plot as it unfolds Dr N, well done.

      drnsmusings responded:
      November 2, 2014 at 5:51 am

      Hearing for d 1st time 2 . Lol. Thanks Liz

    Kunbi said:
    October 31, 2014 at 9:32 am

    Chei!! But why na Dr N?!! Ok, I forgive you sha cos of the baby..But kai! How long to wait now? Ok, ok..breath Kunbi…breath…

    Loving it Dr N! God bless you plennie!

    Silent reader said:
    October 31, 2014 at 12:12 pm

    Yaaay…..Dr N’s birthday present to all the October shidren in the house! Thanks for giving us this Ma!
    I totally understand Miriam’s reaction. The 1st instinct to even the thought of marrying a Pastor is a flat out rejection.
    Dr N, you really are a great writer. The way you let us know Magnus lost his job even before he voiced it out. I’m just wondering if Ijeoma would have been so sympathetic & encouraging if Chike was still on her case.
    Marriage matters! *sigh*

      drnsmusings responded:
      November 2, 2014 at 5:53 am

      My cake nko?

        Silent reader said:
        November 2, 2014 at 2:20 pm

        Pictures shall be emailed to you as soon as you say the word. Lol

        drnsmusings responded:
        November 2, 2014 at 2:42 pm

        Pics? Chai!

    adaeze said:
    October 31, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    choi, see as Miriam fall pastor hand with laff. i hope she gives it serious consideration. thanks Dr N for giving us another episode today.

    Tii said:
    October 31, 2014 at 5:08 pm

    Thou shalt fear toasting and suspense nau. No be small thing. I’m happy Ij n Mag are waking up

    exceptionalstar said:
    October 31, 2014 at 7:13 pm

    Wonderful update.

    Jules said:
    November 1, 2014 at 7:01 am

    Dr N this is too short nah!
    I am protesting o.
    I na-ado anyi akpiri ri nne.
    Why now? Is it baby? Cos I am so ready to come and take him to add to my squad if it will help.

    Good one there, I am happy ij and mag are coming around. Bless you dear.

      drnsmusings responded:
      November 2, 2014 at 5:55 am

      Akpiri kwa? Lol. Send your car to pick them pls! Lol

    atinukemi said:
    November 2, 2014 at 4:15 am

    Yay I loved this Dr. N. I love this togetherness, thanks for giving mariam a man.

    Anonymous Chick said:
    November 2, 2014 at 6:49 am

    I loved this post! Once love has existed it can always be reawakened. Too many people have divorced and later on regretted it especially when it has been over minor matters that they could easily have had a grip over.

    And yeap, prayer does work and is never wasted esp when praying for the right cause and in line with God’s Word. All will def be well with Magnus and Ijeoma. I am curious to see how things turn out for Regina esp if she remains unrepentant but I guess the prayer will also impact her too for good :).

    I am an October baby as well but seeing as this post was done in November, it does not qualify as a gift oh!

    Thanks doc.

      Anonymous Chick said:
      November 2, 2014 at 6:51 am

      Oh sorry! Saw that it was done in October and updated in November 🙂 Nice one doc, thank you.

      drnsmusings responded:
      November 2, 2014 at 10:49 am

      Whaaaaat!, It was done in oct. Lol

    Tansi said:
    November 2, 2014 at 7:02 am

    I wont complain about how short it was since this was a bonus. It had to take Magnus losing his job to wake him up to his mistakes, hopefully its not too late for them. As for Regina maybe now she will open her heart to the prospective suitors she had eg the doctor and the other guy.

    LYNDA said:
    November 3, 2014 at 9:07 am

    Finally, Ijeoma and magnus have decided to reconcile. I love the way pastor tried to woo Miriam, nice tactics. Well done Dr N.

    niki said:
    November 5, 2014 at 12:19 am

    Aww lovely Episode all-round!

    tessadoghor said:
    November 6, 2014 at 9:49 am

    Adio is so boring…
    Maybe he’s cut and dried but after asking a girl to marry you
    You woo her
    She’s not a goat that will just follow you when you are not treating her gently
    Wooing? He should go and research what wooing is…

    Feyi's Dairy said:
    November 9, 2014 at 7:36 pm

    Too short! ! Just when I was getting into it. Whew finally Magnus and Ndidi have come to their senses. Great job Doc!

    Ugochinyelu Anidi said:
    January 9, 2016 at 6:28 pm

    This has been my best piece so far. I laughed like crazy with Miriam. Poor Pastor Adio is really sweet though.
    Then I cried like a child with Ijeoma,. That bit about proposing to another woman while still married to her was sad but what brought the tears on was the mention of the hard times they shared in the beginning. Sometimes the aggressor is really just victim.
    Good work Nnenna. *smiles* Jisike

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 10, 2016 at 2:18 pm

      Awww. Thanks, Ugo mara mma

    smilinggurl said:
    March 12, 2016 at 11:22 am

    Wait oh. Pastor Adio, haba now. You don’t tell a girl you love her just like that now. It’s the first time you’re approaching her. She will run four fourty.

Leave a Reply

