Adire 35

Posted on

The three months given by the pastors had come and gone. Ijeoma and Magnus were summoned to give their final decision. In Pastor Shedrack’s office, they sat before the three pastors and Mrs. Shedrack. Regina was absent.

“So what is your decison, Mr.and Mrs. Ozo? We have prayed with and counselled you. Today, the ball is in your courts” Pastor Shedrack asked.

Magnus rose and knelt before his wife. She stiffled a whimper of surprise.

“Ijeoma Ozo, I apologise to you before all gathered here. I have failed in my duty as a husband to you. When I should have covered you, I left the door open for the devil to sneak in. Now, I accept my faults. If you give me a second chance, you will be the only woman in my life, I will provide for you before any other, I will take your opinions and concerns seriously and I will be the priest of our home. Please, let me show you that I still love you”

Ijeoma was shocked. She had her hand clasped over her mouth while tears streamed from her eyes. No eye in the room was dry. They had all been taken completely by surprise.

“Magnus…..”, she sniffed .

“Honey?”

“I have been a terrible wife. There was even a time I thought of leaving you for Chike”, she confessed.

“I know and I forgive you”, he covered her hands with his.

“If you can forgive me, who am I not to forgive you?”, she was trying to wipe her tears.

“Thank you. I promise, you won’t regret it”, he rose and pulled her into a hug.

Pastor Shedrack interrupted them moments later to lead the group in a short session of praise and prayer. Heaven had heard and answered.

****************************************************

THE WEEK BEFORE

“Hello, darling”, Regina responded when she picked her call.

“How’s Frankfurt?” , Magnus asked.

“So, so”

“Busy?”

“I’m at home. How are you?”

“I’m fine. Regina, I need a huge favour”

“What’s that?”

“I know I promised you so many things. Unfortunately, I bit off more than I can chew. The truth is I cannot be that man you need me to be. I think you deserve your own man, someone who is coming without the baggage I carry. Please, believe me when I say I never meant to hurt you”, he pleaded.

She burst into tears. “Magnus, you want to leave me high and dry?”

“Believe me, you need a better man than me. What good is a man who can abandon his wife and children for you? You deserve better”

She was silent.

“This is my goodbye. I will not be contacting you again and I don’t want you to contact me. Wishing you happiness, Regina. Thanks for everything. And I promise to repay all the money I owe you. God bless you” He was kind but firm.

She heard the finality in his voice and knew it was over. No manipulation or tears would move him. She had lost out. Regina sat by her hotel room window and stared out, dry-eyed. When Magnus ended the call, he called Don.

“What did she say?”, Don asked.

“Not much but, I think she got the message”

“Good. It’s even better she’s out of the country. Hopefully, she’ll lick her wounds in private and put it behind her”

“I hope so”

“Now, I want you to call your mom and inform her you have placed her on an allowance. You will give her a fixed sum for she and Chibuike every month. They should not ask for more, except in life-threatening situations. Let them cut their coat according to their cloth”

“Alright”

“Then, tell your wife after the meeting with your pastors, the new rules you have enforced. Let her know how much you can afford to give her every month; and you must be faithful. No more winging it”

“Okay”

“We’ll talk after the meeting”

“Thanks. I owe you”

“You owe me nothing. All you have to do is lift another brother up. I promised God I would help anyone in this situation if he helped me win back my family and business. So, this is an opportunity for me to redeem my vow”, Don explained.

“Wow! I will, then. Thanks”

“Later, man”

“Later”

****************************************************

“I heard Magnus and Ijeoma are having a renewal of vows ceremony?”, Miriam asked Ekene.

They were on their way to meet with a wedding planner.

“I heard too. Ndidi called me to tell me. That is after mocking me that my “plans” didn’t work!”

“What! She’s still bitter?”

“I’ve apologized over and over. She won’t forgive”

“Crying more than the bereaved”, Miriam made a hissing sound.

“O di egwu O!”

“When is Regina coming in?”

“She said she asked for an extended leave”

“I don’t blame her. Me, I would have done the same”

“How is Adio?”

“I guess fine”, Miriam shrugged.

“What does that mean?”

“My dear, I’m still getting used to the whole idea. We speak on phone and chat every day but, we have only gone on 2 dates. In person, he doesn’t say much but over the phone he opens up a bit. What kind of person is that?”, Miriam wondered.

“You are not even helping matters. I hope you don’t intimidate the guy?”, Ekene laughed.

“It’s not easy to switch from MD mode, to “potential wife” mode”, Miriam complained.

Ekene shook with laughter.

“At least you can’t say he is dull. I heard he graduated top of his class”

“He did. In fact, he is very intelligent”

“See there?”

“Haha”, Miriam laughed again.

“Don’t judge a book by it’s cover”

“Or a Pastor by his silence?”

They both laughed again.

****************************************************

Watch out for the conclusion. Coming soon! Cheers

26 thoughts on “Adire 35

    exceptionalstar said:
    November 21, 2014 at 10:28 pm

    Eeeya, I was just smiling through it all.
    Ndidi, what is your own na?

    Thanks Doctor, hope our baby is already saying -wonderful mummy, lol.

    dnddyon said:
    November 21, 2014 at 10:51 pm

    lovely!

    Liz said:
    November 22, 2014 at 2:12 am

    Noooooo, i don’t want conclusion yet

    sandy said:
    November 22, 2014 at 7:06 am

    I can understand Ndidi’s bitterness…when couples have issues it has a multiplier effect on others. Even when they make up the effect on others will linger. Dealing with one now sef

    Jules said:
    November 22, 2014 at 7:43 am

    Awww. I also smiled all through.
    I love love happy endings.
    Dr N, always on the money! Kudos dear.

    nikeaduke said:
    November 22, 2014 at 10:43 am

    Awwwww! I’m happy that Magnus and Ijeoma decided to put the past behind them and make their marriage work. Regina will find her own man, abi Dr. N :)? Well done, Dr. N; hope baby boy is doing fine. Please what’s the meaning of “odi egwu”?

      drnsmusings responded:
      November 22, 2014 at 7:54 pm

      Sorry. It is an exclamation of mild shock. Like “na wa”

    Eyak said:
    November 22, 2014 at 11:10 am

    Beautiful reunion between Ijeoma and Magnus there. I wish reality could always have such happy endings. Great work Doc, thanks for all the inspiring writing that lift my spirits every time. Sometimes all a sister needs is written affirmation from Christians when everything looks bleak. Thanks again and God bless you. Love to your baby

      drnsmusings responded:
      November 22, 2014 at 7:55 pm

      Bless u 2. Keep ya head up

    atinukemi said:
    November 22, 2014 at 3:59 pm

    Dr before you conclude, we need to read an average date for Pastor A. and Miriam. Thanks for this. Mega thumbs up

      drnsmusings responded:
      November 22, 2014 at 7:57 pm

      *wetin be ya own? They r only secondary characters O! Lol

        atinukemi said:
        November 22, 2014 at 8:04 pm

        lol, DR. N you know i got real love for Miriam and Pastor Adio (i feel he is a male me with all ur description of him. So, you can say i’m intrigued)

        drnsmusings responded:
        November 22, 2014 at 8:09 pm

        Awwwwww. Haha! That’s like crushing on a movie star. Lol

        atinukemi said:
        November 22, 2014 at 8:22 pm

        Well you can always make an entire new story with them as the “main character”… just a thought. You should ponder on this. just joking…….not.

    niki said:
    November 24, 2014 at 1:15 am

    Awe. Yay everything is coming together! Feel bad for regina but she needs to evaluate her life before she gets in a relationship.

    Lily said:
    November 24, 2014 at 4:53 pm

    Awwwwww. I’m so feeling Pastor Adio right now. He seems to have all the goods.
    Thanks Dr N. I haven’t forgotten Osas and Regina. She won’t be bereft for long, I hope.

      drnsmusings responded:
      November 24, 2014 at 6:08 pm

      Pastor Adio fans, lol

    Anonymous Chick said:
    November 26, 2014 at 1:01 pm

    Amazing positive turn out for Ijeoma and Magnus. Prayer truly works.

    I’m unsure about Regina as she still seems unbroken and not contrite at all in spite of all the counselling.

    This series has been amazing so many life lessons learnt.

    Thumbs up doc!

    Feyi's Dairy said:
    December 14, 2014 at 10:47 pm

    Awwww finally Magnus and Ijeoma!! I’m so glad. Dr N, I’ve missed many episods of Adire, time to catch up 🙂

Leave a Reply

