Take Care of You.

Posted on Updated on

Welcome to 2015 muses! Happy New Year! I thought I would have a post up on the 1st but it didn’t happen. Thanks for all your kind wishes and regards. Last year, I spent a great deal of my time and energy, bearing the burden of a relative of mine. She didn’t get the sex of babies she wanted and both she and her husband were quite disappointed. This generated into a series of miscarriages (trying for more), misunderstandings, quarrels, neglect and more. I came into the picture because she developed peptic ulcer.
Disappointed businessman

Peptic ulcer is a disease caused by the erosion of the lining of the stomach by the gastric acids. They are meant to digest food but if the stomach remains empty, they digest the stomach wall. A bacteria called “Helicobacter pylori” has been found to be involved in the pathology also, neccessitating antibiotics.Despite all this, you will find that some people will fast for 7 days and not develop an ulcer. Why? The truth is that it is also a psychosomatic illness. That means that it is triggered by emotional turmoil.

We all react to adversity differently. Some of us fight back and overcome; howbeit with scars. Others wilt under. Yet others, internalise the hurt. Let me throw more light on this. If something happens to you and you let it change and determine the way you think, speak, and act, that is internalization. Read that sentence again. The next step is physical symptoms. An issue that was “emotional”, begins to give you headache, stomach ache, tooth ache, rashes, fever, and insomnia. This is the hinge point. If you don’t handle it, you end up with ulcers, hypertension, diabetes, arthritis, fungal disease, e.t.c.

My relative, who I will call “Aunty Shh” ,( because I feel like telling her “Shhhh”), calls me up to 4 times a day. She also calls at midnight, 1 am and so on. Picture this, I put my 4 and 2 year old children to bed, feed the 4 month old till he sleeps off. Just as I pull the covers over my head, my phone rings.

“Hello”, I answer groggily.

“Dr. N, my chest is paining me. I can’t breathe. Something is crawling down my left side!” Aunty Shh is gasping, breathing heavily, almost wheezing.

“What’s the matter? Is anyone there with you?”

“I told my husband. He said I exaggerate things. What do I do? Why is this happening to me?” She bursts into tears.

“Calm down. Where is the pain? How bad is it? Describe it”

“It’s on the left, close to my heart”

“Is it sharp or burning? When did you eat last? Do you feel nauseous? ”

Eventually, I get her to take an antacid. I pray for her and ask her to go to the hospital the next day, as we live hours apart. The next day, she calls very early again.

“Thank you for last night. Somebody I told about this thing said I am short of blood. That I need so and so supplement….”

I cut her off. Poor sleep, (baby wakes up 1 hour after her call), and more have robbed me of courtesy.

“Aunty Shhh, you are not short of blood! You are even overweight!”

“I’m coming from the hospital. They said I have Typhoid and Malaria. That is why my body is always hot”

“Did they check your temperature? ”

“Yes, they said it was normal”

“Aunty, just take your medication. Get some rest. Then, study the sciptures I wrote for you. You will be fine”

Yes, I graduated to priest when the medicine wasn’t working. You see, she convinced herself, that she needed another child to win her husband’s affection back. He wasn’t philandering, just inattentive. Unfortunately, the more she worried, the sicker she got, and the more distant he became. She ended up diabetic! Talk about shooting yourself in the foot.

Don’t think it’s just women. Many men are hypertensive, diabetic and even have erectile dysfunction traceable to emotional stress.

Luke 16: 8-9 (MSG). “Now, here’s the surprise: The master praised the crooked manager! And why? Because he knew how to LOOK AFTER HIMSELF. Steetwise people are smarter in this regard than law-abiding citizens. They are on the constant alert, looking for angles, surviving by their wits. I want you to be smart in the same way-but for what is right – using every adversity to stimulate you to creative survival, to concentrate your attention on the bare essentials, so you’ll live, really live, not complacently just get by on good behaviour”.

God gave me that word for 2015. As Christians, let’s use our wits. The Holy Spirit gives us wisdom. You have to take care of yourself and recreate your world. Will difficulties come? You bet! God, in Gen. 1, noticed how darkness covered the earth. Did he burst into tears?

“Why? Why? Who caused this darkness? Ha! It is getting darker! I have been so good to these angels. Why did they rebel against me?”

Can you picture Jehovah in tears? No! He set about correcting the error.

“Let there be light! ”

The minute he gave the instruction, angels set about bringing order to the chaos. Whatever hits you this year, don’t buckle under. You stand in authority and set things right. How? By giving the angels something to do. They do not respond to tears, accusations, regret.

Example, “I married as a virgin, why is this man cheating on me?”

You know what I would say? “Strange woman, fade out of your close place. Loose your grip. Every desire for you is dissolved. I decree that he is unrousable by your form. Today, your love turns sour. Because I am a covenant daughter! ”

In fact, if I make that confession for 2 weeks, that man will come begging. (And I would subject him to tests, hehehe!).

What am I saying? Take care of yourself this year.

Righteousness is not enough.

Believing God is not enough.

Giving offerings is not enough.

Say what you want and the angels will enforce it.

As long as it is scripturally correct (confessing that the illegal goods you imported won’t be seized is foolish), God’s got your back.

Flourish in Jesus name! Cheers.

Dr. N

40 thoughts on “Take Care of You.

    Frances Okoro said:
    January 5, 2015 at 8:59 am

    Amen and amen!
    I shall flourish..
    I won’t cry and buckle under issues..i shall decree it and it shall be established.
    Yes!

    Happy New Year ma’am…
    Greet our Dr N’s kids for us 🙂

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 5, 2015 at 9:20 am

      Happy new year love. They’ll hear

    Fola Daniel Adelesi said:
    January 5, 2015 at 9:14 am

    Welcome to a new blogging year! Blog your way to abundance as you impact others. As for Aunty Shhh, make she ‘farabale – calm down’

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 5, 2015 at 9:21 am

      Abeg help me O! I need my sleep.
      Happy new year, Fola! May u flourish!

    Presh Igwe said:
    January 5, 2015 at 9:38 am

    Happy new year to your Dr N…thank you for this new year booster…

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 5, 2015 at 10:16 am

      Thank u. A happy new year 2 u 2

    itstamie said:
    January 5, 2015 at 9:59 am

    Thanks for this boost.
    Happy new year Dr N.

    E' said:
    January 5, 2015 at 10:21 am

    I wish I could just hug you real tight to say THANK YOU!!!
    I had a convo with hubby on something maybe not exactly like this but very necessary for 2015 and this post just made me realise that truly ehn, this 2015 go dey BUT I’m going to have to do some stuff too.
    Too much truth in here…
    God bless you. Meanwhile I should ring you. Somewhere in my head,i did that this holiday lol. I still will.

    Happy New year nne…
    Love,
    E’

    Btw are you on twitter? Or what’s ur email addy?

    Anonymous Chick said:
    January 5, 2015 at 11:47 am

    I agree with you majorly on this one. I loved the way the MSG transalted that verse as well.

    Happy New year to you and all the best for 2015.

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 5, 2015 at 12:08 pm

      Yeah, MSG is awesome. How have u been, my e -friend? Cheers

    Favour said:
    January 5, 2015 at 12:51 pm

    Dear Dr N,
    You got me to comment.I choose to take action and not cry in adversity this year. God bless you Dr N

    Dew said:
    January 5, 2015 at 1:39 pm

    I love me some Dr N! Happy new year ma 🙂

    maryj01 said:
    January 5, 2015 at 4:41 pm

    A very insightful post. Thanks for sharing. Happy my dearest dr N…

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 5, 2015 at 4:50 pm

      Happy New yr to u. Tganks

    exceptionalstar said:
    January 5, 2015 at 7:48 pm

    I so loove this post like… kilode! God bless ma.

    Ud said:
    January 5, 2015 at 7:56 pm

    Amen! Wise counsel. Happy new year, my sister. May your garners be rich and full in 2015, in Jesus’ name.

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 5, 2015 at 7:58 pm

      Amen! I like this ya prayer

    nikeaduke said:
    January 5, 2015 at 9:06 pm

    Hmmmm! Food for thought. Happy new year, Dr. N! God bless u and your family!

    Lily said:
    January 5, 2015 at 9:40 pm

    The MSG translation can be so cool! We mostly think being believers means we will get by without stress and we become complacent, yet we watch the others do better than us.
    Happy New Year Dr N. Heaven on earth is your experience this 2015!
    Aunt Shhh needs to get into the Bible for herself biko!

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 5, 2015 at 10:09 pm

      Complacent is d word! I’m planning to load her with books this yr. Hoping she sees d light
      Thanks

    miss Pynk said:
    January 5, 2015 at 10:31 pm

    I think you made my year with this post. Often times we overwhelm ourselves and forget to do right and simply speak right into our lives.

    http://www.pynk360.com

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 5, 2015 at 11:23 pm

      Wow! Great. Keep your headbup
      Thanks

    adefunke62 said:
    January 6, 2015 at 5:58 am

    ohh, how I love this, thanks a lot doc

    Jules said:
    January 6, 2015 at 2:34 pm

    You just spoke to me…straight up!
    I thank for the gift of a son who’ll pop out soon. Pls keep encouraging her, you can’t understand how our society upholds this gender issue until you walk half a mile in her shoes. It can be depressing.

    You may be wondering ‘what of those with none at all?’ I don’t know but I feel for everyone ttc and everyone with gender (esp boy child) challenge.

    I decree that 2015 is my year of open door. HE shall open doors of favours for me and my hubby in Jesus name! Amen.

    ALMIGHTY GOD IS TOO FAITHFUL TO FAIL.

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 7, 2015 at 7:39 am

      God will back your declaration. As for gender issues, we all have our challenges. My point is not to let them send u to hospital.
      Thanks again

    Cate said:
    January 7, 2015 at 7:30 am

    Happy new year Dr N! God bless you abundantly for this post.

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 7, 2015 at 7:39 am

      Bless u. Happy new year

    blogaddict said:
    January 7, 2015 at 8:53 am

    Happy New Year Dr N.
    God bless u always and bless the day I found you on this blog.

    LYNDA said:
    January 7, 2015 at 8:13 pm

    Happy new year Dr N. This is exactly what I need for now, been going through a lot recently and thank God for using people like you to make me see and let me know I should keep speaking the word because my prayer will be answered. Thank you Dr N God bless you richly and this is our year of celebration.

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 7, 2015 at 10:26 pm

      I celebrate u dear. It shsll come to pass

    Feyi's Dairy said:
    January 7, 2015 at 8:33 pm

    Thanks Dr N! Great post! I’m soo taking charge this year!! Happy NewYear!!

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 7, 2015 at 10:27 pm

      Happy New year, Feyi! More stories pls!

Leave a Reply

