American Visa

Posted on

When I was in my fifth year of medical school, I had a very interesting encounter. I was reading in class one day when a classmate walked up to me and told me that a man was calling me outside. Since I was sitting close to the door, I peeped but did not recognise the man standing there. Out of politeness though, I got up to see what he wanted.

“Good afternoon, Sir”, I greeted. “Are you looking for someone? ”

“No, I just want to speak to you. If you can spare 5 minutes”, he pleaded.

He was a middle-aged man, tall, slightly overweight, sweating profusely, in dark pants and a tucked in shirt. I felt he wanted to make some sort of enquiry, but wondered why he singled me out.

“What exactly is the matter?”, I asked. “I don’t think we’ve met”

“I am sorry. Please just spare some moments. I really want to discuss something important with you. I know we haven’t met before but, I just saw you and felt you are a nice girl. Even the way you answered me proves me right. If there is a nearby eatery, we can go there and have a chat while you get some lunch”

He appeared harmless and I was in my territory so, I agreed. Besides the law of diminishing returns had set in and I needed a break. I told my friends where I was going and boarded a bike to the closest fast food joint. He followed on another bike. When we got there, he bought lunch, which I devoured while he told his story. (Don’t judge me. Students don’t reject free lunches. Lol. )

He said he was a law student in America, in his 40s and in need of a wife.

“I want a medical student because it is easier for them to get work over there and they are highly paid. Together we can build a life for ourselves and our children. I just see you as a nice, well mannered girl. Not every girl will follow a stranger out or even listen to him. I promise you that I will take care of you”

I kept nodding, pretending to be interested while wolfing down my rice and chicken. No way would I blow him off before eating. He went on to show me his ID, even his passport and visa. Then he claimed he would be granted citizenship the following year. He had been in America for a number of years and only went to school having worked to save up.

African American woman lying in bed, covering face with hands.

After listening to his sob story, I told him that his business module was wrong. To tell a woman outright, that you want to marry her because of her profession, is a fail. I mean every woman wants to be wooed, to be chased, to be courted, to know she’s worth more than her pay check. Sleeping beauty woke up to the kiss of a prince not a wanna be “princess’ husband”.He was not convinced by my polite explanation so I asked him to take another walk round the school. It was possible he would bump into another “candidate”.

On another note, his ID card indicated he was studying some sort of law-related course, not Law. I mean, his story just had so many loop holes. Well, I returned to my books, thanking God for sending a raven to feed me. I tell you, He’s an awesome God!

This is to all ye fraudsters, get your act together. As my dad says, if you must eat a frog, eat a big one. Lol.

Cheers, Dr. N

24 thoughts on “American Visa

    Jules said:
    January 23, 2015 at 8:15 pm

    Hmmm… Medical and Nursing students get that a lot.
    Trust me, that kind of man will most likely make a failed marriage. How you start off on a wrong foundation? No love, no affection, just job and pay check attractions.

    It is well.

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 24, 2015 at 3:04 am

      It’s really sad.
      Thanks

    blogaddict said:
    January 23, 2015 at 8:21 pm

    Smh my head forever at this kind of men i only pity the girls that fall prey for them.

    LYNDA said:
    January 23, 2015 at 8:55 pm

    Hahaha, free lunch can’t judge you. He wanted to show off and met the wrong person, all this fraudster self thank God you shine your eyes well well and happy birthday.

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 24, 2015 at 3:06 am

      I would have ordered for my friends but I doubted he could pay, lol. Thanks

    jcsgrl said:
    January 23, 2015 at 9:26 pm

    I nearly choked on sending the ravens to feed you. LOL!!! Happy new year darling. Hope you and the bambinos are well.

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 24, 2015 at 3:06 am

      E don tey! How na? Cheers

    TheRustGeek said:
    January 23, 2015 at 11:14 pm

    Nothing against a free lunch – especially as you heard him out.. Interesting tactic from the fella though – full marks to him for being audacious though – terrible incentives or not.. 🙂

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 24, 2015 at 3:09 am

      He gets full marks for audacity. Even asked me to recommend someone else!

    itstamie said:
    January 23, 2015 at 11:32 pm

    Ravenous bird provision. Lol.

    To tell a woman outright ,that you want to marry her because of her profession is a fail. -this is the gospel I’ve been preaching.
    One time, I found myself thinking…I wish I didn’t read this course then these guys won’t be thinking like this…then I realized no, I was thinking it wrongly.

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 24, 2015 at 3:11 am

      They are free to fish. I just refused to be found in their net. Lol

    impressed said:
    January 23, 2015 at 11:47 pm

    LOL at the “raven” ! Can’t stop laughing!

      drnsmusings responded:
      January 24, 2015 at 3:11 am

      Well, he was a “raven” lol

    exceptionalstar said:
    January 24, 2015 at 3:22 am

    Wish I could share some of the experiences I have had. God save we single ladies in the health profession.

    dnddyon said:
    January 24, 2015 at 11:10 am

    hahahaha
    I would have also eaten the food if I was the one…
    God indeed provides… lol

    Anonymous Chick said:
    January 25, 2015 at 7:38 am

    Huh?! Some people sha…

    For him to have done that; it probably means he knows of or has heard of someone who had done that. I can see how some Nig girls will fall for this. Some might just use it as pass to the land of opportunities and dump him afterwards. He was at least wise to scan for a ‘good’ girl.

    hrh7 said:
    January 25, 2015 at 12:53 pm

    Lovely story. I love personal experience stories of yours.
    By the way, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! In advance/arrears.

    tenderonii said:
    January 26, 2015 at 5:31 pm

    Wow, this is serious ooh, a raven indeed ma…….God is awesome, truly. All things work together for our good ooh.

    livelytwist said:
    January 29, 2015 at 2:53 pm

    Lol. 🙂
    His approach seems so random. In the cases I’ve heard, the families arrange this. Spooky, very spooky.

Leave a Reply

