Christians are Cool! Plus giveaway result

Posted on Updated on

Jesus came that we may have an enjoyable life. I think we, as Christians, do not allow ourselves to be vulnerable enough to give people a view of the amazing Jesus we carry. He is so cool. I mean, he walked on water, how cool is that! That’s the Jesus that was never too busy to answer a question of anyone, pharisee, sadducee, or hellenist. Why are we so self-centered?

The agenda of God is to expand His Kingdom by recruiting those the enemy had earmarked for destruction. That is why Jesus befriended the prostitutes and tax collectors (think corrupt government officials) in his day. Let us never become so “holy” that people need to get their “act” together before we can reach out to them. It’s like saying a table cloth should be clean before you wash it. Who does that?
© Copyright 2006 Corbis Corporation

In my 2nd year in the university, I shared a room with 7 girls. They all knew I was born again, and teased me once in a while about what they thought I had to give up. I have never felt disadvantaged as a child of God. Does the president’s daughter miss her anonymity? Yeah but, when she remembers the private jets, the exclusive privileges, she shirks that feeling off.

One night, my room mate had a gig. She was a very curvy girl in a relationship with a young man who frequented our room. Her diction and enunciation were out of this world. I guess that is why she was chosen to compere the event. A sort of beauty concert or music concert; I don’t remember which.

I was so excited I got to watch the process of her getting glammed up. Fashion has always been my thing but I feel very comfortable in my own skin. I often leave my house without a stitch of make up; just cause I can. That being said, I love to watch those who live for fashion.

So, this girl who I’ll call Jo, was trying to pick out a dress. She was surrounded by a group of friends trying to do her make up, her hair, choose her accessories and so on. I lay on the upper bed of the bunk watching in delight. They had asked earlier if I wanted to buy a ticket to the show and I said No. Maybe, they all felt I was subtly critisizing them. It didn’t even cross my mind.

She settled for a skimpy black dress, that left little to the imagination, and killer heels.

“All that’s left is a gold watch. How come no one brought a watch”, one of her friends complained.

They tried all the watches they had but none was the right fit.

“I have a gold watch. You can have it”, I extended mine to her.

Her friend leapt up and grabbed it. Once she put it on her wrist, the look was locked in.

“Great!”, she cried.

Jo was sober.”N, I can’t use your watch”, she said.

“Why?”, I asked.

“Won’t I like contaminate it or something? ”

“All the PDA you and your boyfriend do here in the room has not contaminated me, it is wearing my watch to a concert that will contaminate me?”, I laughed.

She kept shaking her head. “I just feel it’s wrong”

“If you don’t want it, give it back but don’t say I didn’t want you to use it”, I smiled.

Her friend stepped in. “She gave it willingly. It completes the outfit. Let’s go”

Jo turned teary eyes to me as she left “I won’t forget this, N”

“Yeah, yeah. Just give them a good show, okay? And come back and tell me all about it”

I wish the story ended with her coming home and giving her life to Christ cause she was deeply convicted but, No, it didn’t happen that way. The concert was disrupted by cultists though she escaped unhurt. I was so thankful she was safe. She was more interested in returning my watch. What a laugh!

Though she did not accept Jesus that night, I knew a seed had been sown that would ultimately lead her to accept salvation. She did ask some questions about God and I tried to correct that impression of God as an angry deity wielding a big hammer against sinners. Yes, sinners will go to hell but we are trying to keep them out of hell. You don’t drive to the airport facing the opposite direction, do you?.

Christians love politics, sports, fashion, make up, travel, computer games, fiction, e.t.c. Let us not be so heavenly minded that we are socially inept. To engage our world we need to see people as either “Saved” or “About to be Saved”. So dear muse, are you saved? If No, can I tell you about my very cool Jesus? He even turned water to wine. How cool is that!

Cheers,

Dr.N

************************************************************************

And the winning title for my short story is “Fur Coat and No Knickers”. Drumroll for the winner FOLA. Congrats! Please send me an email indicating if you want the voucher or the cash. Thanks to everyone for participating. I enjoyed all the comments and you enriched my days. God bless..
Dr. N

35 thoughts on “Christians are Cool! Plus giveaway result

    Inthe... said:
    February 20, 2015 at 11:22 pm

    I don’t know if I’m more surprised by her “…contaminate” comment or you sharing a room with 7 girls!!!!!!!

      kwesi Abiola. said:
      February 21, 2015 at 12:03 am

      Haha, me too. 7 girls . seriously??!

        drnsmusings responded:
        February 21, 2015 at 10:02 am

        Seriously

      drnsmusings responded:
      February 21, 2015 at 8:20 am

      Nigeria is awesome hon. I had one of d best rooms. Lol

      E' said:
      February 21, 2015 at 8:58 am

      Lol Inthe I didn’t even read that 7 in a room twice.
      Daz normal ish

      itstamie said:
      February 22, 2015 at 3:24 pm

      In my first year in school I shared a room with 9 girls…only myself and another first year were not paired on a bunk…if we had paired like the others we would have been 12 in a cubicle sized room!

    LO said:
    February 21, 2015 at 1:42 am

    Evening Dr.N! Love your blog and stories! If I may ask how did you retain your Christian beliefs around friends without coming off as critical or judgemental?

      drnsmusings responded:
      February 21, 2015 at 10:09 am

      Hi. I see it this way. I am not responsible for how u view me. My responsibility is to live a life of love and shine my light. Sone will come to d heat of my flame some will withdraw. I will not turn down d heat for them.
      E.g. a bunch of “friends” r discussing sexual positions. We r all single. Do I need to say “Don’t have sex b4 marriage! You will go to hell fire!”No. I think they already know. I would just let them blab. If they ask my opinion, I would tell them I am waiting till my wedding night but, ladies, it’s gonna be hot cos I like the 3rd position u talked about. What’s d name again?…..
      Understand? I made my point without getting in their face n I can choose to leave without seeming judgemental

        LO said:
        February 21, 2015 at 11:36 am

        I understand, thank you 😀

    impressed said:
    February 21, 2015 at 2:37 am

    I was wondering the same thing lol. Seven girls!+

      drnsmusings responded:
      February 21, 2015 at 10:02 am

      That’s a small no in public schools

    Frances Okoro said:
    February 21, 2015 at 3:00 am

    Thank you for this post Dr N.

    I’ve been looking for the balance on this for a while.

    How do we balance “not being deceived, evil communication corrupts good character” with viewing people as “about to be saved” and trying to win those same people over to Christ?

    I had a bit of an issue with someone recently because of this.
    I didn’t know if I should let go or keep on being friends at my own expense of not being able to feed my soul at all from our communications.

    I was looking a bit for how Jesus handled such but maybe I didn’t search enough.

    And as for the giveaway…
    *crying****

    Ah, I thought my title was “anointed to win”

      drnsmusings responded:
      February 21, 2015 at 10:15 am

      Weep not. More giveaways coming up. Lol
      So I think we are too carnal. We have no fruit of d spirit to feed d world with. Evil communication corrupts good manners but u r FILLED with d Holy Spirit. No sinner should be comfortable in your presence if unwilling to be saved. They come to me n i am full of gossip, laziness, backbiting, lust……Who is saving who? The bible says It is not what u eat but what goes into your mind that defiles.
      The ex prostitutes who flocked around Jesus were hungry for salvation. Ask yourself, What are d unsaved around me hungry for? My boobs? My lips? Or salvation?

        blogaddict said:
        February 21, 2015 at 2:07 pm

        Wawo!Thats a million bucks question @ what do the unsaved around me hungry for?
        Scurries away to munch on my fruits of the Spirit. God bless you forever and a day more Dr N.

    nikeaduke said:
    February 21, 2015 at 7:50 am

    Truly, Dr. N, we should “not be so heavenly minded that we are socially inept”. May God help us all. Congrats Fola!

    nikeaduke said:
    February 21, 2015 at 8:07 am

    Truly, Dr. N, we should “not be so heavenly minded that we are socially inept”. May God help us all. Congratulations Fola!
    Lol @ Frances’ “anointed to win” comment :D.

      drnsmusings responded:
      February 21, 2015 at 10:01 am

      Frances’ anointing is higher than my small blog biko *covers face* How r u?

    E' said:
    February 21, 2015 at 8:56 am

    Hahahahaha.
    Yesooo our Jesus is soooo cool
    Even gives ‘fishroll’ and wine to multitudes in miraculous ways just cos He can.
    Oh no, nothing and no one gets cooler than Him.

      drnsmusings responded:
      February 21, 2015 at 10:00 am

      Yes O! And I’m counting down with u. It’s gonna be smooth

    blogaddict said:
    February 21, 2015 at 9:37 am

    Like Frances i have been trying find a balance on this issue. Thanks Dr N. for shedding more light and congrats to Fola.

    Anonymous Chick said:
    February 22, 2015 at 7:59 am

    I always get a new perspective every time I read your posts.

    Thanks Doc.

    Congrats to Fola. Nice title 🙂

    itstamie said:
    February 22, 2015 at 3:30 pm

    Congrats Fola. Really nice title.

    Dr N, thanks for this topic..I love the balance you brought with it.

    Fola said:
    February 22, 2015 at 3:45 pm

    In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven (Mathew 5:16).

    I’m still a baby Christian, still crawling, trying to rise and take a step but stumbling countless times. Interesting thing is I shan’t give up till my life can glorify Jesus and positively influence people that come across me.

    Thanks for another fresh perspective Dr. N; God bless you.

    Also, thank you for the giveaway; I’m humbled. Thanks to all co-readers who congratulated me. God bless us all.

      drnsmusings responded:
      February 24, 2015 at 4:27 pm

      Yay! Keep d flame shining

      Christain chic. said:
      March 5, 2015 at 1:44 am

      Couldn’t agree more, Jesus is cool! Another great post.. thanks Dr N

        drnsmusings responded:
        March 5, 2015 at 7:29 am

        Thanks for reading

    exceptionalstar said:
    February 22, 2015 at 8:03 pm

    Congratulations Fola. I’ve learnt ma .

    Teniola said:
    February 25, 2015 at 9:55 am

    Such an insightful post, thanks Dr N, and congratsssss Fola.

    Fola said:
    February 26, 2015 at 1:12 pm

    Dr. N, thank you for the give away prize once more.
    This comment is to publicly acknowledge that I received the prize,
    God bless you more.

Leave a Reply

