Speak Up

Posted on Updated on

Not long ago I read the print out of a joke posted on the wall of an office. It was about a patient on life support, who had family and friends gathered, praying desperately for him to come out of coma. Suddenly, a janitor walks up and disconnects the life support machine to plug in his phone charger.

A patient being monitored with a vital signs detector

 

 

At first I laughed, then I frowned. The lady whose office I was in, smiled and asked what I would do in such a case. She did not know that I am a doctor.

“First of all, it is not possible”, I answered.

“How? Maybe the guy just stharted working there. Does he know what the machine is for?”, she countered.

“I have worked in a hospital that was next door to a brothel. When we had bad cases, the call girls

 would mount our fence hurling insults at us. ‘Give him oxygen, wicked people! You had better not ask for money. Let that patient die, you’ll see whatwill happen to you!’. The security men, janitors, e.t.c. know when things are serious. To walk up to a grieving family and unplug a machine? Hmmm. They’ll pounce on you. In fact, no matter how green you are, you won’t try it”

She was unconvinced at first but later conceeded. I went back a week later and the joke was no longer on the wall. Did she remove it or the paper fell off on its own? Who knows. As much as we do not force our opinions on others, we certainly have to learn to speak up.

You don’t want to hurt your wife’s feelings, so, you let her wear an unflattering dress to church. Everyone is wondering if you took a look at her. You don’t want to seem forward, so you let your acquaintance bash women. Who will bell the cat? The time has come for us to lend our voices to our passionate beliefs. Be it women’s rights, child rights, your career, charity, name it. The more the voices, the quicker we drown out the negativity.

I have had horrible experiences from tailors. One held on to my clothes for 2 years and finally returned them unfurnished. The other, kept telling me my outfit was almost ready till the day before the event I needed it for. I turned up and she had absconded. My fabric was intact, uncut, unsewn. (By the way, I am looking for a great tailor so do me an email if you make clothes.)

I still expect that if I make a statement like “Tailors are horrible people”, you should defend your profession. Don’t be intimidated. That is if you are holding up the banner of Christ, though. The media is filled with people of all sexual orientations, nudists, the ungrateful, godless and more. We need to be out there, spreading the fragrance of Christ.

Proverbs says, “How fitting are right words! Like apples of gold in pictures of silver” Are you a student? Let no man despise your youth.Does that mean you should pour your life and energy into defending every mean comment? No, but, silence often means acceptance. Be silent no more.

Cheers

Dr.N

20 thoughts on “Speak Up

    FMB said:
    March 2, 2015 at 5:34 pm

    Tailors just know how to do the worst. But we do need to speak up sometimes, too many people keeping quiet about too many things. (It’s been a while I commented)

    http://www.fynematters.blogspot.com

    livelytwist said:
    March 2, 2015 at 8:33 pm

    Indeed, to every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven: . . . a time to keep silence, and a time to speak; . . . Wisdom is the principal thing, the thing I seek.

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 2, 2015 at 10:19 pm

      Lovely reference. Thanks

    Fola said:
    March 3, 2015 at 8:25 am

    ‘Silence often means acceptance’; so very true.
    We need to propagate the gospel more than ever; in this era of so much evils being advertised.
    God help us

    By the way, I have been severally dealt with by Tailors too.

    dnddyon said:
    March 3, 2015 at 8:56 am

    Right words!

    Anonymous Chick said:
    March 3, 2015 at 9:38 am

    I love livelytwist’s comment. There really is a time fo speak and a time to keep silent. Wisdom is the principal thing indeed. I have landed in hot soup because of some words (although true) unwisely spoken and at the wrong time. I have long learnt wisdom in this regard. Depending on the person/people sometimes it’s not worth wasting one’s words to the hearing of ‘fools’.

    I totally get your point though, we really should speak up for the right principles in the right manner.

    Thanks doc. Pls remember to do a post on my question to the last post on ‘fur and no knickers’. thanks in advance :).

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 3, 2015 at 4:36 pm

      Yeah. I promised to and I will deliver. *winks*

    niki said:
    March 3, 2015 at 4:39 pm

    Yep yep to speaking up! However its not everything that needs a response as we can’t explain ourselves to everyone as you stated, something im currently dealing with. But when we feel that nudge from ‘father’ we should definately speak up! @ eziaha wrote a post on somewhat similar but from a different angle which i loved!

    adaeze said:
    March 4, 2015 at 1:28 am

    eiyah, I really feel bad when I hear about dishonest tailors cuz I do sew clothes on the side (have a paying job). I believe its caused by greed – we accept more jobs than we can handle (no one wants to turn down money 😦 but we end up hurting customers. like my friend’ll say: all these artisans can disappoint. pls call 08170987269, I’ll hook u up :))

    back to the matter, Christians need to speak up, show up, pray up, preach up sef much more than we do. there’s just too much we let slide. God has given us a lot of power and influence.

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 4, 2015 at 7:33 am

      Ehe. I’ll be saving that no. Thanks.
      Yes, we need to be out there bringing in d harvest not cowering in a corner praying for more bags n shoes

    Christain chic. said:
    March 5, 2015 at 1:36 am

    Bless your heart, ma’am. I love this post. Biko we can’t be keeping quiet o, we just can’t. Silence is a luxury we can’t afford especially in dis perversed generation complete with warped philosophy’s and stupid opinions. God is counting on us to speak up boldly and fearlessly. I should also add that keeping quiet ain’t humility o, cos peeps still believe staying quiet is an expression of humility, it doesn’t tally biko. We can’t fit let them outshine/outshout us, the negativities that is, we must speak up.

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 5, 2015 at 7:28 am

      We can’t fit indeed. Lol. Love your comment

    www.thelmathinks.blogspot.com said:
    March 5, 2015 at 3:06 pm

    If i do believe in something, see injustice being done right before me (not on social media from behind my screen), or hear someone speaking against my profession then I’ll most definitely speak up. But not all the time, some people’s ignorance would only frustrate you to your wits’ end if you get involved. That said, where I find difficulty speaking up is when it comes to friends or loved ones. If by speaking up I sense that feelings may be hurt and egos bruised then I become quite reluctant. I know that speaking up would be to their own benefit, yet I’m very wary when it comes to others’ feelings. It’s something I’m presently working on…

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 6, 2015 at 4:13 pm

      Better d wounds of a friend than d kisses of an enemy, says d good book. I would rather my friend told me my make up was off than I went out looking stupid. Lol. Wouldn’t u?

    sandy said:
    March 5, 2015 at 9:51 pm

    Hello Dr N
    I sent you a mail—just checking if you received it

Leave a Reply

