Murder At St. Lucas Hospital 21

Posted on

Portrait of young woman on white background --- Image by © pinkypills/Corbis
Portrait of young woman on white background — Image by © pinkypills/Corbis

 

Barr. Obi was at the NDLEA office to bail Perez and Abel. He had sent a lawyer from his firm to find out the requirements for bail earlier. After hours and hours of negotiations, he managed to get the charges reduced so that they would be allowed to pay a fine. The twins were in a sorry state when they were led into the room used for meetings between counsels and their clients. He had arranged for them to receive meals and a change of clothes but they had not had a bath.

“Hi, guys,” he greeted as they entered.

He rose to shake hands with them. Neither could meet his gaze. They were staring at the floor as though it had an interesting design. He showed them to their seats as he took his. The officer who led them in informed them that they had 30 minutes and left.

“I hope they have been treating you fairly?”

They both grunted.

“I have good news for you. You will appear in court tomorrow and the charge carries a fine rather than jail time.”

He grinned, expecting them to be elated. They were not.

“Uncle Obi does that mean we will be ex-convicts?” Perez asked.

“Well…yes.”

“Is there no other way?”

“I am afraid no.”

The boys looked at each other for a few seconds, mentally adjusting to their new reality. It looked like there was no way out. Both of them nodded simultaneously.

“Yeah?” Barr. Obi asked. “Okay. There is a condition though. I had to get this compromise by using up an old favor. You boys have to do me a favor in return.”

“Favor?” grunted Abel.

“I have an agreement here for you to sign. You cannot come after Veronica or interfere with the administration of St. Lucas for the rest of your lives. If you agree then the deal is sealed. If you don’t, I will leave you at the mercy of our justice system. You already know what that is like.”

He leaned back in his chair and folded his arms. On the table was a document with a pen across it.

“Uncle Obi, are you blackmailing us?” Perez asked.

“No. I am simply looking out for my client, your father. You were not unwilling to pull out the carpet from under Veronica, were you?” Perez banged hard on the table and grated his teeth.

“What I still don’t understand, is why I haven’t heard from Cassandra. Could her father have abandoned her?” Abel mused.

“O, I asked about her. She was released the day you were arrested. I doubt she spent the night here,” Barr. Obi replied.

“Really? Why hasn’t she tried to help me?”

“I guess her parents must have forbidden it. What would you do if you heard your daughter was befriending a drug user?” he said.

“That means Rasheedat is free as well. These women are not loyal at all,” Perez murmured.

“Who is Rasheedat? ” Barr. Obi asked.

“His sugar mummy,” Abel snorted.

Perez glared at him.

“Were you going to say something?” Abel mocked. “Isn’t she older than our mother would have been?”

Perez made a move to grab him but Barr. Obi stopped him.

“No boys, stop!” he raised his voice. “Sign now or I’ll leave! I have a ton of work to do. You are not even paying for my time.”

They were silent, chests heaving with suppressed emotions, fists clenching and unclenching with the desire of each to remove one or two teeth belonging to his brother. Finally, they both sighed.

“We’ll sign, Uncle Obi, “Perez said.

“Just get us out of here,”Abel said.

“Splendid, boys, splendid,” Barr. Obi said, rubbing his hands with glee.

 

*************************************************************************************

“I was approached by a journalist to share the story of my ordeal. The director of the organisation Bobby works for, called me to say he told them about me in confidence and that they will not publish the story without my consent,” Veronica said.

She and Jeff were having lunch at a restaurant close to the hospital. He had formed the habit of meeting her whenever she had a spare minute. That way, they did not have to wait for a time that she could give up an entire day. Letting go of Dr. Korede had increased her workload. She had convinced Dr. Jike to quit his other job and work for her full time. He had given them notice already.

“Hmm,” Jeff murmured.

“What do you think?” She stirred her cocktail, absent minded.

Jeff thought for a while, his head cocked to one side in the way she had come to love. He stroked his beard, leaning his elbow on the table. “What are the pros and cons?” he asked.

“The public might judge me guilty for the boy’s death. They may assume there is some cover-up and villify me. I can’t afford to have a boycott of the hospital.”

“Any pros?”

“Well, this is a long shot. It is possible that people will want to check out the hospital of the good Samaritan. Hey, you never know, ” she said and giggled.

“It helps that the good Samaritan is drop-dead gorgeous,” he said.

Veronica threw back her head and laughed heartily.

“Please, don’t disgrace me here. Why are you laughing like a native fowl?” he teased.

“Me, native fowl?” She pointed at herself.

“Yes, okuko igbo.”

“Then you are okuko ulo. Hehehe,” she said, laughing again.

Jeff reached for her hand when she stopped laughing. Looking solemnly into her eyes, he smiled at her.

“I think you need to conquer the fear of what would happen if people found out, by releasing the information first. The fear of man is a trap. You will be surprised that many people have been through harrowing experiences at the hands of the police. Even though the public often suffers a ‘pull-the-elite-down’ syndrome, we have to believe that there is still a conscience in society,” he said.

Veronica heaved a sigh.

“Ultimately, it’s your choice and I will support your decision. ”

“I have been praying about it. TY also thinks I should go ahead,” she said.

“She does?”

“Yeah.”

“My love, no weapon formed against you will prosper. There is no enchantment that can have an effect on you. You know that right?”

“I do. And thanks for introducing me to your pastor. He has been very encouraging,” she said.

“He’s a great guy.” Suddenly, Jeff chuckled at a memory.

“What’s that? ” she asked.

“O, I just remembered something, ” he evaded.

She didn’t say anything. She just looked at him in a way that was loaded with meaning. They had already agreed that their relationship would be on the basis of full disclosure.

“O well,” he said with a grimace. ” He asked that I link you with Pastor Kehinde, his associate who sometimes oversees the counselling department and I refused.”

“Why?” she wondered.

He squirmed in his seat, reluctant to share.

“Jeff?”

“He asked me the same question. Darling, I don’t trust these pastors O! Pastor Kehinde is single and desperately searching. I can’t shout,” he said.

Veronica stared at him for some seconds, incredulous, before bursting into laughter. “What!” she shrieked.

“I told Pastor point blank. You don’t send a goat to guard your yam, except you never planned to eat it in the first place. From counselling now, I will hear, “I’m sorry but I don’t think my spirit agrees with this”. Nne, O naghi ara ahu Ihe mmadu aho ihe onye ozo (It is not difficult for one’s property to be claimed by another).”

Veronica stopped laughing long enough to ask, “What did Pastor say?”

“He started laughing. The guy knows what’s up. Is there anything he has not seen in ministry? ”

“Jeff! You are hilarious, ” she said, choking with mirth.

He rose to pat her back gently. “Don’t laugh too much.”

“Yeah, right: Comedian like you,” she said.

“It is you who brings out the best in me. I surprise myself, honestly, ” he said, shrugging as he took his seat.

She felt a warm glow at his words. It was time to leave but she lingered, wanting to extend the moment for as long as possible.

*************************************************************************************

 

Inspector Kome had come up with a plan to trap Ekemini. After Amina’s briefing, they brainstormed on how to prove that she killed Edet. There was the option of arresting her and forcing her to confess but that was not their style. They tried to stick to the rules, as hard as it was to do that in Nigeria.

“You mean the boy called his best friend from the hospital? ” Isaac asked.

“He borrowed a nurse’s phone and told Tolu what went down that day,” Amina had said. ” Edet caught her abusing a two year old child she was paid to mind. It appears many women leave their children in her care and pay her a stipend. That is her source of livelihood. If she is exposed, the vigilantes in that settlement are merciless. They will beat her within an inch of her life, strip her and parade her around the streets naked.”

“What a devil!” Garba exclaimed.

“She actually threatened to kill him if he told anyone. He was running away from her when he ran into the street and got hit by the bike,” Amina narrated.

“Kai!” Isaac shuddered.

“The woman stayed by him in the hospital, pretending to be taking care of him. Meanwhile, she was ensuring that he did not confide in anyone. Ultimately, she had to leave when she feared her continued stay would raise suspicion,” Amina said.

“What made her kill him then?”

“That is what we have to find out,” Kome said. “Let us arrest the security man. He will sing like a canary when I get my hands on him. I doubt he has ever been slapped by an officer.”

Amina laughed. “Kome, that your slap works magic, eh!”

“My sister, I am only fighting the Lord’s battles, ” he said with a grin.

“Good plan. We will descend on the hospital at 11pm. Only Veronica should know our plan so she can keep tabs on the guy. There is something about being whisked away at night. It makes even the most daring lose courage, ” Isaac decided.

“Done!” they all agreed.

 

*************************************************************************************

 

To be continued. Dr. N

26 thoughts on “Murder At St. Lucas Hospital 21

    Anonymous Chick said:
    October 11, 2015 at 7:22 am

    A two year old?! Lord have mercy!

    Mehn me I concur with Jeff oh! You really cannot give a hungry goat who is seriously searching your precious yam to look after lol

    Thanks doc! Waiting for this to unfold even more…. And looking forward to that anointed slap that Kome is going to give that silly security man

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 11, 2015 at 12:40 pm

      Anointed slap, hahaha

      E' said:
      October 11, 2015 at 9:22 pm

      Me too
      Looking fwd to the slap

    Oyinlola said:
    October 11, 2015 at 7:24 am

    Veronica and Jeff’s part of the episode was the sweetest. I love love the camaraderie. They will last. The prophetess has spoken. Thumbs up to Barr Obi, smart move.
    Now I can raise my voice in praise as I head off to Church.

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 11, 2015 at 12:39 pm

      Yes prophetess! Holy!

    MK said:
    October 11, 2015 at 7:58 am

    Totally in love and Veronica and Jeff’s unfolding relationship….Christain relationship modelled by 2unperfect people! Look forward to a new episode every week 😁
    Great work Dr N …though I have never commented I must be your number 1 blog stalker 😆

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 11, 2015 at 12:41 pm

      Nice to meet u MK. Please don’t be a stranger. Cheers

    adefunke62 said:
    October 11, 2015 at 1:44 pm

    Seriously Jeff, luv u, hold on tight to her o

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 11, 2015 at 6:52 pm

      Why u dey love Jeff? Park well O. He belongs to u-know-who. Lol

    blogaddict said:
    October 11, 2015 at 3:41 pm

    Is it just me or is this episode too short *confused face*.
    Jeff and Veronica’s relationship giving me life since 1900.
    People dont fear God o! @ Ekemini, if u ask me the vigilante should deal with her first before the law. #evilinhighplaces.
    Well done Dr. N.

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 11, 2015 at 6:53 pm

      Take it easy. #evilinhighpkaces

    dnddyon said:
    October 11, 2015 at 4:23 pm

    Nice

    E' said:
    October 11, 2015 at 8:54 pm

    Nne I was in the kitchen prepping a cuppa Green tea when I just said ‘but things are happening in St. LUCAS that dr N ain’t sharing with us na…’lol. Just entered my room and saw the post. Haha. Lemme get into bed and savor… *licks lip*

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 12, 2015 at 8:01 am

      This comment is so funny. Lol. Things r happening where? Kikikiki

    exceptionalstar said:
    October 11, 2015 at 9:02 pm

    Barrister is quite smart. I Love Jeff and Vero blooming love. Splendid work Doc.

    E' said:
    October 11, 2015 at 9:21 pm

    A physical pain… when I realised I had gotten to the end.

    Phew!!!

    I will be patient. Thank you Dr. N

    Now these Ogwu brothers ike gwuru!!!

    ada said:
    October 12, 2015 at 12:51 am

    Lol @ goat guarding your yam, can’t be telling stories that touch o. Dr N, I imagine Inspector Kome prays on his hand before giving “the slap”, e.g Father let my hand become an instrument of truth…, amen.

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 12, 2015 at 8:02 am

      Hahaha. Your imagination sha.

    thegracedmisfit said:
    October 12, 2015 at 2:23 pm

    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂
    There’s this warm feeling I get after reading your posts. One day I’ll find the right words to describe it.
    The comments are so hilarious too!
    Trust you and your family are doing well.

    http://www.thegracedmisfit.com

    Fola said:
    October 12, 2015 at 4:18 pm

    God forgive me but I love that the twins now carry the ex-convict tag.
    Jeff………no words
    Kome, I wish we had many of his type in the Nigerian Police Force.
    Ekemini? I love this twist.
    Bia, Dr. N, I thought this would be the final episode? Biko ooooo
    Thanks Doc. Regards to the family

      drnsmusings responded:
      October 12, 2015 at 4:44 pm

      Rounding up soon. Not to worry

    D'Dream said:
    October 21, 2015 at 5:57 pm

    Iyaff missed alot oooo. Choi!

Leave a Reply

