The Woman I Deserve 5

Posted on

Happy young businessman using digital tablet --- Image by © Sonja Pacho/Corbis
Happy young businessman using digital tablet — Image by © Sonja Pacho/Corbis

 

 

Ovie was not surprised to see Ama in his office. He had expected her from the moment he told PA that he had fixed a meeting with Toyosi for 2pm on Wednesday. The man had looked absolutely bewildered. He almost pitied him. And he knew that Ama would notice his nervousness and come to him to dig for information. This had been their custom for a few years. Ama had tried to relate with PA as the public persona whose charisma on stage could charm your socks off. When she kept being faced with the private PA who was reticent, she learned to ask Ovie for anything she couldn’t get from him.

He was eating a sandwich, nursing a cappuccino, when she knocked and entered.

“Good morning, Sis,” he greeted, rising to give her a hug.

Ovisco, Ovisco! How far?”

He smiled at the term of endearment and helped her into a chair.

“How is PA?” he asked.

“That is why I am here. Ovisco, you didn’t tell me he met someone? He has been fidgety all morning,” she said, resting her elbows on his desk and fixing her stare on him.

“The girl is PO’s editor. It is not that you should start buying aso ebi. She is only going to go over the draft of that book he has been working on.” He swallowed the last bite of his meal and gulped down his drink. “Would you like something to drink?”

“No,” Ama replied. “Give me the gist first. What is she like? What’s her name? In fact, give me her name let me google her.” She brought out her phone.

“Toyosi Olayinka is her name. From the little I gathered, she studied creative writing in UK and now writes for an online magazine while doing free lance copy writing, editing, shadow writing and the like. I heard her late dad was an ambassador. Her mother owns a primary school in Ibadan that is doing very well and she is in the media team in PO’s church.”

While Ovie was narrating, Ama was scrolling through Toyosi’s pictures which she had found on facebook.

“The girl is not bad at all. She has a great figure,” she commented without looking up.

“Don’t get ahead of yourself. PA may be in the market but there is no haste. It’s not like he has an ovary full of dying eggs,” he joked.

They locked gazes and laughed as they remembered the lady who had come to as PA to pray for her a few years before. As was his custom, he never let any lady into his office when he was alone, so he invited Ama and Ovie in. They were hard pressed not to laugh as the woman emphasized on her “ovary full of dying eggs” despite PA’s attempts to build faith in her heart that she could find a husband at 43. It had become a private joke.

“Why do you think PA has never married?” Ama suddenly wondered.

“Beats me,” he shrugged. “The man doesn’t keep secrets so I used to believe he had a command from God to remain unmarried. For him to reverse his position without saying God said so, means it was a personal decision.”

“He is an only child and an orphan. I would have expected him to be in a hurry to continue his bloodline.”

“If I were in his position, my relatives would have given me an earful. As it is, my mother keeps calling to beg me to settle down.”

“Ovie, why did you break up with Wendy? If you continue like this, you will gain a bad reputation in church. Sisters will start avoiding you because you will be known as a serial dater.” Ama wagged a finger at him.

“Are you sure it hasn’t already happened?” Ovie was sober.

“Why?”

“The other day, I was teasing Sis. Angela of Ushering. I only held her hand and told her she was looking pretty. The way she batted my hand away and shunned me, eh? I was confused.”

“Maybe she was kidding.”

“That was what I thought so, I followed her, asking her what was wrong. She called me ‘heart-breaker’. Na wah O!”

“Na wah O!” Ama repeated. “They shouldn’t put my Ovie on a blacklist. I will have to do some damage control.”

“Thanks, Sis. You are the best.” Ovie took her hands in his and rubbed them.

“There is a condition. You have to wait till you are sure you have found the girl you would like to marry before dating again.”

“Ha! That is too harsh.”

“You can’t keep dating for the fun of it. It is a serious thing. Girls are emotional. You want to take them out, raise their hopes and then walk away when they try to pin you to a commitment? I can’t support that.”

Ovie sighed. “PA said the same thing.”

“Out of the mouths of two witnesses…”

“I can play though?” He raised an eyebow with his most charming smile.

“No flirting. And this is not me being hard. There is no way my damage control will work if you don’t change.”

Ovie nodded. He could see that Ama was right.

 

Pastor Allen was chatting with his associate pastor, Pastor Odion, when Ama called to tell him that he had a phone call.

“Who is it?” he asked.

“A lady called Toyosi.”

“Thanks. I’ll take it.” He turned to his guest. “Let me take this call.”

Pastor Odion nodded and smiled. “Of course.”

PA picked the receiver up and held it to his ear. “Hello.”

“Good morning, PA,” came the most sonorous voice ever.

“Good morning. PA, it’s me, Toyosi.”

“Hello.”

“Hi. I just wanted to ask that you send me the draft you have written via email. I want to read it before we meet. You are very busy and I would not like to waste your time.”

“I will ask my secretary to send it right away.”

“My email is Toyosilove@gmail.com. Did you get that or was I too fast?”

“No, you were not…I mean I got it…” He hated himself for stuttering. It didn’t help that Pastor Odion was trying unsuccessfully to hide his interest in the conversation he was over hearing.

“Have a great day, then.”

“God bless you, my sister.”

“Bless you too.”

When he ended the call, Pastor Odion scooted forward in his chair. “How did you meet her?”

“Meet who?”

“PA, I have never seen you blushing over a phone call. This girl has you wrapped around her finger.”

“Nobody has me wrapped in any way. She is PO’s editor…”

“Yes, I have heard that version but you and I know you have an editor, Dauda. He has read your draft and made recommendations. The last I heard was that he asked you to ditch the book because that topic has been over-flogged. How come you are now consulting PO’s editor?”

“I have to give it one last shot. She made PO’s books best sellers.”

“So there is no romantic interest?”

Pastor Allen shrugged. “Why you are all jumping to conclusions? ‘He that believeth shall not make haste.’”

“I believe, PA. I also believe that the way of men and women is mysterious. You know what, I will plan to be here for your meeting with her. That way, I can check her out,” he offered.

“You are too kind but, I am not ready for that. I have to decide to go after her before I ask you or anyone else to check her out.”

“In a multitude of counselors there is safety.”

“Odion, get up and go to your office. I think too much fasting is affecting you. Let me call your wife to come and pick you up,” PA teased.

Both men laughed.

*******************************************************************

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ovie was not surprised to see Ama in his office. He had expected her from the moment he told PA that he had fixed a meeting with Toyosi for 2pm on Wednesday. The man had looked absolutely bewildered. He almost pitied him. And he knew that Ama would notice his nervousness and come to him to dig for information. This had been their custom for a few years. Ama had tried to relate with PA as the public persona whose charisma on stage could charm your socks off. When she kept being faced with the private PA who was reticent, she learned to ask Ovie for anything she couldn’t get from him.

He was eating a sandwich, nursing a cappuccino, when she knocked and entered.

“Good morning, Sis,” he greeted, rising to give her a hug.

Ovisco, Ovisco! How far?”

He smiled at the term of endearment and helped her into a chair.

“How is PA?” he asked.

“That is why I am here. Ovisco, you didn’t tell me he met someone? He has been fidgety all morning,” she said, resting her elbows on his desk and fixing her stare on him.

“The girl is PO’s editor. It is not that you should start buying aso ebi. She is only going to go over the draft of that book he has been working on.” He swallowed the last bite of his meal and gulped down his drink. “Would you like something to drink?”

“No,” Ama replied. “Give me the gist first. What is she like? What’s her name? In fact, give me her name let me google her.” She brought out her phone.

“Toyosi Olayinka is her name. From the little I gathered, she studied creative writing in UK and now writes for an online magazine while doing free lance copy writing, editing, shadow writing and the like. I heard her late dad was an ambassador. Her mother owns a primary school in Ibadan that is doing very well and she is in the media team in PO’s church.”

While Ovie was narrating, Ama was scrolling through Toyosi’s pictures which she had found on facebook.

“The girl is not bad at all. She has a great figure,” she commented without looking up.

“Don’t get ahead of yourself. PA may be in the market but there is no haste. It’s not like he has an ovary full of dying eggs,” he joked.

They locked gazes and laughed as they remembered the lady who had come to as PA to pray for her a few years before. As was his custom, he never let any lady into his office when he was alone, so he invited Ama and Ovie in. They were hard pressed not to laugh as the woman emphasized on her “ovary full of dying eggs” despite PA’s attempts to build faith in her heart that she could find a husband at 43. It had become a private joke.

“Why do you think PA has never married?” Ama suddenly wondered.

“Beats me,” he shrugged. “The man doesn’t keep secrets so I used to believe he had a command from God to remain unmarried. For him to reverse his position without saying God said so, means it was a personal decision.”

“He is an only child and an orphan. I would have expected him to be in a hurry to continue his bloodline.”

“If I were in his position, my relatives would have given me an earful. As it is, my mother keeps calling to beg me to settle down.”

“Ovie, why did you break up with Wendy? If you continue like this, you will gain a bad reputation in church. Sisters will start avoiding you because you will be known as a serial dater.” Ama wagged a finger at him.

“Are you sure it hasn’t already happened?” Ovie was sober.

“Why?”

“The other day, I was teasing Sis. Angela of Ushering. I only held her hand and told her she was looking pretty. The way she batted my hand away and shunned me, eh? I was confused.”

“Maybe she was kidding.”

“That was what I thought so, I followed her, asking her what was wrong. She called me ‘heart-breaker’. Na wah O!”

“Na wah O!” Ama repeated. “They shouldn’t put my Ovie on a blacklist. I will have to do some damage control.”

“Thanks, Sis. You are the best.” Ovie took her hands in his and rubbed them.

“There is a condition. You have to wait till you are sure you have found the girl you would like to marry before dating again.”

“Ha! That is too harsh.”

“You can’t keep dating for the fun of it. It is a serious thing. Girls are emotional. You want to take them out, raise their hopes and then walk away when they try to pin you to a commitment? I can’t support that.”

Ovie sighed. “PA said the same thing.”

“Out of the mouths of two witnesses…”

“I can play though?” He raised an eyebow with his most charming smile.

“No flirting. And this is not me being hard. There is no way my damage control will work if you don’t change.”

Ovie nodded. He could see that Ama was right.

 

Pastor Allen was chatting with his associate pastor, Pastor Odion, when Ama called to tell him that he had a phone call.

“Who is it?” he asked.

“A lady called Toyosi.”

“Thanks. I’ll take it.” He turned to his guest. “Let me take this call.”

Pastor Odion nodded and smiled. “Of course.”

PA picked the receiver up and held it to his ear. “Hello.”

“Good morning, PA,” came the most sonorous voice ever.

“Good morning. PA, it’s me, Toyosi.”

“Hello.”

“Hi. I just wanted to ask that you send me the draft you have written via email. I want to read it before we meet. You are very busy and I would not like to waste your time.”

“I will ask my secretary to send it right away.”

“My email is Toyosilove@gmail.com. Did you get that or was I too fast?”

“No, you were not…I mean I got it…” He hated himself for stuttering. It didn’t help that Pastor Odion was trying unsuccessfully to hide his interest in the conversation he was over hearing.

“Have a great day, then.”

“God bless you, my sister.”

“Bless you too.”

When he ended the call, Pastor Odion scooted forward in his chair. “How did you meet her?”

“Meet who?”

“PA, I have never seen you blushing over a phone call. This girl has you wrapped around her finger.”

“Nobody has me wrapped in any way. She is PO’s editor…”

“Yes, I have heard that version but you and I know you have an editor, Dauda. He has read your draft and made recommendations. The last I heard was that he asked you to ditch the book because that topic has been over-flogged. How come you are now consulting PO’s editor?”

“I have to give it one last shot. She made PO’s books best sellers.”

“So there is no romantic interest?”

Pastor Allen shrugged. “Why you are all jumping to conclusions? ‘He that believeth shall not make haste.’”

“I believe, PA. I also believe that the way of men and women is mysterious. You know what, I will plan to be here for your meeting with her. That way, I can check her out,” he offered.

“You are too kind but, I am not ready for that. I have to decide to go after her before I ask you or anyone else to check her out.”

“In a multitude of counselors there is safety.”

“Odion, get up and go to your office. I think too much fasting is affecting you. Let me call your wife to come and pick you up,” PA teased.

Both men laughed.

*******************************************************************

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “The Woman I Deserve 5

    Susan said:
    February 15, 2016 at 10:04 pm

    Nice but short! Wondering how Ama will perform the magic damage control to help “Ovisco Ovisco”! He’ll probably eventually get a girl from another church.
    Thanks Dr N!
    Couldn’t comment on the last one as I read it on the go. Toyosi’s character can’t remain hidden for too long. Sad though.

      drnsmusings responded:
      February 16, 2016 at 6:30 am

      Let’s see how it goes. But why r y’all judging Sis. T ? Don’t we all lose our temper? Lol

    Jedidah said:
    February 15, 2016 at 11:20 pm

    I concur. Time always brings with it the truth. But is this shyness normal? This is too much na

      Jedidah said:
      February 15, 2016 at 11:25 pm

      Well done Dr.N. The flashback to the lady full of dying ovaries was epic! 😁😂..What desperation does.

        drnsmusings responded:
        February 16, 2016 at 6:31 am

        If u were 43 u wld be nervous O. It’s not easy. Lol

      drnsmusings responded:
      February 16, 2016 at 6:30 am

      Can’t somebody be shy in peace?

    Fola said:
    February 17, 2016 at 3:30 pm

    Hmmmm…..I still wish Toyosi will not end up being Mrs. PA. Don’t know how church members would handle a ‘Toyosi-like mummy G.O.’

    exceptionalstar said:
    February 19, 2016 at 3:41 pm

    This grand meeting should come already

Leave a Reply

