The Woman I Deserve 9

Posted on

Happy young businessman using digital tablet --- Image by © Sonja Pacho/Corbis
Happy young businessman using digital tablet — Image by © Sonja Pacho/Corbis

 

Chapter 4

 

Toyosi was on her way to PA’s office. She had tried to wring a date out of him to no avail. The man took no chances. One day, she had sent him a text complaining of ill health but he only prayed for her and asked her to go to the hospital. She could not believe it when he did not rush to her bedside.

“Perhaps, he is waiting for divine confirmation or something?” she thought. “Oluwa pick up my call.”

She parked in the lot and dialed Ovie’s number. It was he who she was relying on to get into PA’s office.

“Hello?” she said when he answered. “Ovie, I’m here.”

“Sister T, I don’t know how this is going to work out. PA will skin me alive. I suggest you wait in the lot. We are going out in twenty minutes. You can walk up to him as he exits the church office.” Ovie’s voice was low, like he was whispering.

“You think that is a better idea?”

“It will protect me. The reason I have maintained my relationship with him over the years is that I don’t cross the line.”

“Ovie, do you think I have any hope? I am in love with PA. Shei, he won’t break my heart?” Toyosi’s voice was child-like, petulant.

“Sister T let me be honest. I think he likes you. You are the only woman I have ever seen him chat with the way he does. He even asked me what I think about you.”

“He did?” Toyosi let out a whoop. “What did you say? Tell me. Tell me. I hope you said something nice?”

“Of course, I did. The thing is that, you cannot read PA. He will not ask you on a date unless he has decided that he is going to marry you. That is his philosophy. He doesn’t test the waters. He just dives in.”

“Wow! That’s the kind of man I need.” Toyosi could not help grinning. “What should I say when I see him?”

“You can tell him you came to have a consultation with any of the other pastors or to buy books from the bookstore.”

“Okay. Done.”

*******************************************************************

Ama was on the phone with her son who was in boarding school. His school had called to say he had a fever and to request permission to get him medical care.

“Have you eaten? I hope you are not vomiting? Where did this fever come from? It seems there are too many mosquitoes in that your school.” She was saying so many things that he could barely respond.

“Mom, I am not that sick.”

“What do you mean by that? If you were not sick they would not have called me,” she fretted.

“It’s okay, Mom. I will soon get better. Don’t worry.”

“Promise me you’ll take all your medication?”

“I promise.”

“Don’t chuck them out the window like you used to.”

“I already promised, Mom!”

“I love you. PA will pray for you, do you hear?”

“Sure, Mom. Say hi for me.”

 

At that moment, PA appeared in the doorway. He was flanked by POD and Ovie. They were headed to a prayer event in town.

“Any news?” he asked her.

“He said he is not that sick.” She frowned.

“I told you not to worry.”

“Shouldn’t I drive down there?”

“Absolutely not! He is a man. Let him get over a simple bout of malaria without you mopping his brow, okay? Can you do that?”

She bit her lip.

“PA is right. I think the school would have sent him home if he was really ill,” POD added.

“You know ever since their father died, I have been their father and mother…”

“No pity-party, Ama. We have heard that story before. The man died six years ago. Let’s move on, shall we?” PA was firm, not unkind.

Ama nodded.

“You will not drive down to that school to ‘mummy’ that boy, agreed?” He cocked his head to one side.

“Yes, Sir.”

“Good. Ovie, get my tablet. I think I left it in my drawer,” he turned to Ovie.

*******************************************************************

 

Zina was on her way home from work when her phone rang. She reached for her bag and brought it out. The number was unsaved but she answered anyway.

“Hello. Good evening.”

“Good evening. This is Ovie. We met in church yesterday.”

“O! Hi.”

“I hope I am not calling at a bad time?”

“No, it’s fine.”

“How was your day?”

“Hectic but then, I live for the adrenaline, so go figure.” Zina laughed.

He laughed with her. “Shall I nickname you ‘Adrenaline-junkie’?”

“It’s not that bad, please. I wouldn’t go bungee-jumping or paragliding or something.”

“I would. Maybe I should invite you next time I am on some dare-devil adventure?”

“Maybe you should.”

“Nice.”

There was a pause.

“Ovie, if I may ask, did you call me to find out how adventurous I am?”

“What if I did? Your figure in that blue dress was enough to inspire an adventure,” he teased.

“What was that?”

“I said the kingdom suffereth violence and the violence take it by force.”

Zina burst into laughter. “You are hilarious!”

“Pleased to be of service…”

“Um…Could I call you back? I have to take a call on my other phone.”

Ovie made a face in his office from where he was making the call.

“This girl is ruining the moment!”

“O, sure. Let’s talk later,” he said.

“Thanks.”

 

It was a sunny afternoon. PA and his friend Pastor Onyema (PO) were in the home of a third pastor Mofe, having a chat. Pastor Mofe had just returned from a brief sojourn abroad where he had planted churches in 3 nations. He was a portly fellow whose loud voice and boisterous manner bellied his emotional depth.

“Help me ask this guy why he has not plucked the ripe cherry that fell into his lap, Mofe,” PO was saying. “This girl is a looker, accomplished and spirit-filled. What is he waiting for?”

Egbon, I thought you had vowed to remain single?” Pastor Mofe asked.

PA cleared his throat and smiled.

“What do you think of her?” PO asked directly.

“She’s a very nice girl,” he replied.

“O ho! What did I say?” PO slapped his knee.

“Have you asked her out?” Pastor Mofe asked.

“No.”

“Are you still praying or something?”

“Please ask him,” PO muttered.

“I think it is my prerogative to find a wife,” PA said.

“Every good and perfect gift comes from above,” PO quoted.

“I think what he means is he doesn’t appreciate being told what to do. PA has a mind of his own. That he keeps quiet doesn’t make him a pushover,” Pastor Mofe said.

“I am not forcing the girl on him. He was the one who asked me to link him with any good girl I know. Besides, he likes her. If I were you, PA, I will act fast before your members get wind of the fact that you are now available. The torrent of proposals you will receive will run you out of town,” PO advised.

“Ol’ boy, I don’t know how you have survived all these years,” Pastor Mofe said, chuckling.

“It takes grace plus tight security.” PA picked his phone to send a text to Ovie.

Pastor Mofe’s wife entered the room and sat on the couch beside her husband. She was a few years older than him but this was not obvious as her slim frame bellied her age. They all called her Mama.

“Thanks for the snails, Mama. I enjoyed them,” PA said, smiling.

“You need a wife, PA; someone who will fatten you. See how skinny you have become,” she teased.

“Yes, Mama,” he affected a child-like voice which drew laughter.

“This PA pretends to be quiet but he dishes out humor when you least expect it,” she said.

“Mama, I hope you have some for him to take home? That his cook cannot prepare delicacies like this one,” PO offered.

PA glared at him in jest. “What is your problem with my cook?”

“How can a man be cooking for you? Don’t you know women put love in food?” PO teased.

That love, I no need am, abeg!” PA protested.

Everyone laughed. Pastor Mofe had spoken less than he usually would. He had been reclining on the couch, picking at his teeth with a toothpick. Now, he cleared his throat.

“PA, you made the decision for reasons best known to you, to go into misinstry for so many years without a wife by your side. I have spoken to you a number of times, asking you to reconsider the choice, based on the fact that the word of God says “He sent them out in twos”. You never defended your decision except to say that you will know when it is time.”

Everyone in the room nodded in rapt attention.

“I think what we owe you is prayer and support. We may choose to introduce ladies to you or not but ultimately, you will decide. So, PO, let him be. I propose we share a word of prayer that God will connect him with destiny. Let us rise.”

They all rose to their feet as a somber mood hit the room. PA knelt while they stretched their hands over him in prayer that he would receive divine guidance in the choice of a wife.

 

*******************************************************************

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

30 thoughts on “The Woman I Deserve 9

    Fola said:
    March 13, 2016 at 2:48 pm

    Yes, divine guidance he really needs. I still maintain my reservations about that Toyosi. For Ovie, I think it’s getting to the time he would get played.
    Short but interesting. Nice one Doc.

    blogaddict said:
    March 13, 2016 at 2:48 pm

    Wait o! Is it that I am a fast reader or this episode is way too short?
    Dr N pls, dan-allah, doo, mbok, biko, abeg fix this.
    Nice read as always! Bia Ovie keep off PA’s destiny aka Zina. unless u want us to rain fire on you…lol!

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 13, 2016 at 6:01 pm

      I thought it was long O!

      E' said:
      March 14, 2016 at 8:59 pm

      Pa’s destiny??! Good Lord!!! Lol

    exceptionalstar said:
    March 13, 2016 at 7:08 pm

    Ovie stop playing puppet to Toyosi.

    brytnex said:
    March 13, 2016 at 10:22 pm

    More inspiration I pray!
    I join hands with PO and Pastor Mofe to cover Pk from every Toyosi. Amen.

    Susan said:
    March 14, 2016 at 4:18 pm

    No beta comment to comment. Well done Chief!

    Jedidah said:
    March 14, 2016 at 7:58 pm

    Dr. N 👏👏👍,more grace. God will not let PA fall into that trap no matter how ‘late ‘it seems. Me, I don’t only pray for guidance for PA, I bind Toyosi join

    E' said:
    March 14, 2016 at 8:58 pm

    Whooooosh I feel the anointing right here in that living room.
    Talk about gooooood friends. Eeeeek!!!
    BTW what happened with the car park meeting na? Did I miss it?

    And where is my Zina and her former bestie. Lol. I missed them ooooo

    Well done Dr N. Well done!!!

    E’

    Tamie said:
    March 15, 2016 at 9:53 am

    Ovie n Zina….. Hmmmmmmmm
    Toyosi, Cam’dan naaa..
    PA really needs that prayer to guide him as he makes his choice.
    Well done ma.

    Dami Loves said:
    March 15, 2016 at 10:14 am

    I’m so glad they prayed for him instead of castigating him, we all need to be friends worth having. This was short but I’m certain part 10 is on the way.
    Well Done doc.
    …. Toyosi though? Na wa

    D'Dream said:
    March 15, 2016 at 4:12 pm

    Oboi iyaff missed oooooo. Let me get down to reading as I am feeling lost already

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 15, 2016 at 8:08 pm

      Welcome back. Kindly tell me what u think (from a man’s perspective)
      cheers

    Zinny said:
    March 15, 2016 at 9:10 pm

    OK, I am offended. Why is Toyosi revealing her desperation like this? It’s ruining her mystique; her cool. Jeez. Anyhoo, she is not the one I am rooting for.

    Ovie,. Ovie. Ovie, Heh. How many times did I call you? Aunty Zina appears too elegant, too mature for you(no offense). I nor sure say she is the one you have been seeking o
    …Then again, nor be me story teller.

    Oya, doc, complete the story naaa. I come here everyday to sample a new chapter and I leave hungry.
    Biko, receive Inspiration in Jesus name and finish this story..
    Some of us are very fast readers

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 16, 2016 at 12:35 pm

      Lol @.some of us are very fast readers

    Nike Aduke said:
    March 17, 2016 at 7:27 am

    Beautiful story. PA sure needs prayers. I don’t want him to fall into the trap of Toyosi (the one who fasts in her heart).
    Ovie should not bother himself o jare.
    Welldone, Dr. N!

      drnsmusings responded:
      March 17, 2016 at 8:32 am

      Thanks for reading Nike

    misggrace said:
    March 18, 2016 at 10:52 am

    I really enjoy your write up….. More grace to you Dr

    kutekc said:
    March 29, 2016 at 10:16 pm

    Nooooo…. too short! *tears* . Lool. Interesting as usual. Weldone ma’am

Leave a Reply

