The Woman I Deserve 15

Posted on

Happy young businessman using digital tablet --- Image by © Sonja Pacho/Corbis
Happy young businessman using digital tablet — Image by © Sonja Pacho/Corbis

 

 

“Ima, you would not believe what happened to me today?” Zina clapped her hands as she spoke, seated on a kitchen stool in front of Imaobong who was kneading dough.

“What happened? Did you get lost?” Ima did not look at her but spoke with her eyes on the bowl she was working on.

“No, the house was easy to find.”

“Wasn’t Ovie there?”

“He was O!”

Imaobong stopped what she was doing and looked up with a frown. “Did he try anything funny?”

Zina laughed. “No.”

“So what is it?”

“I met PA.”

“For real? I don’t think I have really had a close encounter with him despite years of being a member of the church. He is very quiet.”

“Hmm…”

Imaobong narrowed her gaze when she saw that her friend had more to spill. However,she didn’t have to beg Zina to indulge her.

“He was sitting in front of the house. I thought it was Ovie and covered his eyes.”

“Abasi mbok!” Imaobong screamed. “You covered whose eyes?”

“I nearly fainted when he turned. Kai! My sister, foolishness is not good.”

Imaobong had her hand over her mouth, her eyes wide in astonishment.

“Wait till you hear the rest.”

“There is more? You mean he did not bind you and cast you out into the abyss? I heard he doesn’t play.”

“He plays O. I had to pry my hands out of his grasp,” Zina said, straight-faced.

“He held your hands? How?”

“He said I have very soft hands, that I am lovely and interesting.”

“It’s a lie! Zina, you are lying!” By this time, Imaobong was hitting her friends laps in disbelief.

“Ima, I cannot make up such a story.”

“Whaaaaaaaat!”

“Hmm…I was struggling not to bite my mouth. But Ima, that guy is fiiiiiine! Why didn’t you tell me?”

“Tell you? Haven’t you been seeing him in church?”

“This ‘seeing’ was different. He was casually dressed and down to earth and he is a very good listener.” Her voice was becoming dreamy.

“Zina! You are in line to become the 1st lady O! I can’t believe it. My friend as PA’s wife?” Imaobong began to pace the kitchen, one hand on her hip, the other tugging at her chin.

“Hahaha! That is not likely to happen. He was just carried away.”

Imaobong stopped and faced her. “What do you mean? Now that I thought of it, you are a perfect fit. You are confident, out-spoken, used to being in leadership, well-versed in scripture, spirit-filled and stunning to boot. What’s to stop you from filling the vacancy?”

“I didn’t know there was a vancancy.”

“I didn’t either. He has been single for long and he promotes singleness. There was a time women were out to snare him but I think he wore them out. Besides, he has impregnable security. How did you even get so close to him?”

“I went to see Ovie. In fact I forgot he lives with PA. The man was just sitting there casually and he was hidden by some plants.”

“This has to be divine.”

“Na! I think God just wanted to teach me to see Pastors as human beings. I am in no way Pastor-wife material,” Zina shook her head sadly.

“Do you have anything against marrying a pastor?”

“No. I never thought about it but, I think it’s a call for those who have spotless records. I can’t even deceive myself on that one.”

“Who is spotless? Only the lamb is pure, my dear. Even PA is no angel.”

Zina frowned. “Does he have scandals trailing him?”

“No but, he always says salvation is a gift. We do nothing to earn it and we have no right to determine who is qualified before God and who is not. All have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.”

A call on Imaobong’s phone interrupted their conversation, leaving Zina to her thoughts.

All have sinned indeed but some sins leave scars and they are visible for the world to judge you. There are sins God may forgive but man may never forgive. I will live with the consequences of my decisions but which Pastor will join himself to a woman with my kind of baggage? No, it will never happen.

 

 

Moji, Idara and Toyosi were coming from the house of a musician they had gone to interview for their magazine. They were in Moji’s car, a roomy SUV with state of the arts fittings. Idara was fiddling with her camera in her lap. She was wearing a tank top on blue jeans, her standard work gear except they were attending a formal event. Moji was dressed in a black caftan, her expensive weave cascading down her shoulders in attempt to soften her hard frame. Toyosi was wearing a floral top on white capris. She looked lovely with her hair in a bun and minimal accessories.

“So how is your relationship with that Pastor? Have you guys fixed a date for the wedding?” Moji asked, tongue-in-cheek.

Idara rolled her eyes, wordlessly.

“What do you mean by ‘have we fixed a date’? Are you mocking me?” Toyosi was incensed.

“No, my dear,” Moji smirked.

“Anyway, he called me yesterday to invite me on a date.”

“Na lie!” Idara scoffed.

“I have a text to prove it. Do you want to see?” She handed her phone over to Moji as she spoke.

Moji and Idara read the message aloud, incredulous.

“10 am on Thursday at Brioche café is fine. Regards, PA.”

“Who is laughing, now?” Toyosi sang. “Behold, as long as the earth remains, seed-time and harvest-time will not cease.”

Her two friends glanced at each other and swallowed every thought of the intervention they had planned. She was obviously succeeding in her schemes. PA had never had a meeting with her in private and most of the meetings were instigated by her. That he was willing to be seen with her in a café was almost a public declaration of his interest in her.

Idara was almost seized by apoplexy over fears of being thrown out and more. Moji on the other hand saw the positive side of it. If her friend who was no better than her could land such a great guy, perhaps there was hope for her despite her age and the fact that she had an adopted child. She began to think that she might have been wrong to write off all men as evil. There could be someone out there who would love her for who she was and even be willing to marry her.

Toyosi eyed her friends, guessing their thoughts and laughed to herself. She knew what they thought of her brazen attempts to woo PA but she took comfort in the story of Ruth. Besides, she had no evil intentions for the man. All she wanted was to guard herself from the heartbreak that appeared to be all that the men she had been meeting had to offer. Was that too much to ask for? A man whose Yes was his Yes and whose No was his No. One who would not cheat on her, beat her or leave her. How could that be too much to ask.

 

*******************************************************************

 

 

 

 

 

35 thoughts on “The Woman I Deserve 15

    Enitan said:
    June 11, 2016 at 11:47 am

    Haba Dr N. Where’s the rest fa? Lol

      drnsmusings responded:
      June 11, 2016 at 11:58 am

      Poco a poco
      Lol

        Enitan said:
        June 13, 2016 at 9:53 am

        Hehe, patience is having her perfect work 😀
        **I like how you try to respond to everyone’s comments. I really like. Wehdhon ma’m.

    exceptionalstar said:
    June 11, 2016 at 11:56 am

    You’ve been nominated for liebster award.

    exceptionalstar said:
    June 11, 2016 at 12:06 pm

    Is it over already? Haba…
    Anyways, we all have our scars dear Sister Zina.
    Thank you Doc, you’re wonderful!

    Jedidah said:
    June 11, 2016 at 12:25 pm

    Awwn is that all?

    Olufunmilayo said:
    June 11, 2016 at 12:29 pm

    Honestly i want to say I admire you even without meeting you. You are such a good writer. Please post the rest of the story…..this suspense is too much.

      drnsmusings responded:
      June 11, 2016 at 8:27 pm

      Thank you for the compliment. The rest comes up as soon as life lets me write, I assure you

    smilinggurl said:
    June 11, 2016 at 12:39 pm

    Dr N! Why now? Does this mean Part 16 is out in the next two days? I am sulking like a little girl whose lollipop was taken from her. 😭😭😭😊

      drnsmusings responded:
      June 11, 2016 at 7:02 pm

      How can smilinggurl be sulkinggurl?

        smilinggurl said:
        June 11, 2016 at 9:40 pm

        That’s what this story is doing to me o. Life please let Dr N write everyday… Honestly you write beautifully and its very captivating.

    teekay said:
    June 11, 2016 at 4:07 pm

    Hahahahahha…..trust Ima to begin matchmaking as soon as she heard Zina’s story.
    Toyosi, your desire is legitimate but you are going about it the wrong way. Dr. N, pls let Toyosi find love the right way.

      drnsmusings responded:
      June 11, 2016 at 7:03 pm

      No be love she find so?

        t said:
        June 12, 2016 at 9:49 am

        Dis one wey Toyosi dey no be love o!

    E' said:
    June 11, 2016 at 4:27 pm

    You are just my madam🙌🙌🙌🙌🙌🙌
    How.are.you.so.GIFTED??????

      drnsmusings responded:
      June 11, 2016 at 7:03 pm

      Nne I’m tryn to be like u😛

    DamiLoves said:
    June 11, 2016 at 6:30 pm

    Zina do not be anxious, the past is a stepping stone to the future, God is in the business of healing and removing scars. I am ready to pick asoebi! Purple maybe? Toyosi, that text did not read like a date invitation, more like a business meeting….
    damiloves-lagos-to-london-to-corruption

      drnsmusings responded:
      June 11, 2016 at 7:04 pm

      But PA doesnt take single women out? Why d beef?😛

    ijay said:
    June 12, 2016 at 12:24 am

    you are so gifted ma…
    so talented and creative… the Lord see you through.. well done

    adaeze said:
    June 13, 2016 at 8:34 am

    LOL at Ima and Zina’s gist. Ima the matchmaker, a friend like her is too bae. Spirit-filled, fashion-conscious, intelligent and loyal to boot. Baba God please make me one and gimme me one too.
    Hmm, Toyosi’s text from PA sounds like a response. Azzin, she asked him for a meeting and he replied her. Na im she blow am up as date. Hian, diarris disappointment waiting at the end of wrong assumptions o madam…
    P.S Bless you Dr N, we want more

      drnsmusings responded:
      June 13, 2016 at 8:43 am

      Oliver Oliver Oliver twist🎼🎶🎵
      In D’banj’s voice

        adaeze said:
        June 13, 2016 at 9:16 am

        ahem! Dr, you are singing worldly songs. *side-eye*

        drnsmusings responded:
        June 13, 2016 at 11:20 am

        I was even shaking my bum while singing it.
        Dey dia!
        💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃

    Grace Gigi said:
    June 13, 2016 at 9:22 am

    All I have to say is “Ghen Gheeeen”

    Epiphany29.com
    Mesh Top X Monochrome Love

    Gloria said:
    June 13, 2016 at 3:24 pm

    “Who is spotless? Only the lamb is pure, my dear. Even PA is no angel.”…. This is beautiful

    Kafayat said:
    June 14, 2016 at 11:45 am

    I love your writing. You are a role model to people like me. I am muslim but the fact that you bring God into your writing shows you are a real believer which makes me love you. Never commented but I had to. Pls life let Dr N finishes the story in a week or two at most, I cannot wait o.

      drnsmusings responded:
      June 14, 2016 at 1:34 pm

      I really appreciate you Kafayat
      God bless u

    mzquinn92 said:
    June 15, 2016 at 1:08 pm

    i was so carried away with the story that i keep scrolling down for more.
    pls release us from the suspence

      drnsmusings responded:
      June 15, 2016 at 9:01 pm

      Hi
      Thanks for reading
      *winks*

Leave a Reply

