The Woman I Deserve 17

Posted on

Happy young businessman using digital tablet --- Image by © Sonja Pacho/Corbis
Happy young businessman using digital tablet — Image by © Sonja Pacho/Corbis

 

His phone rang before he could say anything.

“Idoko, what’s up? Okay, just ask them for the VIP section. Come right in,” he said into the phone.

Toyosi sipped her coffee as he ended the call, wondering what was going on. She was not left in the dark much longer. A tall, dark, muscular man wearing dreadlocks and denim appeared to be heading their way. She groaned internally at the intrusion but kept her expression neutral. PA stood up with a huge smile to welcome the stranger.

“Idoko!, Idoko! The man who finished a pot of beans without even belching,” PA shouted, reaching to hug the man.

The man let out a guffaw before enveloping PA in his bear-like embrace. PA was tall but the man had the added advantage of being muscular and that made PA look like his son.

Toyosi stared. She had never seen PA in such a jovial mood, not even with Ovie or his pastors. It occurred to her that he had brought in his best friend to get his opinion of her. This was something she knew men did all the time. Without their best friend’s approval, they usually developed cold feet, no matter how attracted they had been to a lady in the first place. She put on her warmest smile. It was now ‘operation win PA’s mystery friend over’ and she was very much up to it. If that was how he wanted to play it, he had better be ready for a show.

*******************************************************************

 

Ovie and Ama came in as PA was introducing Idoko to Toyosi. He included them in the introductions and waved the waiter over as they all took their seats.

“How are you, my man? It’s so good to see you again,” PA said.

“Yeah, I’m fine. I can see this pastoring thing is favoring you,” Idoko teased.

Toyosi could see Ama and Ovie exchanging surprised glances and relaxed, taking comfort in the fact that she wasn’t the only one who was ambushed. She kept a pleasant expression on her face, just in case either of the two friends looked at her but neither paid her any mind.

“Please order breakfast or something. Let me catch up with this man. We’ve come a long way,” PA apologized.

Everyone murmured their consent while the waiter hovered over them, writing furiously. PA drew his chair close to Idoko and soon they were deep in conversation. Toyosi had no choice but to order some fruit salad so as not to look odd. Ovie had ordered a full continental breakfast. Ama’s order was similar. She, on the other hand was careful not to eat too much, knowing that her abdomen under the tight dress would disgrace her.

“How are you feeling now, Ovie?” PA asked suddenly.

Ovie was stumped. He had forgotten he had lied about having indigestion. Ama kicked him under the table.

“Ouch!” he yelled.

“What is wrong? Do you need to go to the hospital?” PA asked.

“No, sir. I am fine.” He glared at Ama.

“Okay. I need you to call Saviour. Let him prepare the guest room for Idoko. He cannot stay in a hotel while he is in my town.”

“Guest room?” Ovie repeated, obtuse.

“Yes.” PA affirmed.

He rose and excused himself.

“Ama, I know you have so much on your plate but from now, you will handle all enquiries Toyosi has about her teenage group. You have been involved in ours almost from inception and I don’t think there is anything she will need that you cannot provide. I have far too many things planned this month and I think I need to be prudent. Is that okay?”

Toyosi glanced at Ama, willing her to say No but knowing it would be too obvious. She cleared her throat noisily.

“Of course, PA; whatever, you need,” Ama replied without looking at Toyosi.

“So, Idoko, I particularly wanted you to meet Toyosi because she works for a magazine and I know you need publicity for your new film school. Hopefully, she can guide you on how to secure the best interviews with the media and get the exposure you need. As a “Jonny-just-come”, you don’t expect things to work here the way they do in South Africa.”

Idoko gazed at Toyosi keenly. “Hello again, Ma’m.”

“Hi, yourself,” she said dryly.

“So, I’ll give you both time to discuss and maybe set up another appointment. I have to dash off. Ovie will stay and bring you over to the house when you are good to go.” PA rose to his feet.

“That’s very gracious of you, man. I appreciate it.” Idoko rose to greet him with a handshake.

“It’s the least I could do.”

Ovie had returned.

“Aha! There you are. Stay with Idoko and help him find his way around town. I will go with the car. Pastor Mofe is expecting me. When he is tired of exploring Lagos, bring him to the house,” PA instructed.

“Yes, Sir.” Ovie nodded, bowing slightly.

“Toyosi, it was great seeing you. God bless you. Ama, see me in the office when you round up your meeting.”

“Yes, sir.”

He waved to everyone as he left. Idoko drew his seat close to Toyosi, intending to make good on the offer of her help with media exposure. Ama and Ovie exchanged glances over Idoko’s head, knowing that Toyosi was probably fuming on the inside but unable to do anything about it. PA was introverted but he was a very perceptive man. Ama sensed that they had crossed the line that day and that was why he handed the mentoring of Toyosi’s teenage group over to her. She didn’t blame him. The girl looked like Jacob’s pottage in her red outfit and she could see he was not willing to sell his birthright like Esau; not just yet and maybe not for Toyosi.

******************************************************************

PA was taking a walk the next morning with Idoko. It was about 6.30am. He had already prayed and studied his bible for two hours as was his custom before his guest woke up. They were in their jogging suits, walking back home slowly, having done a power walk around the estate PA lived in.

“What did you think about the girl,” PA asked his companion.

“Toyosi?” Idoko asked in turn.

“Yes.”

“She’s a looker.”

He didn’t say more so, PA waited. Idoko caught his eye and grinned.

“What?”

“Do you like her?” PA asked.

“I didn’t know you were into match-making.” Idoko raised a brow.

“Ever since that girl broke your heart, you have not given anyone else a chance.”

“A chance to finish up from where she left off, right?” Idoko shook his head slowly.

“You need to move on.”

“Yeah and what’s your excuse?”

“I made the choice when I became born again to remain single. I have not regretted it but it was not made due to heart break,” PA replied.

“Why exactly did you make such a foolish decision?”

“I have never told anyone. I don’t think I can,” PA murmured thoughtfully.

Idoko nodded, understanding. Some things were meant to be left alone, even among friends. PA did not speak for a while. His friend walked beside him, lips pursed.

“Toyosi is in love with you,” he declared finally.

PA was stunned. He stopped in his tracks. “What makes you think so?”

“I know women. And this one is dangerous. She will not take no for an answer. If you are not interested, cut off totally,” his friend advised.

“Dangerous?” PA was blinking in unbelief.

“Take my word for it.”

They walked along in silence for a long while. Idoko took a gulp of water from the bottle he had brought along and stopped by a grassy patch. He turned aside and began to do some stretching exercises. PA sat on a log a few feet away, his head in his hands.

Is this what you have been trying to warn me about, Lord? Why then does everyone approve of her: Onyema, Ovie, Odion, Ama and even Onyema’s wife? Your word says that in a multitude of counsel, there is safety. Although I have tried to get your opinion, I cannot really say I feel physically attracted to her. I thought you were guarding me from temptation by giving me the grace to keep my feelings in check. Should I take this disquiet as your way of telling me to back off?

 

*******************************************************************

 

 

22 thoughts on “The Woman I Deserve 17

    Grace Gigi said:
    June 25, 2016 at 4:53 pm

    Another ghen ghen episode! Sis Toyosi its time to pack your bags and waist trainer perhaps lool…

    Epiphany29.com
    Shifts, Prints ‘n’ Greens

    Monike said:
    June 25, 2016 at 5:56 pm

    I dey dance kokoma here o! Jehovah be praised! Thank you Lord for sending Idoko. Ama and Ovie should get a tongue lashing from the Holy Spirit! He! He! He!

      drnsmusings responded:
      June 25, 2016 at 6:29 pm

      Hahaha
      No be small dance

    aadebimpe said:
    June 25, 2016 at 6:05 pm

    Let me comment first before I read😁💃💃💃 I sang the hallelujah chorus when I saw the post in my mail box lol. Officially addicted!

    aadebimpe said:
    June 25, 2016 at 6:42 pm

    Oh lawwd!!! That was too short😢 I wish I could just get all the remaining episodes at once.
    LMAO @Jaccob’s pottage. That was hilarious

    vikie_carson said:
    June 26, 2016 at 9:44 am

    Nice one Dr N. Please we want more

    estherqueli said:
    June 26, 2016 at 10:24 am

    Well well well, loving this story. Em, maybe we should be having the posts every other day now? I tried na, I didn’t say everyday. Well done Dr. N.

      drnsmusings responded:
      June 26, 2016 at 1:01 pm

      Good suggestion
      Who will do the writing?
      Lol

        laura said:
        June 27, 2016 at 8:27 am

        Me ooo, I will willingly type and send to your mail box. Lol, wonderful read, I predict Ama and Idoko, starting a relationship, Toyosi should be smart.

        drnsmusings responded:
        June 27, 2016 at 4:27 pm

        O wow!
        Hehehe

    sandy said:
    June 27, 2016 at 11:03 am

    Sigh….dr N

    Make you tell God. Have a tête a tête so you can write my own live story biko.
    I go just dey follow your direction line by line.
    It will be a best-seller.

      sandy said:
      June 27, 2016 at 11:04 am

      *love*

      drnsmusings responded:
      June 27, 2016 at 4:26 pm

      Hey! See assignment
      Hahaha
      That is why u have the Holy Spirit. He will write yours and then u can send it to me

    Folake said:
    June 27, 2016 at 1:02 pm

    This Toyosi should fade away already…

      drnsmusings responded:
      June 27, 2016 at 4:27 pm

      No love for Toyosi on these streets

      Eta said:
      June 28, 2016 at 4:10 pm

      As if you know o

    Eta said:
    June 28, 2016 at 4:10 pm

    You’re officially my best Nigerian writer Ever!!!!!
    Girl, you’re almost becoming my best writer ever… (fingers crossed)
    To think you’re a doctor , raising a family and still writing. Gosh, I ain’t got no excuse o.
    Gbam!

      drnsmusings responded:
      June 28, 2016 at 8:01 pm

      Heeeey! See compliment!
      Gosh!
      Thanks😎😎😎

Leave a Reply

